We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel but a bit far from the historic city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Monopole Metropole

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Monopole Metropole to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Monopole Metropole
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16 Rue Kuhn, 67000 Strasbourg, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 131 hotels in Strasbourg
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Top Contributor
412 reviews 412 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
216 helpful votes 216 helpful votes
“Great hotel but a bit far from the historic city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We enjoyed our one-night stay at the Monopole Metropole hotel in room 322. The room was large for a standard room, very modern and set up nicely. The bed was soft and comfortable. We had a couple of windows along with AC (not used as Winter hasn't broken yet!), curtains, and rouladens. There was also a mini-fridge inside the cabinet. The room was very clean. The bathroom was really nice, modern, and had a large shower above tub with a huge shower head. Unfortunately, and I just don't understand the fascination of these "new" doors... the shower door was fixed to the tub and only extended 1/2 way so a good part of the bathroom floor takes a shower along with you!

Breakfast was very good although the cappuccino seemed to be a mix of cappuccino and chocolate. Everything else was wonderful with a large selection of meats, cheeses, fruits, great breads, cereal, and scrambled eggs and sausage. There was also the possibility to boil your own egg for whatever time you chose.

Personnel at the hotel were all very helpful and accommodating. All front desk personnel spoke great English.

We booked through hotels.com and got a great rate of € 82 including breakfast. We'd definitely go that route again.

On the negative side, I bumped my head a couple times on the flat screen TV which protrudes from the wall a bit. It didn't hurt so no big deal, but the mounting/placement of the TV could be done better I think. The toilet and shower rooms were separate (which is no problem) but the toilet is so, so low. I'd guess it's mounted 8-12 inches lower than the usual height. That was a bit strange. The location of the hotel is okay as far as not being seedy since it is somewhat near the train station. But it's far enough away to really keep the riffraff away. My only real complaint about the location is the 10-15 walk to the cathedral area and about 10 minutes to Petite France. It's not that far but after walking around all day, then back to the hotel, then back into the old town for dinner and back was a bit of a hike (all combined). I would stay here again but I would bring bicycles to get into the old town quicker/easier, then lock the bikes up until returning to the hotel.

We parked on the street which was a little cheaper than buying a parking space with the hotel. The parking is metered from 0900-1200 and 1400-1900. Cost is € 1.50 per hour and you can only pay maximum 2 hours at a time. And street parking is free on Sundays.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

600 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    251
    251
    79
    15
    4
See reviews for
102
279
47
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Stayed 2 nights with a group of friends. Location is great, 5 minutes from the station and 10 minutes from Petit France with its restaurants and bars and another 10 minutes away from the Cathedral area. Room was a good size and bathroom enormous and modern. All the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Breakfast was plentiful with a good choice.
Would definately recommend as a place to stay in Strasbourg.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I stayed onenigfht with my wife in the Metroploe and was very impressed both by the hotel and the city for the exploration of which, the hotel location was ideal. Rooms were modernand seemingly recently upgraded, being comfortable and warm (room 523). The four person lift only really holds two with luggage, and itis woefully inadequate at check out time. But that was a quirk of the hotel rather than a set back. A pleasenat bar area with limited beers, it is not a hotel to head back to for a late beer.
Breakfast was good and the dining room has real character - as indeed does the hotel. Staff ar very freindly and welcoming.
There will be better hotels in Starsbourg , cheaper and more expensive, but without doubt, I would have no qualms about staying here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Located at less than five minutes walking from the station and very close to old city centre (10min walking from cathedral or petite france). Very close to tram stations too. Staff was friendly and helpful.
Rooms are big and clean, and have very clean and SEPARETED wc and bathroom.
Decoration is a little surprising,a sort of mix of tradition design and involuntary kitsch. You can hear other clients walk in the room above. Mine weren't noisy, but what will yours?
Awfully slow and bugging wifi, but i was told it was because my room was remote after a turn if the corridor. One if my colleagues hasn't got the same problem. Tea and coffee and minibar in each room.
Breakfast was just average, and though the room is pretty big, there was only one waitress to clean it. So you can figure it was difficult to find a cleaned table. The day after, I hadn't got the same problem, so it seems exceptional.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We chose this hotel because of its proximity to the train station (we actually took the Lufthansa bus from Frankfurt, which arrives in Strasbourg near the station.) It was no trouble to roll our bags the 4 or 5 blocks. However, the entrance to the hotel did not face Rue Kuhn but the intersecting street, so we overshot a bit.

The front desk staff was exceedingly helpful and polite. They allowed us a relatively early check-in with no fuss whatsoever.

The location was good, allowing us to walk everywhere we wished, yet in a quiet part of town.

The breakfast selections were plentiful and expected: eggs (scrambled and boiled to your satisfaction), bacon, cereals, pastries, yogurt, fruit, cheeses, breads. We appreciated the old-looking wooden beams and dark wood in the room, which gave it a very nice feeling.

Although the hotel is completely nonsmoking, the room we were first assigned had a strong odor of cigarette smell. We were quickly assigned a new room, which was unfortunately more cramped than the other, and with a toilet in a room separate from a sink. In an old building like this one that has been modernized, I assume each room is just a little different. However, that was no problem we don't travel to stay in the room!

The wi-fi never worked quite properly.

Overall, we enjoyed our 2 nights at the Best Western Monopole.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for three nights for a business visit in Strasbourg. It is a very good hotel, close to the main train station (3 minutes on foot) and city center (8-10 minutes on foot). Close to tram stations. Check in staff very helpful and polite. Medium size room (but OK for one or two persons) with safe, tea/coffee facilities, iron and iron board. Spacious bathroom but without any amenities, just two dispensers (shampoo and soap). Room and in fact the whole hotel well maintained and clean. Breakfast OK for a 3 star hotel (mainly cold selections, bacon and eggs). A computer at the lobby for use and print e.g. boarding passes. WiFi is free and quite quick.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zug, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Strasbourg is a wonderful city for a weekend break and the Monopole Metropole the ideal bolt hole. The the staff were incredibly helpful and welcoming and the room was clean and comfortable. The location of the hotel is excellent being a short walk from the station and from the old town. Breakfast was very good and the staff were very vigilant in replenishing supplies. Around the corner from the hotel was an ideal restaurant for dinner - the food was outstanding, the owner attentive and helpful in my choices. Especially appealing was the fact that it had a 'geniune' rather than 'touristy' feel - whilst it is outside of the main area and therefore suffers from a lack of custom, I would highly recommend strolling from the hotel to the restaurant New Wynmuck.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Monopole Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Monopole Metropole

Address: 16 Rue Kuhn, 67000 Strasbourg, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Alsace > Bas-Rhin > Strasbourg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Strasbourg
#5 Romantic Hotel in Strasbourg
#8 Family Hotel in Strasbourg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Monopole Metropole 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Hotel Monopole Métropole, close to the TGV train station and the old town La Petite France, is one of the most historical of Strasbourg. Discover the charms of the lounges with antiques and paintings of famous Alsatian artists and visit the collections featured in the “little museum” at the lobby. The rooms, traditionally furbished or contemporary styled are all non smoking and air conditioned. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Monopole Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Monopole Metropole Hotel Strasbourg
Best Western Hotel Strasbourg
Best Western Strasbourg
Strasbourg Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Monopole Metropole, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.