We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well recommended in Strasbourg” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Citadines Strasbourg Kleber

Save Saved
You added Citadines Strasbourg Kleber to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Citadines Strasbourg Kleber
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50-54, rue du Jeu des Enfants, 67000 Strasbourg, France (Petite France Nord Ouest)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 131 hotels in Strasbourg
Essex
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Well recommended in Strasbourg”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2010

I wasn't sure what to expect - some reviews were good, others not so brilliant. Citadines is rather odd hotel. We booked a two room apartment; a bedroom, a living room and a small kitchen. Their site also says that a cheaper studio room is available.

The toilet and bathroom is separate, which I think is a good thing, and the kitchen had a two ring cooker, a microwave, a fridge and a dishwasher - all you need in fact for a bit of breakfast or a sandwich in the evening. There is no need to cook a meal - there are plenty of wonderful places to eat nearby - this is France after all. You also have to be a giant! The kitchen cupboards are so high above the work surface that I couldn’t reach the plates in the cupboard without standing on a chair – perhaps they should supply a little step ladder for smaller people like me?

When we checked in we were offered various options. We could have booked a daily cleaner, but we said we would clean our own room and saved around 25 euros that way. It did mean that we did not get clean towels, but you could take towels off the cleaner’s trolley if you needed more. There was also breakfast on offer and a laundry room, which we never used. We preferred to run out in true French style and buy fresh bread and croissants in the morning and make our own coffee – there is a fabulous baker just up the road and a little store across from the hotel. Nearby there are other supermarkets, which are very good, value considering they are right in the city centre.

We were in a room at the back that overlooked the carpark, so it could be a little noisy when cars were driving by, but other than that it was very quiet at night.

Other reviews have mentioned cleanliness. We found the facilities were clean, but the toilet, which is separate from the bathroom, smelt a little like a man’s urinal and could have done with a good dose of bleach! Apart from that, we had absolutely no complaints about the accommodation – other than it was a little more expensive than we thought it should have been, but I suppose we paid extra for its position. Had we used the breakfast and cleaner option, then our stay would have cost us a whole lot more.

As for Strasbourg, it was my first visit and I was very impressed by the place and will return. Shame you cannot fly directly from London though. We went by Eurostar from London to Paris, walked up the road to another station and went the rest of the way by TGV. There were no problems on either route and we arrived far more relaxed than if we had driven there.

Alsace being near to Germany was a bonus because we spent one day in the Black Forest, where you can walk miles if you are so minded, and on another day we went to Colmar; two very easy journeys to make by public transport. If you like architecture or history you just have to go to Colmar and also walk over to Petite France in Strasbourg: rows and rows of medieval houses. Absolutely beautiful!

Another must to try is the Quiche Lorraine. Yes, I know it available around the world, but you cannot beat the real thing.

Transport was easy, just jump on a tram, bus or train. We went over to see the European parliament by tram and just walked in. They could do a bit more to make the place welcoming – with perhaps a little teashop or welcome centre. As it is you just walk around the building and get the tram back again as there isn’t anything else nearby that we could see.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    52
    20
    7
    4
See reviews for
22
21
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2009

We stayed at this hotel for a week in early summer while my husband was taking a class at the university. There was his class of 20 graduate students and another class of about 20 undergrads staying at the hotel. The younger students came in very late (2 AM) and were very noisy, lots of slamming of doors and LOUD talking in the hall.

The location is fabulous, within walking distance to La Petite France with the old timber buildings, the cathedral and the river, as well as the public transportation. Our favorite place to sit and people watch was Place Kleber. The hotel staff was wonderful, they would help with any directions asked, recommendations for restaurants and any issues with the room.

The room size was tight, and with the Murphy bed out from the wall it was very cramped. The toilet and shower were in 2 different parts of the room which was odd, but OK. The hotel has no air conditioning but they did provide an oscillating fan when asked.

All in all I would stay here again and would definitely recommend it to others.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2008

After we lost our reservation elsewhere, we were referred to this hotel where we stayed one evening. The room, bathroom and kitchenette were all very clean with full amenities (even a dishwasher!), and the staff was very professional and courteous; two of them had come up to our room to make sure that our internet connection was working. Highly recommended!

  • Liked — Kitchenette and Location
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2008

I stayed here for four nights and really enjoyed being right in the centre of the old town of Strasbourg. My apartment was clean and spacious even though the sloping roof made the rooms a bit more cramped. Nice bathroom and kitchenette. Living on the 6th floor, I used the elevators quiet often, and I was surprised how slow they were. All in all, the Citadines was a pleasant experience.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Slow elevators
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meerbusch, Germany
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2008

We stayed here for three nights over the May 1-4 holiday weekend. We booked a studio apartment for two adults and our two children using a third-party booking website. I had requested a cot for our toddler, but it wasn't there when we arrived. When my husband requested it, the overworked but kind receptionist brought it up - then said she'd be back with the linens. She never came back, but we coped. On the other hand, another receptionist went to great pains to try to help us cancel the babysitting service we'd arranged - to the point of calling people listed in the phonebook with the same surname as the service's manager, who wasn't returning phone calls!

The hours for checking in are limited, but if you contact the hotel beforehand, you can get information on early check-in. Our room was clean and relatively quiet, and while it was a warm weekend we didn't have any problems with the lack of air-conditioning.

We didn't try the breakfast, as it seemed a bit pricey at 8.50 euros per person. There is a small convenience store across the street from the lobby, and several nice bakeries within a few minutes' walk, as well as a Monoprix grocery store off Place Gutenberg. Having the mini-kitchen worked out very well for us.

We also didn't pay extra for the daily cleaning service, but that wasn't a problem. We did manage to generate quite a bit of trash in three days, but the bathroom is large enough we could stash it all in a big shopping bag without any problem!

  • Liked — Studio apartment includes mini-kitchen and a Murphy bed (the kids loved that!)
  • Disliked — Intermittently helpful staff - some were outstanding, some not so good
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ, USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2007

We frequently stay in Citadines properties as we travel with kids and prefer more space than the similarly-priced hotels provide. This property is typical of Citadines, IMO. It is clean, well situated and value priced.

The negative reviewers don't seem to have understood the nature of aparthotels -- checking out these places on their websites would have prevented unpleasant surprises. That said, some Citadines claim to have a/c when, in fact, only their lobby or reception area has it. This is something worth checking iwth the hotel before you go in July or August!!

The 1 bedroom apt was more than adequate for 4 of us, but we did wish there was a/c. As with the Citadines in Paris, I was not happy about having the windows open as the windows open all the way out and have no guards.

The kitchen was well stocked, but we didn't cook at all, other than coffee to go wth our morning baked goods. (I don't think their breakfasts are ever worth the money - you can run out and get your own croissants for a fraction of the price.)

The location is great - there is so much within a few minutes walk.

Even if there are only 2 of you, I'd pay the upcharge and have the 1 bedroom apt rather than a suite.

Finally, it is worth booking Citadines properties through the company rather than other travel booking sites as you don't have to pay in advance, provided you use your credit card to guarantee the booking.

  • Liked — Space and location
  • Disliked — No a/c and very tight parking garage
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, CA
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2005

My family of six had to stay one night in Strasbourg before starting a canal trip in the Alsace area. We allowed our travel agent to be creative, and ended up spending a boatload of cash on this dumpy hotel. We spent about 280 Euros on two small rooms, which we ranked as one of the worst values during our 5 week trip in Europe.

It's not far from the train station, and it's near the central square, so the location is fine. We, too, ran into the extensive mid-day closed period, and had to cool our heels (with four kids) while the hotel staff did lunch.

I would shop other hotels before staying here.

  • Stayed June 2003
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Citadines Strasbourg Kleber? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines Strasbourg Kleber

Address: 50-54, rue du Jeu des Enfants, 67000 Strasbourg, France
Location: France > Alsace > Bas-Rhin > Strasbourg > Petite France Nord Ouest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 131 hotels in Strasbourg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Citadines Strasbourg Kleber 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Citadines Strasbourg Kleber reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines Strasbourg Kleber Hotel Strasbourg
Citadines Hotel Strasbourg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Citadines Strasbourg Kleber, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.