We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms vary a lot!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Strasbourg St Jean Petite France

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Mercure Strasbourg St Jean Petite France to your Saves list
Mercure Strasbourg St Jean Petite France
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3, rue du Maire Kuss, 67000 Strasbourg, France (Formerly Mercure Strasbourg Quartier Saint Jean)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 130 Hotels in Strasbourg
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Rooms vary a lot!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We stayed in a large, quiet, clean, comfortable and very well equipped bed room - all the normal things, plus bath robes, slippers, safe, coffee machine, tea making facilities, numerous shampoos etc etc.
The hotel is very convenient for the beautiful centre of Strasbourg.
The hotel is trying to be quite trendy, with some oddball items around (a punch bag and a massage chair in the dining room etc).
The breakfast was good, but the dining area is quite small and if the hotel is busy it is possible you will have to wait for a table space.
The staff were friendly and helpful.
However some of our fellow travelers found their rooms to be cramped and poorly equipped and they would possibly write a very different review. I can only base mine on my own experience - which was very satisfactory.

Room Tip: Ask for a decent sized room, possibly overlooking the street (the sound proofing was excellent)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
François G, Directeur général at Mercure Strasbourg St Jean Petite France, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Thomas,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your opinion about your stay in our hotel.

My team and I are very grateful for your remarks, they encourage us to maintain our efforts so that the services we provide best meets your expectations.

Hope to see you in our beautiful city,

best regards,

François Garcher,
director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    185
    59
    16
    8
See reviews for
46
169
48
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

First the good things. As has prieviously been said the breakfast is very good. The bathroom is modern with a good shower and range of toiletries.The bed is comfortable and there is very little noise from the street so a good nights sleep is assured. All the staff we met were helpful.
Now the not so good . There is no proper bar area and only a few chairs in the reception area. There is a limited room service menu but no restaurant. The fourth floor rooms (in the attic ) have a roof truss right over the bed limiting access to one side unless you are a limbo dancer. This hotel may be fine for a one night stay on business but not if you are a tourist. Riviera Travel claim this is a four star hotel which it clearly is not.

Room Tip: Not on the fourth floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
François G, Directeur général at Mercure Strasbourg St Jean Petite France, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Peter,

We appreciate your customer experience, confirming our welcoming and the location of our hotel.

I remind you that our hotel is a 3 star hotel. We chose to have no restaurant because we are located in Strasbourg city center, two minutes from a multitude of restaurants of different themes.

You have at your disposal a room service card with fresh products (6 starters, 4 dishes and 6 desserts).

It is true that we have some attic rooms with exposed beams, as you may know it is very aesthetic but less friendly around the bed (but many people ask us).


Hope to see you in our city,

best regards,

François Garcher,
director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parma, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

the hotel have a correct balance between price and advantages. Good breakfast and good parking place. The service it's everytime at the level of the expectations. It will be a place for my next business travel

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

This hotel is no more than five minutes walk from the station, and is also very well-placed for the centre of the city. As one would expect from a Mercure hotel, it was very clean and the staff were very, very helpful. Not only do rooms provide facilities fro making tea and coffee, there is also a Nespresso machine by the reception for guests to use. The breakfast provided an excellent choice in a clean and modern area. There was no external noise audible in the bedroom (though this fronted the main street). I can recommend this hotel wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
François G, Propriétaire at Mercure Strasbourg St Jean Petite France, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience with us.
We are delighted to hear that you have been satisfied with all services provided and will share your positive comments with our staff.
We certainly hope to welcome you back for your next trip to Strasbourg.

François GARCHER,
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Placed in the very heart of the city, near everything you need, this hotel offers quiet, relaxed place to rest after hard day of working or walking. Rooms are small but comfortable, with basic things you need - good Internet connection, coffee machine, TV, adjustable heating/cooling, cozy bathroom, spacious desk and cozy bed. What is odd is the lack of the wardrobe. You have hangers, but not the closed place to put them and your stuff in.
Staff is very kind and helpful, and the breakfast quite diverse and tasty.
But what impressed me the most is the atmosphere in the hotel: everything is in strong colours and white, cheerful and pleasant, and you can not help but to be in the same cheerful and pleasant mood.
Overall, you will definitely not make a mistake if you choose this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
François G, Propriétaire at Mercure Strasbourg St Jean Petite France, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your feedback. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Best regards.

François GARCHER,
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

We spent a week end in this hotel where the stay was perfect from the beginning to the end for the following reasons:
- Location: 5 to 10 minutes walking distance from the train station (SNCF) and right across the river facing the historical city centre.
- Accommodation: designed, maintained and charming room mixing design furniture in an historical environment.
- Food & Beverage: great breakfast with a wide choice of food and beverage. The food is super tasty: a whole breakfast here keeps you well all day for the exploration and discovery of the city.
- Staff: welcoming, smiling, available, reliable and attentive from the check-in to the check-out.

Thanks for this great stay!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
François G, Propriétaire at Mercure Strasbourg St Jean Petite France, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience with us.
We are delighted to hear that you have been satisfied with all services provided and will share your positive comments with our staff.
We certainly hope to welcome you back for your next trip to Strasbourg.

François GARCHER,
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Strasbourg St Jean Petite France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Strasbourg St Jean Petite France

Address: 3, rue du Maire Kuss, 67000 Strasbourg, France (Formerly Mercure Strasbourg Quartier Saint Jean)
Location: France > Alsace > Bas-Rhin > Strasbourg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Strasbourg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Strasbourg St Jean Petite France 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Strasbourg Saint Jean Petite France is a hotel of 63 rooms located in the city center, near from the old city called “La Petite France”. Close to the train station and shops, and about 10 mn, by car or tram to the European Institutions and Palate of Congresses.We offer you a complimentary use of our partner gym. We provide room service 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Strasbourg St Jean Petite France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Strasbourg Quartier Saint Jean

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Strasbourg St Jean Petite France, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.