We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a very nice place to stay” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ciarus

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ciarus to your Saves list
Ciarus
7, rue Finkmatt, 67000 Strasbourg, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Lund, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not a very nice place to stay”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Overall this place is ok for a cheap accommodation. I did not arrange the booking of the hotel, so I have no information as to the money that I payed for it. But I would like to share some of my impressions:

The bathroom was ok, clean. It was a bit annoying that there was no soap provided. The shower did not have a door, only a curtain, which was a bit awkward. You also get only one towel, so it might be a good idea to have a handtowel with you.

There is no internet in the room.

The other bad thing about the room was that we could not open the window to let the air in.

What was the most shocking is that when we were staying there, they were conducting construction works on our floor, just next to our room and it was very loud during the day, unbearable to stay in the room.

The worst part of it was food. The breakfast is ok, you can't go wrong with musli and yoghurt and a croissant, but the dinner was almost impossible to eat. And we doubted whether they used salt in the food at all.

Overall, it was bearabe to stay there for a few nights, but if possible, you might want to get a better place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominique F, Responsable réception at Ciarus, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Mr., Mrs

We see the evolution of our customer comfort through their comments; and we thank you for your comment. Nevertheless we are sorry that during your stay your comfort was for you not the one you wished to find coming by us. We try to improve it on a daily basis. For information in fact we are not an hotel but an hostel. But we know our room are old, so we are currently revonating all of them and you will find some pics of the new room soon on our page !

Yours sincerely,

Dominique Floux
Front office manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    41
    24
    15
    22
See reviews for
4
4
16
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

I went with school, there was 40 of us in the group. We didn't stay in the rooms much but basically, everything in the room is metal. There are no doors or the wardrobe or anything. There are tiny and in the heat it was the window didn't open properly and there was no air con. Also the shower was just a pipe, it had no head. Breakfast was average, didn't experience lunch and tea wasn't good but if hungry then edible. Location was in the heart of Strasbourg!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominique F, Responsable réception at Ciarus, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Mr., Mrs

We see the evolution of our customer comfort through their comments; and we thank you for your comment. Nevertheless we are sorry that during your stay your comfort was for you not the one you wished to find coming by us. We try to improve it on a daily basis. For information, all the room are currently renovating. You will find pics of the new room soon on our page !

Yours sincerely,

Dominique Floux
Front office manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

It is cheap for what you get. I got a room to myself because no one stayed that night. The hotel was clean. The restroom was clean. The staff was nice.

THe only negative thing is that it is little bit far from the city center. And the night that I stayed had a bunch of old people. I just thought that the place is for good people. Nothing is wrong with it but it definitively doesn't feel like a hostel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominique F, Responsable réception at Ciarus, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dr Mr, Mrs

We are please to see that you enjoyed your stay and we thank you faithfully.
We try to do so as our customers feel well in our House and your comment shows that we reach it and that our efforts are recognised.

Yours sincerely,

Dominique Floux
Front office manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIAMI, FL
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Waaaaay too overpriced! No soap in toilets, no breakfast included, no WIFI included (you have to pay an extra euro), no hostel atmosphere whatsoever. When I stayed there , a lot of families were staying there as well........

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominique F, Responsable réception at Ciarus, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Mr., Mrs

We see the evolution of our customer comfort through their comments; and we thank you for your comment. Nevertheless we are sorry that during your stay your comfort was for you not the one you wished to find coming by us. We try to improve it on a daily basis.

Yours sincerely,

Dominique Floux
Front office manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

A big hostel, used by large school groups, so the place is set up with these groups primarily in mind. Pretty spartan room (no TV), and a basic breakfast, but then it was cheap and in quite a good location. Staff were very helpful and were fluent in at least 3 languages. 2 person rooms a re twins, with 'fixed' beds.

Room Tip: Ask to be away from any large groups.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominique F, Responsable réception at Ciarus, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dr Mr, Mrs

We are please to see that you enjoyed your stay and we thank you faithfully.
We try to do so as our customers feel well in our House and your comment shows that we reach it and that our efforts are recognised.

Yours sincerely,

Dominique Floux
Front office manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

I read a review in a guidebook that said this accom was "stylish". Let me start by saying, I have no idea how they chose that word but this is simple, no frills accom which is a bit on the run down side. Like others have mentioned, there isn't much of a social vibe but for the price, this accom has everything you need. Clean, safe, close to the centre of town. I came by train and found it easily with bus 10 as on their website.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominique F, Responsable réception at Ciarus, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dr Mr, Mrs

We are please to see that you enjoyed your stay and we thank you faithfully.
We try to do so as our customers feel well in our House and your comment shows that we reach it and that our efforts are recognised.

Yours sincerely,

Dominique Floux
Front office manager

Dear Mrs Mr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
220 reviews 220 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
208 helpful votes 208 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Stayed here for about 4 days. I enjoyed it overall. Rooms may not be fancy, BUT, they are practical and clean. This IS a hostel, after all, not a hotel. And I have stayed in plenty of hostels to appreciate a decent one when I find it!

The location is GREAT, in a pretty area of the city. Easy to walk everywhere.

The breakfast was fine. The rest of the meals were okay. Not great...I would say average.

The place was super clean, too. And the Wifi was reliable down in the main lounge. One thing I really liked about this hostel is that there is a lot of open space in the lounge, as well as a nice little bar/cafe.

The staff were mixed...some were super nice and some were indifferent. No problems at all. I would recommend this over the YHA in Strasbourg any time! The latter is too far from the centre and somewhat rundown, and, it does not include free Wifi.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominique F, Responsable réception at Ciarus, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dr Mr, Mrs

We are please to see that you enjoyed your stay and we thank you faithfully.
We try to do so as our customers feel well in our House and your comment shows that we reach it and that our efforts are recognised.

Yours sincerely,

Dominique Floux
Front office manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ciarus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ciarus

Address: 7, rue Finkmatt, 67000 Strasbourg, France
Location: France > Alsace > Bas-Rhin > Strasbourg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Strasbourg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situe en plein centre de Strasbourg, le Ciarus offre un service d'accueil complet et unique en son genre : 295 lits d'un bon rapport qualite prix, une restauration en self service de qualite, des espaces de reunion, d'exposition et d'animation agreables et bien equipes.Le Ciarus dispose de 295 lits sur 4 etages repartis en 101 chambres de 1 lit, 2 lits au sol ou superposes, 3 et 4 lits au sol et superposes, 6 et 8 lits superposes. Toutes les chambres sont equipees de douche, toilettes, lavabo. 4 Chambres a 3 lits sont specialement concues pour les personnes a mobilite reduite. Le menage et les lits sont faits chaque jour, les serviettes sont fournies. Au dela de ces fonctionalites, le Ciarus est aussi un lieu d'ouverture a l'Europe et au monde, aux groupes, aux jeunes, aux familles et a tous ceux qui viennent y nourrir un projet, dans un esprit de construction et de partage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Ciarus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ciarus Hotel Strasbourg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ciarus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.