We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel right near shopping and restaurants” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maison Rouge Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Maison Rouge Hotel to your Saves list
Maison Rouge Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 Rue Des Francs-Bourgeois | 67000, 67000 Strasbourg, France (Petite France Nord Est)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #19 of 130 Hotels in Strasbourg
Andover, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel right near shopping and restaurants”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Would recommend this hotel as it is convenient to everything. Most importantly for me, though, is that the room was clean and bed linens were crisp and fresh. We had reserved a double room but they did not have a single bed for two for both the nights we reserved. This was disappointing, but not a big issue. Staff was apologetic, however. They speak several languages and did not hesitate to help us navigate the city.

The only reason I did not give this hotel 5 stars is their advertised wifi access. We absolutely could not receive any connection in our room on the 3rd floor without going down the hall to the common area. But even in that location and right in the main lobby area, we were repeatedly knocked off and had to go through this crazy login procedure numerous times -very annoying and frustrating. This was definitely a huge inconvenience for us. The staff advised us that they are aware of this issue but are currently locked into a contract with their provider.

Lobby does have a nice bar and meeting area which we sat in and people-watched. Hotel is conveniently located between 2 tram stops and easy walking distance either way. Also, short tram ride to/from main central train station, too.

We did not experience the breakfast either day as their are so many other places right outside the door. We had read numerous reviews about their breakfast and decided to just do our own thing. There is even a McDonald's nearby, if you are so inclined. I preferred the Paul bakery next to McD's or the Brioche Doree bakery chain across from it.

All in all, it was a good hotel choice for us in Strasbourg.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emmanuel_delepine, Directeur at Maison Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thanks a lot for your comments.
Your not the first to focus the WIFI point. We realy apologize for that.
We've orderered to extand the low performance because of the more and more mobil phone daily connected.
In few weeks before the end of the year we will provided a 100 % connection.
We hope you to test it durung your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    262
    73
    15
    7
See reviews for
69
248
25
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sebastopol, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in late sept. the rooms are roomy and very well equipped at a reasonable price. Staff was very helpful. Huge gorgeous lobby area where it was great to hang out with a book and a glass of wine from the lobby bar. Easy walk to the big attractions like the incredible notre dame cathedral. Staff referred us to Alsace a la table. Almost next door and fabulous food and lovely atmosphere.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emmanuel_delepine, Manager at Maison Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thanks a lot for your wonderful advise regarding Maison Rouge.
We'll try to keep our high level of service.
All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seligenstadt, Germany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Stayed here with my husband and 2 yr old baby for a night. Excellent location,between la petite france and strasbourg cathedrale. Near Kleber and main shopping area. Restaurants nearby. Tramway stop very close. Staff speaks excellent english and responds to email queries. All my requests were accommodated. It's just a bit outdated and there's a funny old smell on the corridor to our room (3rd floor). Plus, we were really disappointed with the breakfast. It was too expensive and the choices were limited. They are mostly croissants, jams,butter and cheese. They only have scrambled eggs and bacon which were already emptry and not refilled when we arrived around 930am. Also the breakfast area is too crowded and small, only a few tables for all the customers. It's better you eat on bakery outside. (must try Paul bakery, specically the Canele. They have authentic ones and are really super good!!!)

Overall, this hotel is good. I just feel it's too expensive. La petite france and cathedrale strasbourg are walkable so you don't really need to stay somewhere in between to be able to easily see these 2 main landmark. There are other lesser expensive hotels which are still not so far from these areas. After seeing the place, I think it would be lovely to stay in hotels or bed and breakfast near La Petite France. The place is gorgeous with half timbered facades.

Room Tip: Request for a side not facing the street if you have a baby, more quiet. You can also request for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emmanuel_delepine, Manager at Maison Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Google Translation
Merci pour votre avis. Nous nous efforçons d'apporter le plus grand soin à l'ensemble de nos prestations mais restons très attentifs à votre remarque qui a été transmise à nos équipes d'étage et de cafèterie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on a recent trip to Strasbourg, excellent location, not far from the car park (150m I believe). My room was on the fourth floor, no issues with street noise once the shutters were lowered by pressing the switch to lower the shutter. Large bathroom, full size bath sheets, excellent water pressure. Must have been a new mattress as I had no issues with my mattress, sheets were nice and crisp and extra bedding in the linen closet. The breakfast in the morning was very adequate lots to choose from and it was replenished often. You would have to be a very picky eater if you could not a have a decent breakfast. There are also lots of places around the hotel to set as well.
Overall a great stay.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emmanuel_delepine, Manager at Maison Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Thanks a lot for your nice recommandation

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

The Maison Rouge is a wonderful hotel situated in the heart of Strasbourg's tourist area. The hotel itself is a very imposing building situated a minute's walk from homme de fer tram stop and you get a great feel for the place on entering the beautifully clean reception area. The reception staff are very courteous and, thankfully, fluent in several languages so I didn't have to subject them to my appalling french accent. The room was very clean and comfortable with a spotlessly clean bathroom. I couldn't find fault with this wonderful hotel and I'm looking forward to my next visit. Make sure you have dinner at Les Brasseurs at 22 rue Veaux for some delicious Flammkuchen and even more delicious beer brewed on the premises at a very reasonable price.

Room Tip: Purchase a tourist pass for 15 euros, entitling you to a few freebies, including a boat trip and a h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

The centre of Strasbourg is aUNESCO World Heritage Site and in the centre of Strasbourg is the Maison Rouge.
This is one of the oldest high class hotels in the city.
It is both very French and very Alsatian and always makes one welcome.
It is comfortable, staff are multilingual and helpful.
Breakfast can be a little crowded but good.
Its one deficiency is its lack of any substantial car parking as it can only take 4 or 5 cars
Less expensive than other hotels of the same standard in the city it is recommended
The other problem is noise as it is located on one of the main streets of the city and which is a tram line; However, it is compensated with the other more pleasant noises of the cathedral and other church bells

Room Tip: Try for Level 6 the top floor and rooms that are more centrally located for the best WiFi
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maison Rouge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Rouge Hotel

Address: 4 Rue Des Francs-Bourgeois | 67000, 67000 Strasbourg, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Alsace > Bas-Rhin > Strasbourg > Petite France Nord Est
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Strasbourg
#19 Business Hotel in Strasbourg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Maison Rouge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Maison Rouge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison Rouge Strasbourg
Hotel Maison Rouge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maison Rouge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.