We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice central hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Hannong

Save Saved
You added Hotel Hannong to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Hannong
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 rue du 22 Novembre, 67000 Strasbourg, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 131 hotels in Strasbourg
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice central hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Very nice hotel in the centre of Strasbourg. Easy walking distance to all the sights. No car park but easy public parking place nearby the hotel. Clean, friendly staff, good free wi-fi - we would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    172
    180
    66
    9
    11
See reviews for
56
174
21
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mound, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed five nights here and were very pleased with our nice-sized, quiet, comfortable room in the unbeatable location that is Hotel Hannong. Our room had great beds, remote controlled exterior shades that made the room dark for sleeping, and the bathroom had a tub, separate shower, and a towel warming rack. The breakfast was very good with the usual cold meat, cheese, granola, cereal, nuts, yogurt, fruit, juice, pastry, bread, coffee and tea, etc. plus scrambled eggs, bacon, and sausage. Our reservation package included breakfast at half price for every day and we were glad we had decided to include it. The staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wien
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We've stayed only one night and had no breakfast. The room was amazingly comfortable and big. Bathroom very nice, bed as well. Perfectly located, free Wifi. Can't tell anything about the restaurant or anything else the hotel offers - will definitely check this the next time because we would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

The hotel is very good located, few minutes from Weberplatz (or Place Wéber), which by itself did not appeal to me. Place Gutenberg is way more beautiful with the Cathedrale just in front, many cafes, a manège and old houses.
The service at Hotel Hannong is also good. The lady on the front-desk was friendly and spoke some good German, which is unfortunately a rarity in Alsace. What I like the most are the rooms, the hallways and the decoration of the hotel, meaning the physical part of the hotel which is modernly old and charming. Only negative part is the view from the window on the backyard where there was many apartments. I was there when it was very hot, so people from those houses were sitting outside which was kind of loud, adding to it the noise of the generator of the hotel... NOT nice at all if you decide to open the window. If closed, you hear almost nothing.
Other downside is that the online booking is a mess. What they do is that freeze the amount on the credit card but you have to pay cash or by credit card. So if you decide to pay by credit card, lets say 70 EUR (which was my case), 70Eur will be deducted from your balance and ANOTHER 70EUR freezed (until many weeks later). This is not convenient at all, its like double the amount is being used. Nothing to worry about. They did not do any mistake but just be careful.
CONCLUSION:Everything is good, but nothing special except maybe the first impression of the internal decoration (wood and paintings). I enjoyed my stay and can recommend it, though preferably for only one to two nights.

Strasbourg is very beautiful but the people not kind at all, lets say they are arrogant. Other than refusing to speak German (meaning that they do not care having that special French- German background!), they are not helpful if it happens you want to ask them something. Too sad.. Anyways I find it good that Alsace- Lorraine does not belong anymore to Germany, it would be a shame for Germany's people friendly reputation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We spent two days in this beatiful city and felt very comfortable in this cozy hotel. We agree with most of the reviewers about the size of the rooms, may be rather small for today's standards but this old building is beautifully redecorated and practical al the same time in spite of its age, so we didnt care. The staff was very gentle, breakfast enough and diversified and everything very clean. May be more elevators would be necessary in check-in and out time, but somehow we managed. Our room was at the front and was quiet enough to sleep at night We would like to repeat the visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Hotel is not more that 15 minutes by foot from everything you want to see in Strasbourg. Room is very small (18m sq), bed is ok, air-conditioning, free WIFI. The ensuite is new with frosted glass to the main room, very modern look, but not much privacy when in the shower (if you are worried about that). Shower is excellent for a tall person (shower rating 9/10). Staff were welcoming and got us going with a map and some suggestions. On the down side, you can hear people in the room next door and the towels are small and a bit scratchy.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolangatta, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights at the Hotel Hannong, and were very happy with its close proximity to shops and the Petite France sights, including the Cathedral. Yes, the room was small, but the beds were comfortable and the room and bathroom were clean. Breakfast was included with our room and was ample - Cereals, fruit, yoghurt, juices, cold meats and cheese, breads, pastries as well as scrambled eggs, boiled eggs, bacon and sausages. It's an easy walk from the rail station and the staff were friendly and helpful. We would be happy to stay here again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Hannong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hannong

Address: 15 rue du 22 Novembre, 67000 Strasbourg, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Alsace > Bas-Rhin > Strasbourg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Strasbourg
#6 Family Hotel in Strasbourg
#8 Luxury Hotel in Strasbourg
#15 Business Hotel in Strasbourg
#19 Spa Hotel in Strasbourg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Hannong 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Hotel with neoclassical facade, situated 100 meters from the Petite France area & 300 meters from the Cathedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Hannong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hannong Hotel Strasbourg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Hannong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.