We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, No Parking” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Citotel des Arts

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Citotel des Arts to your Saves list
Citotel des Arts
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Place du Marche au Cochon de Lait, 67000 Strasbourg, France (Mairie Sud)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #84 of 130 Hotels in Strasbourg
Ticino
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Location, No Parking”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The location of the hotel is perfect: directly in the heart of the city. The rooms are very simple but ok for a weekend trip.
The most famous online booking websites classify this hotel as one of those that have an own parking. Unfortunately this information is not correct. There are two car parks Gutenberg and Austerlitz near the hotel, which daily fare is higher than the one stated in the hotel description. You need to be lucky to find a free parking place in the Gutenberg parking. Consider also that the daily fee is EUR 24.-

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    47
    34
    11
    5
See reviews for
13
55
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It was situated right in the touristy area of Strasbourg, close to the center. The room itself was tidy but it had stains and was very worn down. The towels had holes in them and the ceiling in the bathroom had black stains which were painted over so there could be mould. The bathroom was very small according to Swedish standards. Wasn't very pleased with the stay since it wasn't very price worthy.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014

I was very satisfied with my stay. The room was tiny and showed signs of its age, but I didn't have a problem with that. The location was perfect for exploring Grand Île; even though it was on a square, the hotel was very quiet. The breakfast was ok - croissants, jam, fruit. Ideal for people who don't need all the bells and whistles and would rather not spend big $

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2014 via mobile

Excellently located near Cathedral. Walking distance from all the main historic sites in the old town of Strasbourg. Hotel rooms are ok but the bathroom was extremely small. Getting into it and navigating within it presented a challenge. We were room 307 but friends in 301 appeared to have a better proportioned room and bathroom. Breakfast somewhat minimal. Good value

Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Top Contributor
763 reviews 763 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 164 cities Reviews in 164 cities
215 helpful votes 215 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Nothing fancy, but a very helpful staff and superb location for touring. Breakfast was fine and unlike many hotels in Europe you could get more than one small cup of coffee in the morning, also croissants were wonderful. The place is very basic and clean at a great price. You are in the heart of old Strasbourg with lots of restaurants nearby. Great location for walking around the city. No elevator so ask for a lower floor.

Room Tip: no elevator, so ask for a lower floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Whilst the hotel is clean it is very basic, it has a good location and has a fairly cheap rate. I spent 2 nights there on a business trip, i was disappointed that the walls were very very thin and you could everything that was going on next door. There is no contact at reception from 9pm until 7am as it is locked up and shut. The breaksfast is basic with only bread & cheese coffee & orange juice and a small amount of fruit. This hotel is o.k. for a sleep over 1 nighter but that is about all.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teguzco
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

not suitable for an extended stay. As others have pointed out, it is located in the heart of the old city. The three staff members with whom we interacted over our 4 nights here were all friendly and helpful. The breakfast offerings were above average. I especially appreciated the opportunity to have my fill of coffee in the morning.

The room was the only drawback. The bed was comfortable. This was our third hotel room in a recent tour of France and the one that lead us to understand complaints about small rooms in European hotels. Storage was limited, as was space to place our suitcases. In an era of electronics, it's almost a crime to offer only one open electrical outlet. We unplugged the television as well, but even two outlets is a stretch for two people carrying phones, cameras and tablets.

The bathroom was the smallest I've ever encountered, approximately one meter by two meters, into which are crammed a toilet, a very small sink and a very small shower. I literally could not shave unless I left the door open and could rest my chin on the sink while sitting on the toilet. That's acceptable for one night, tiring after four.

Although the area can become quite loud in the evening, the double-glazed windows do a good job of sealing out the sound.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Citotel des Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citotel des Arts

Address: 10 Place du Marche au Cochon de Lait, 67000 Strasbourg, France
Location: France > Alsace > Bas-Rhin > Strasbourg > Mairie Sud
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Strasbourg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Citotel des Arts 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Citotel des Arts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citotel Des Arts Strasbourg
Citotel Des Arts Hotel Strasbourg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Citotel des Arts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.