We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good design and nice surrounding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Les Haras

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Les Haras to your Saves list
Hotel Les Haras
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   23 rue des Glacieres, 67000 Strasbourg, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 130 Hotels in Strasbourg
Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good design and nice surrounding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Hotel Les Haras is located in totaly renewed old building close to the old town of Strasbourg. Rooms are small but functional, furnished with a good taste. Good design you can also see in the reception lobby and magnificent stairs at the restaurant. Staff is nice, friendly and very helpful. Hotel is situated with a walking distance to main attractions of the city but in calm area which alows sleep well. Enjoy!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    19
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
34
1
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Fantastic Front of House staff, great valet service and very attentive, genuine employees. We even got water bottles for our departure! Design features are clean and of a high quality. If you have kids ask for the interconnecting rooms. You may eat at the independent in house brasserie which has lovely food, though is let down by poorly untrained service staff.

Overall we will be back, this place is a gem within its great, convenient location and tranquill surroundings.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Stayed a few nights. It is very close to the center of Strasbourg, but out of the bustle and thus quiet as can be. Close walking distance to all of the main attractions of the city. The hotel provides a buffet breakfast for $24 euro. The second floor rooms lack full widows, instead there is one small window in the bedroom and one in the bath. These are also quite high on the wall, making the place seem cavelike at times.

There is a nice little bakery right across the street, where a ham and cheese baguette will run you $3.10e.

Room Tip: get a room with real windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

This is not a hotel. This is a re-mastered work of art.

We stayed in this hotel during its soft opening stage.

The quality of the reception is excellent. Saddle leather counter, horse and medical imagery on the stained glass windows and solid wood butcher block flooring.

The hotel is a converted premier stable in the medical district of Strasbourg. This fact is touched upon throughout the hotel.

The tailor made carpeting has delicate Fleur de lis tapestry overlapping images outside each of the bedroom doors.

Inside the rooms are steel dressing tables, large flat screen TV, floor to ceiling curtains with leather and horsehair pulls. The headboards resemble a Porsche dashboard with deep leather and LED bedside lighting.

We visited for the Christmas market and were not disappointed. The hotel is very close to the Petite France area of Strasbourg.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

The hotel is in central Strasbourg and within a 5-10 min walking distance to the Barrage Vauban and the Museum of Modern and Contemporary Art. Newly opened in Oct 2013, the architecture and interior decoration is quite stunning. So is the external courtyard behind the hotel, which makes you feel like you are staying in an exclusive hotel.
The staff welcome you with a smile, and carry the luggage for you upstairs (I know some European hotels don't). The room, upon entering, has a very warm and cosy feel about it, fresh and clean. The leather fittings were pretty, keeping to the equestrian theme, styled a la Hermes.
The beds were soft and comfortable for a good night's rest. The breakfast the following morning was sumptuous with a spread of a very filling breakfast; local breads, baguette and croissants, yogurt, fruit juices, fruit, cereal, slices of ham, cheese, coffee, and tea.
The only complaint would be the position of the shower which had to be hand-held in the bathtub instead of it being on the wall and the water pressure which was extremely low for a cold winter's night. (We were in the third floor)
Overall I must say we had a very pleasant experience at Les Haras - the brasserie they have in the courtyard has stunning architecture worth a look, with good modern cuisine (not cheap though) - and will definitely return on our next visit to Strasbourg.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

We spent 2days in strasbourg and stayed at les haras. This is a very recent and good hotel. Its location is very good, less than 400m from la petite france. The staff is very nice, polite, useful and always willing to help. They recommended us a very good restaurant, and offered to make the booking for us. The room was very nice, clean and spacy.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoGeHo, Hotel Director at Hotel Les Haras, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Thank you so much for charing your experience with us.
Your kind words about the staff, and the service provided, will be a real source of motivation for the whole team.
This is our philosophy, making your stay in the hotel a memorable moment, and staying at your entire disposal to give you the best advices about the city and restaurants.

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

In the hope to welcome you again,

Our best regards,

Médéric Brendel-Manier
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

The staff went our of their way to make our stay better than grand. I would definitely recommend this hotel for a stay in beautiful, historic Strasbourg. The way the hotel has been carved out of the old buildings is extraordinary and make the stay that much more special.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoGeHo, Hotel Director at Hotel Les Haras, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear Mrs Bridget,

We first want to thank you for charing your experience through these kind words.

We are very happy to read how much your enjoyed your stay at les Haras.

Your feed back is so important for us, as we opened only 2 months

We'll do our best to keep this quality of service, and your kind words increase our motivation.

In the wait to the have the opportunity to welcome you again,

Our best regards,

Médéric Brendel
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Les Haras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Les Haras

Address: 23 rue des Glacieres, 67000 Strasbourg, France
Location: France > Alsace > Bas-Rhin > Strasbourg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 130 Hotels in Strasbourg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Les Haras 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the very heart of Strasbourg, within walking distance from the "Petite France," the city’s historical area, discover the unique charm of the prestigious hotel "Les Haras." This decidedly magical and secret place, is inspired from the history of the buildings and the horse world. The 55 rooms offer a warm and contemporary atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Fastbooking, Venere, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Les Haras reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Les Haras, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.