We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Swish” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Suisse Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Suisse Hotel to your Saves list
Suisse Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2-4 rue de la Rape, 67000 Strasbourg, France (Mairie Sud)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 128 Hotels in Strasbourg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Hotel Swish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We loved our time at the Hotel Suisse. Highlights were the location, breakfast and service. We weren't disappointed with anything at the hotel, however the rooms did have some disadvantages.

The hotel is right next to the cathedral and there are lovely walks in all directions from the hotel. Also nearby are the river (and the batorama stop), the Palais de Rohan and several museums. Petite France is a 10 minute walk away.

I would consider coming back to the Hotel Suisse just for the breakfast - the selection is vast and all of top quality. Croissants, kugelhopf, breads, meats, cheeses, cereal, fruit, yoghurt, preserves, juices and hot drinks. I need to move on...

The service is great and the concierges spoke perfect english and were themselves well-travelled. The desk is open 24 hours.

The rooms were very pleasant and comfortable. There were some drawbacks, the rooms are quite small, though within European standards, the shower was manageable but tended to spray water over the floor and our toilet flushed slowly. We had twin single beds, however they were pushed together for us. Rooms at the back of the hotel are quiet, we had a room on the top floor with a nice view over the surrounding rooftops and Palais de Rohan. Rooms at the front of the hotel are closer to the action and with a nice view of the street.

Free wifi was a bonus, no a/c in our room. Try the Picon on tap for something different.

Overall a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: Back of the hotel is quieter, Top floor has rooftop views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    87
    23
    7
    3
See reviews for
32
84
14
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
leeds
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Excellent city centre location. Continental buffet breakfast with a good assortment of food. Rooms are of an adequate size. Staff are very friendly and helpful. A good variety of bars & restaurants are dotted around close to the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

After arriving at the Suisse Hotel...sit at the outdoor cafe tables...perfectly decorated with fresh flowered vases....and order a chilled Alsace Riesling...for you have now ventured into the heart of Alsace...and it is grand! Stroll all around the cathedral square with little effort.....for this hotel is perfectly located. The receptionist service was respectful and inviting. The rooms clean, fresh and welcoming. Throw open the shutters and view the cathedral. Make certain you have breakfast in the hotel's restaurant. The options are many....and most importantly the pastries, jams and coffee brighten the start of any day! If driving to the hotel, parking is abit tricky, but doable. Enjoy!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Nicely decorated hotel situated right behind the cathedral. There was the light shows with the classical music when we stayed there, it was magical! The hotel has the Alsace feeling to it which I like quite a lot. So, I recommend this hotel to everyone and would definetly stay there if I go back to charming Strasbourg.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Stayed 4 nights recently and the location of the Suisse can't be beaten - so close to Notre Dame de Strasbourg about 50 metres away literally. Our window looked out onto the cathedral. The shopping was so close all within walking distance - can't say enough about Strasbourg and where we stayed - amazing!! Will be back one day. The staff were great but Nicholas was outstanding, he made our stay - he helped us find a restaurant that had frogs legs and snails and it was literally around the corner :-) he was so helpful.
The room was small but hey you don't spend much time in it - and it was very clean. You do need to close the window at night as it can be a little noisy but I needed air and it was ok. It was so cute and our stay exceeded any expectation we had. There is a vibe about Strasbourg and I will be back one day. What a little gem of a city.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 5 and if you had the window open at night their was a bit of noise down on the str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

Strasbourg is a happening place and Hotel Suisse is an excellent point to base your stay. The staff are very friendly and helpful. We hit it off great with Nicolas. He recommended some restaurants and he helped us set up the tour of the wine villages. For us, Nicolas' over the top service really made our stay at Strasbourg and Hotel Suisse a great one. He was very professional and personable. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. Next time, we are going fly right to Strasbourg. There is a vibe to this city that is really amazing. Alsacien, German and French are spoken everywhere and gives it an International flair. I recommend a visit to Strasbourg and base yourself at Hotel Suisse.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

I booked this hotel based on the good reviews I read in Tripadvisor. It was a REAL dissapointment!!!!!! The room was extremely small and cold but my main issue was the dirty carpet, awfull and full of stains wallpaper and the super dirty bathroom! The service was also terrible since when we complaint for the cold nobody did anything. I literally could not sleep on the dirty sheets of the bed and I slept with my clothes. Awfull hotell would not recommend that even to my worst enemy!!!!!

Room Tip: Do not book this hotel!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Suisse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suisse Hotel

Address: 2-4 rue de la Rape, 67000 Strasbourg, France
Location: France > Alsace > Bas-Rhin > Strasbourg > Mairie Sud
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 128 Hotels in Strasbourg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Suisse Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Suisse is one of the best addresses in Strasbourg. The Hotel Suisse is a genuine Strasbourg hotel offering modern, comfortable surroundings in 25 cozy rooms which all have a view of the cathedral's steeple, just 50 yards away. Nice Alsacian Breakfast buffet every day 7-10 a.M (10.9€/Pers.). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Suisse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suisse Hotel Strasbourg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Suisse Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.