We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Kleber Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Le Kleber Hotel to your Saves list
Le Kleber Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   29 place Kleber, 67000 Strasbourg, France (Petite France Nord Est)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 128 Hotels in Strasbourg
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Super location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

This hotel has a very unassuming entrance and a single manned desk, but after taking the lift up to our room we quickly realised that each room is individually designed based loosely on a dessert theme. We stayed in the peach Melba. It was quite small, with very little space between the end of the bed and the wall, however the bathroom was bright and in comparison, reasonably large. The wardrobe was bizarre with a hanger rail just 8 inches above a shelf!
The main benefit of this very clean hotel is it's location, just off Kleber Place, close to the train line and inside the river circuit. I found it very central for a city break, the staff very helpful and the WiFi very reliable. Take a minute to walk down the staircase, beautifully crafted and rarely used.

Room Tip: Look at the professional photo's and describe it carefully.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    94
    40
    10
    8
See reviews for
36
73
28
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Stayed here for one night en route to Italy, so location was important in being able to quickly see the main parts of the city in a couple of hours. Le Kleber was perfectly situated for us, in the main square (Place Kleber), which was a few minutes walk from the cathedral, and was generally buzzing the evening we were there (the fact that France were playing in the World Cup that night probably helped).
The room itself (family room with 2 doubles, 2 adult children) was nicely decorated, clean, and had a great view over the square and tramline below. Staff also were friendly with great English.
Didn't have breakfast as it wasn't included, so can't comment on that, but with its location it was no trouble to find a boulangerie in the morning.
Worth noting that although 25% off parking in the Kleber carpark is offered to hotel guests, it only applies to stays of 24hrs or more, so we weren't able to benefit from this. However, the carpark provides a discout an hourly discount for an overnight stay (our 15hr stay cost 11.50 euros, not the 17 we had been expecting.
Would definitely stay here again if visiting the city again.

Room Tip: They have photos of all rooms on their website and within their brochure (all are uniquely decorated...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Kleber Square is right in the heart of Strasbourg's Old Town, a short walk from the cathedral and many of the sight. The hotel is tucked in the corner of the square, next to the tram stop, so is very handily located.

The rooms are bright and clean. However the photographer who took the photos on their website is something of a genius. In the flesh they are no where near as spacious as they look online and what looks like high-end boutique hotel design just misses the mark when seen in real life. The room wasn't so small that it caused a problem but to walk past the bottom of the bed had your shoulder brushing the wall. The bathroom on the other hand was generously sized and well fitted out.

The room also had a few quirks. The wardrobe didn't have any hanging space inside, it was entirely shelved so anything that needed hanging up had to go on the coat hooks attached to the side (there were coat hangers provided). Another oddity was the lack of 'Do not disturb' signs. This isn't too much of a problem but if you are planning a lie in make sure you lock the door - the cleaners seem quite eager to get in and my mangled French was much less effective in dissuading them from coming in than the firmly locked door.

The cleaners did a great job on the room and it was kept immaculate. However if you used the stairs down to reception instead of the lift they were covered in dust bunnies and had splashes of something spilt on them which was never cleaned in the 4 days we were there which was a shame.

Overall this is good solid little hotel, not perfect but which charges sensible prices in a great location and I would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liminka
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

I recently stayed at this hotel for a night and found the hotel excellent for its price. The room was beautiful, clean and comfortable (although quite hot as it was +35 C outside and no air conditioning in the hotel rooms) and the staff were always friendly and eager to help.

However, the very best part was the location, as it was very close from the main attractions (Cathedral, La Petite France and so on) and the railway station and it was easy to go and stop by to get something from the hotel also during the day as well if needed. I would definitely recommend this hotel to my friends and come back myself!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Great location - in the center, 5 minutes from the cathedral, 5 minutes from "petit France", 10 minutes from the train station, great area.
Althogh the facade and the lobby don't look promissing, the rooms are beutifull - recently renovated, fully equipt, and true to the pictures. Feels like at least a 3 star hotel.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

When I last visited this hotel ten years ago, it was a nondescript little place. Since then it's come under new management and been completely transformed. It's unbelievable to find a hotel of such elegance and flair on such a modest budget. Every room is themed after some dish or fruit - I dreaded an explosion of eyebashing colours, but as mine was the Amaretti room it was all decorated and furnished in tasteful shades of brown and cream. An excellent bed with pocket sprung mattress which ensured a blissful night's sleep. The duvet was a trifle heavy for the time of year (early May) but not insufferably so. For once I even found a use for those scatter cushions which populate modern hotel rooms: the roll-shaped one as a support for my feet and the big one (so comfy I wished I could take it home) to soften up the rather hard little chair. The bar fell out of the wardrobe when I tried to hang my coat up, nearly knocking me dateless, but as it closed with a curtain instead of a door I was able to hang my things on the curtain rail. I could have wished for a chest of drawers, as it was very inconvenient to have to stuff all the non-hanging things on the bottom shelf of the wardrobe. It was also inconvenient not having a centre light, as the two standard lamps left dark areas in the room. Also, while the shower was good, the washbasin was one of those awful ones which have an open drain which can't be plugged, and as the water became hot very quickly it was uncomfortable to have to wash under the running tap. And a word of warning for summer travellers: there is no air conditioning and no fans.

But the location could not be bettered, right in the middle of town with the Homme de Fer tram hub and a taxi rank only a few steps away, all the major sights in walking distance, and the view from my window was simply incredible, stretching out over the Place Kleber with the cathedral spire in the distance (at night, when it's illuminated, it looks like golden lace). And the unlimited breakfast buffet, served in a very chic dining room, was great value for money, with bread, toast, croissants, meats, cheeses, fruit salad, yoghurt, jam, Nutella, honey, marmalade, fruit and delicious Kugelhopf ad lib. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: If you want a good view, ask for one of the rooms overlooking the Place Kleber. But as the trams cla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Hotel: The room on the 2nd floor is small but clean, and it does have the basics: OK bed, large shower with a full shower door (unlike some hotels where the water goes everywhere!), heated towel rack. Bare floors, but clean. No AC, so I'd avoid it in summer, because while the location is good, it is also right on Place Kleber and next to a tram stop, so with windows open at night there is plenty of noise until midnight or so. With windows closed, the soundproofing is good. I got a "comfort double" for one person and can barely imagine two people sharing it. There is a desk and desk chair and a tiny area for stowing stuff -- hanging space is one foot wide. Apparently there are larger rooms on higher floors. The lighting is very poor; you can't read by the bedside lamps, and the little study lamp on the desk is the only place to read anything printed once you are out of daylight. The wi-fi is good, maybe a tad slow, but it does not keep cutting off as in some places. Breakfast is fine -- not lavish, but good assortment -- and not unreasonably priced. Lots of alternatives nearby. There's an elevator from Reception, although to get to it you do have a couple of steps up from the street.
Location: The location is really great -- really easy walking to the Cathedral area and Petite France, which is what most people want to see. The Place Kleber itself is good for people-watching, and the tram is right there if you want to see further-flung sights. Plenty of interesting streets to wander down, plenty of choices of cafes and restaurants nearby, lots of shops -- Galleries Lafayette is also on Place Kleber. It's not even that far from the train station if you are the energetic type and like to walk; I think the taxi fare was 13 euros. The hotel entrance is a little tough to spot because it is so small, but just look to the left of the Apple Store!
Staff, services: I interacted with staff in French, so can't comment on how they deal with English-only guests. I had no problems: for example, when I asked for more toilet paper, it arrived immediately.
Enrironment: There do seem to be some shady types hanging out around Place Kleber but they also appear to be harmless; as in any tourist area, just keep your wits about you. And because of the tram, there are other pedestrians around, even at 10 p.m.

Room Tip: Rooms on upper floors may be larger, at least judging by the photos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Strasbourg hotels
Mairie Sud
Hotel Cathedrale
Hotel Cathedrale
#54 of 128 in Strasbourg
4.0 of 5 stars 286 reviews
Petite France Nord Ouest
BEST WESTERN Hotel De L'Europe
BEST WESTERN Hotel De L'Europe
#17 of 128 in Strasbourg
4.0 of 5 stars 425 reviews
Petite France Nord Est
Hotel Gutenberg
Hotel Gutenberg
#19 of 128 in Strasbourg
4.0 of 5 stars 768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Petite France Nord Est
Maison Rouge Hotel
Maison Rouge Hotel
#26 of 128 in Strasbourg
4.0 of 5 stars 667 reviews
Diana Dauphine
#29 of 128 in Strasbourg
4.0 of 5 stars 381 reviews
Mairie Sud
Suisse Hotel
Suisse Hotel
#24 of 128 in Strasbourg
4.0 of 5 stars 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Kleber Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Kleber Hotel

Address: 29 place Kleber, 67000 Strasbourg, France
Location: France > Alsace > Bas-Rhin > Strasbourg > Petite France Nord Est
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 128 Hotels in Strasbourg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Le Kleber Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Le Kleber Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Kleber Strasbourg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Kleber Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.