We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in historic heart of Strasbourg” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Gutenberg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Gutenberg to your Saves list
Hotel Gutenberg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   31 rue des Serruriers, 67000 Strasbourg, France (Petite France Nord Est)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #15 of 130 Hotels in Strasbourg
Albany, Australia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Great hotel in historic heart of Strasbourg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

My 13 yo son and I stayed here for our first trip to Strasbourg. We stayed in a corner room on 3 rd floor which was a good size, comfortable beds, good wifi, absolutely spotless and renovated in last few years. As other reviews said, location is fantastic for access to tourist sites, restaurants, shopping and public transport. Street noise no problem at all for us but city wasn't busy. Do get a little noise from nearby rooms. Staff are universally lovely, trilingual, and helpful with recommendations etc. My hint - ask for a jug of milk to have with your tea/coffee in your room on your way up in the lift. My other hint - everything except museums and some restaurants appears to shut down on Sunday in this part of Strasbourg. No big deal - just be ready for it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gutenberg60, Manager at Hotel Gutenberg, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to write this great comment on TripAdvisor, following your recent stay with us. It was a real pleasure to read that you were satisfied with our services and enjoyed your stay with us.

Looking forward to welcoming you!

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    309
    52
    11
    16
See reviews for
91
366
39
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
DC
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Small room and bath, but the most efficient layout I have ever seen. So, very comfortable. Windows open so that temperature can be controlled. Also, in winter, provides a refrigerator: simply put items in a bag and hang out the window. Extremely helpful staff. Great restaurant recommendation. Wifi available and free. Wonderful location just a couple of blocks from the cathedral.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gutenberg60, Manager at Hotel Gutenberg, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Guests,

We thank you very much for sharing your nice impression on tripadvisor page! Thank you once again for your great comment and we hope to see you soon in our hotel!

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This is a comfortable contemporary style hotel with very helpful, cheerful young staff. Our check in was efficient and informative. The room we were allocated really was too small for a family of four but it was still comfortable. Very pleased to see they offered in-room tea & coffee facilities and we made good use of them. Comfortable bed and extra pillows cheerfully supplied on request, as was some additional cutlery & crockery for snacking in the room. Bathroom was very clean and offered the best shower head we've come across in a hotel thus far. Our room in the first floor overlooked a nightclub but it was very quiet, with the only noise coming from the next room's occasional comings and goings. Our mistake was not to clarify at check in whether breakfast was included in the room rate. It wasn't until we checked out that we realised we'd been charged a whopping 11 euros per person for a very poor breakfast. The breakfast selection was very limited and all self service, so absolutely not worth paying extra for. That said, the hotel is very well located for seeing the sights and offered comfortable rooms and good service.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gutenberg60, Manager at Hotel Gutenberg, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for your review! We regret that you did not appreciate the variety of our breakfast with local products and a large choice of products: coffee, tea, hot chocolate, fruit juices, 3 kinds of bread, butter, jam, honey, sweet pastry, pork cooked meats, eggs, cheese, cereals, bio yogurts, fresh fruit salad, kougelhopf (Alsatian cake) etc.

Looking forward to welcoming you!

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sun valley
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

First the hotel has a great location with a parking next to it. The room was nice and very clean,
the breakfast wonderful. Best of all were the employees, Nathalie 1, Nathalie 2 and Jean and the girl that was serving the breakfast(sorry I forgot her name). They were all so nice and helpful, this
is not always the case in France. Room 104 was perfect for us with all the comfort we needed.
Keep up the good work.
Merci et a bientot,
Claude and Ghislaine Guigon,
Sun Valley, USA.

Room Tip: room 104 was very comfortable and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gutenberg60, Manager at Hotel Gutenberg, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear Claude and Ghislaine Guigon,

We thank you very much for your very nice review and your kindness! We will share your congratulations with our team mentioned and we hope truly to see you soon in our hotel!

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

This hotel is an excellent base for 4-day trip to this lovely city.Its location could not be more central - and grants easy access to all of the city.The staff - all of them - were friendly,helpful and always readily was there to assist - excellent.The room on the 1st floor was meticulously clean and had all the comfort and facilities you could wish for in a 3 star hotel - and the breakfasts were of a very good quality and range.
BUT we overlooked the front and from Sunday to Wednesday readily accepted the noises of such a location as to what could be expected - but on the last night the noises of people and bikes became extreme through to 5.00 a.m.Better sound ventilation is called for!
Also my wife suffered a sharp blow to her knee from the corner of the bath as she slipped.It was a sharp right-angled structure and will present problems to people.
Nevertheless it was a very pleasant hotel that we would willingly visit again.

Room Tip: Avoid front-facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gutenberg60, Manager at Hotel Gutenberg, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear Sir,

We thank you very much for sharing your impression on tripadvisor page! We wish a speedy recovery to your wife and are sorry for this incident. We assure you that we have taken the necessary steps to ensure this type of incident will not happen again.

Thank you once again for your great comment and we hope to see you soon in our hotel!

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

From the moment we arrived to the time we left the staff and the ladies behind the front desk in particular were excellent, as has been repeated by many reviewers the location is great for all of Strasbourgs xmas markets, the cathedral and petite France the Hotel itself was very clean and modern we had a normal room on the 4th floor and while the bed was comfortable I felt it was a bit small also the shower is a bath/shower type and if ever returning to strasbourg and the Gutenberg I would get a privilege room, the lift is small fitting 2 people with cases max and can get busy at breakfast time the breakfast itself is adequate/good with normal continental foods it may seem like a negative review but our stay at the Gutenberg was very good and the little niggles were just that. As for any outside noise we heard nothing.

Room Tip: pay the extra and get a privilege room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gutenberg60, Manager at Hotel Gutenberg, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear guests,

We thank you very much for your nice review and we are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. We will share your nice comment with our team!
We are looking forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Centrally located in Strasbourg. Parking is nearby at a parking garage which was reasonably priced. (Parking Gutenberg near the hotel costs 24 Euros pro 24 hours.
Parking Austerlitz at 500 meters costs 11 Euros pro 24 hours.) Parking Gutenburg is under the main square. We stayed in a room on the ground floor, no street noise or noise from the breakfast room. Room was modern and nicely appointed. Breakfast was lovely, buffet style.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gutenberg60, Manager at Hotel Gutenberg, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Madam,

Thank you very much for sharing your impression on Tripadvisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your room. Thank you for the information about the 2 parking: Gutenberg and Austerlitz around our hotel.

Looking forward to welcoming you!

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Gutenberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gutenberg

Address: 31 rue des Serruriers, 67000 Strasbourg, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Alsace > Bas-Rhin > Strasbourg > Petite France Nord Est
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Strasbourg
#4 Family Hotel in Strasbourg
#4 Business Hotel in Strasbourg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gutenberg 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Gutenberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gutenberg Hotel Strasbourg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Gutenberg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.