We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, nice rooms, a few minor glitches” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Gutenberg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Gutenberg to your Saves list
Hotel Gutenberg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   31 rue des Serruriers, 67000 Strasbourg, France (Petite France Nord Est)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #15 of 130 Hotels in Strasbourg
California
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great location, nice rooms, a few minor glitches”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

This hotel is just a few blocks away from the cathedral, but (mostly!) away from the tourist traffic. The room was comfortable, the staff was helpful, and the breakfast good but not as much of a selection as in some hotels.

A few minor glitches: (1) the hotel's free WiFi is very fast when it works, but it was offline (for the whole hotel, apparently) one entire day. (2) As with many European hotel baths, the shower head is great but the concept of a "shower door" seems to have escaped someone. There's just a short glass panel to keep shower spray from ending up on the floor. Worse, it's rendered entirely useless because it creates a channel between the side of the tub and the panel, so all of the water that collects there lands directly on the floor. (3) My room overlooked the side street (Rue du Miroir). I opened the window a bit at night (otherwise the room was kind of warm) and on one night all was quiet -- but the second night, the club across the street must have closed at around 5am, and a large, noisy crowd gathered outside for a while. So maybe you should avoid this side of the hotel if you like to sleep with the window open.

Room Tip: If you like to sleep with the window open, avoid the rooms facing the Rue du Miroir on a night when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gutenberg60, Manager at Hotel Gutenberg, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your review! We are pleased to read the positive comments you mentioned regarding the staff and our nice location. Guests satisfaction is our highest priority that is the reason why we pay attention to the problems mentioned.

Looking forward to welcoming you a next time.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    308
    52
    11
    16
See reviews for
91
366
39
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Valdosta, Georgia, United States
Top Contributor
268 reviews 268 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

Were here for one night. Modern and clean....service was quite good. Room was small but quite adequate...although my wife complained a bit about the double bed. That, however, is what I booked so not a fault of the hotel. Nice breakfast buffet. The best part of the stay was the night manager who worked late afternoon and early evenings. He recommended and made reservations at a fantastic nearby restaurant; provided suggestions for driving directions and was overall quite helpful. One of the hotels other assets is its location: a short block from the Cathedral in the middle of old town.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gutenberg60, Manager at Hotel Gutenberg, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to write this great comment on TripAdvisor, following your recent stay with us. It was a real pleasure to read that you were satisfied with our services and enjoyed your stay with us.

Looking forward to welcoming you!

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

This is very near the Cathedral (but not next to it - so you are away from the tourist crowd). The hotel is an old building and the elevator is tiny; it barely fits two people with small luggage. We were upgraded to a privileged room. The decor is modern and the bed is comfortable. If you have a car and park in the nearby parking garage, the parking fee is quite expensive (>20 euros), but if you don't mind a 15-minute walk, then you can park in a garage (Garage Austerlitz) on the other side of the river for 11 euros a day. The breakfast is great with plenty of food. The staff is very friendly. We had an enjoyable stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gutenberg60, Manager at Hotel Gutenberg, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to write this great comment on TripAdvisor, following your recent stay with us. It was a real pleasure to read that you were satisfied with our services.
Looking forward to welcoming you!

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

On arrival we were given an upgrade which was very nice and although we had a street room it was okay being early week. The room was clean, modern and loved the funky lighting. The room included free wi fi, a very large screen TV and a good breakfast which for the price paid was a very good deal. The staff were really nice and helpful. We parked in the underground next door for convenience there is cheaper parking elsewhere. Everything we wanted to see was walking distance and have to say was one of the loveliest places we visited.

Room Tip: away from the street on weekends only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gutenberg60, Manager at Hotel Gutenberg, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Sir,

It was a pleasure to welcome you in our hotel and we thank you very much for your very nice review with your 2 pictures!

Looking forward to welcoming you soon!
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I stayed 3 nights in October in privilege room, it was very pleasant and comfortable. The toilet was a bit narrow but the bathroom was quiet big. I liked modern room design. Beds were convenient as well. Room was neat and clean, tidied every day. Breakfast was enough and delicious. Although I missed some hot meals. Staff was at disposal any time and very kind and helpful. Location is the best. You go out of the hotel and a view to the cathedral welcomes you. Petit France just 10 minutes walk. I think I got what I paid for, I can recommend! Zsuzsa

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gutenberg60, Manager at Hotel Gutenberg, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to write your nice comment on TripAdvisor, following your recent stay with us. It was a real pleasure to know you were satisfied with our services and enjoyed your stay with us.

Looking forward to welcoming you!

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Maybe because it was a Saturday night, there was a lot of happy revellers on the street until early hours. Not quiet at all. We were also on the first floor facing the street, room 102. Maybe better on the week nights when people aren't partying so much. However, the location is close to the best, and found the staff to be extremely helpful with recommendations and booking reservations. Reasonable priced car park 5-7 minute away, or moe expensive one very close by. You can drive to front door very easily to drop off or pick up luggage.

Room Tip: Get as high up and with room number higher 5 and up. E.g. Room 206, 407 etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gutenberg60, Manager at Hotel Gutenberg, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Madam,

Thank you very much for your review! We are pleased to read the positive comments you mentioned regarding the staff and the location. We are encouraged by your comment and our guests satisfaction is our highest priority. We have double glazed windows but our hotel is located in the city center and sometimes we can heard some people shouting in the street, we are sorry for that. We are looking forward to welcoming you again!

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

We spent three nights in September. The hotel is right in the middle of the city. The staff were friendly and had good recommendations on resturants and things happening. Our room was clean, comfortable, a little small, but priced appropriately. I think you get what you pay for here. The breakfast room was tight, but this is a big city in Europe and the croissants are fresh and delicious. Loved the staircase.

Parking is very nearby.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gutenberg60, Manager at Hotel Gutenberg, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to write this great comment on TripAdvisor. Our guests appreciate especially the personal atmosphere of our hotel and our central location.
It was a real pleasure to read you enjoyed your stay with us.

Looking forward to welcoming you!

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Gutenberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gutenberg

Address: 31 rue des Serruriers, 67000 Strasbourg, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Alsace > Bas-Rhin > Strasbourg > Petite France Nord Est
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Strasbourg
#4 Business Hotel in Strasbourg
#4 Family Hotel in Strasbourg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gutenberg 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Gutenberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gutenberg Hotel Strasbourg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Gutenberg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.