We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Boutique Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rohan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Rohan to your Saves list
Hotel Rohan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17- 19 Rue du Maroquin, 67060 Strasbourg, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 130 Hotels in Strasbourg
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely Boutique Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

A beautiful boutique Hotel recently refurbished & located in the old part of the city? Great restaurant with lovely buffet breakfast with Indoor & outside dining. Close by the Cathedral & the river cruise (which is a must to do in Strasbourg). Everything within walking distance. I was upgraded to a room which overlooks the square at the back, very quite & very pleasant

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    53
    13
    4
    3
See reviews for
12
59
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

We visited at 22:30 and were desperately hungry. We got the 2-person entre-cote and it was simply AMAZING.

It was the best meat I've had in my life! Service was also excellent.

Note: I have no idea about the hotel but since the restaurant is part of it, this review was placed here.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

The Hotel Rohan is a beautiful hotel in a perfect location in Strasbourg. We were steps away from all the wonderful restaurants, excellent shopping and picturesque Cathedral. The staff were so helpful and we felt made such a great effort to ensure we had a wonderful stay. The rooms were clean and although small, were very charming and what you'd expect for a hotel in this area. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Hotel Rohan to our friends or to stay there again; which we're planning very soon!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Rue de Maroquin - you'll have a beautiful view of the Cathedral.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenterden, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights at the Hotel Rohan in Strasbourg as our sole stop in Alsace while traveling around Europe. I guess you would call it a boutique hotel. We were in room 504 which was a suite and absolutely lovely, with a big walk in shower and free standing bath, all in the bedroom, plus a separate lounge area. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and spoke good English. It's situated right in the centre of old Strasbourg almost opposite the cathedral. It's surrounded by nice restaurants and lovely old buildings. Parking isn't cheap (slightly away from the hotel but only 5 mins walk). Breakfast was ok but the cooked bacon and scrambled egg were always luke warm. Overall though, a great hotel (and Strasbourg is really nice too).

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We enjoyed our stay very much. Small rooms, of course, but quite adequate. Spotlessly clean. And it had a decent-sized elevator, which we also appreciated. Located about 50 feet from the cathedral square, it had lots of tourist activity around it, including ubiquitous musicians, and the attendant tourist noise. Our room faced the pedestrian street where the outside noise was the loudest. But the windows sealed tightly, with both glass curtains and drapes, so, inside, the noise was not a problem. Plus, the room had controls for well- functioning air conditioning.

Its location made it easy to slip out in the morning for breakfast rather than paying for the $20 a person breakfast buffet. (It looked very good but that's just more breakfast than we wanted to eat or pay for!). There was a small refrigerator in the room, something we have rarely found in France. The bath had a great tub and shower, one it was possible to get out of safely.

Our only complaints were relatively minor -- the bathroom needed a towel rack in addition to the hook on the door so that our towels had a chance to dry before their next use. Without drying space, we needed new towels daily, something that isn't normally necessary. The armoire had only a few hangers - not enough for two people staying five nights, even with clothing double-hung. When we asked for more, we were told that was not possible.

The hotel has a restaurant which spills onto covered front and back terraces. We enjoyed sitting outside once for a light dinner and, when a sudden storm began, we were surprised at how efficiently staff assured that all guests could continue their meals without being drenched.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Loved this hotel. No better position in Strasbourg, just metres from Cathedral square and within walking distance of all tourist attractions (and the railway station if no luggage involved). Staff are absolutely fantastic - they really seem to care. Warm welcome from Anna and the other girls on reception were exceedingly helpful, wonderful young girls working the front outside café/restaurant and the quieter sitting area/café at the rear. Nothing was too much trouble for them. Manager even carried our bags downstairs when the lift was out of order for a short time - and with a smile on his face!
We didn't eat here as there are so many restaurants in the surrounding area and we wanted to try them (all). However, the dining room was full every evening.
The guestrooms have been most thoughtfully designed with needs of the guest foremost in mind. Modern stand-up showers, super comfy beds, free Wi-Fi and sound-proof windows facing the front cobblestone lane. I don't have even one complaint. We loved it and if we are fortunate enough to return to the beautiful city of Strasbourg this will be our base. Can't imagine staying anywhere else.

Room Tip: Front facing rooms are modern quiet. The cathedral bells ring quite regularly but the glazed windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lydney
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Nestling in the narrow streets in the centre of Strasbourg metres away from the Cathederal is this excellently appointed Hotel , tastfully decorated and very welcoming. Restaurant was very good and very handy for exploring this ancient city. Being in a pedestrian area meant very little noise and a good nights sleep. One to keep in the book for another visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Rohan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rohan

Address: 17- 19 Rue du Maroquin, 67060 Strasbourg, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Alsace > Bas-Rhin > Strasbourg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Strasbourg
#16 Romantic Hotel in Strasbourg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rohan 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Rohan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cardinal De Rohan Strasbourg
Cardinal De Rohan Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Rohan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.