We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a great value in Strasbourg” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Strasbourg Grande Ile

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Strasbourg Grande Ile to your Saves list
Sofitel Strasbourg Grande Ile
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 place St Pierre le Jeune, 67000 Strasbourg, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 130 Hotels in Strasbourg
Jerusalem, Israel
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Not a great value in Strasbourg”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

We booked through booking.com and got the tiniest rooms (oncly slightly larger than the bed) though bathroom was spacious. Breakfast outragesouly expensive (25 Euro pp). Fitness room has no curtains so blinding sun in your eyes if you excercise in the morning.
We stayed one night at the Mercure Hotel on Rue du Maire Kuss - location just as good, room about the same size and much better value for the price (plus free nespresso and great breakfast fo 10 Euros).

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laetitia A, Responsable relations publiques at Sofitel Strasbourg Grande Ile, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us a feedback about your stay at Sofitel Strasbourg Grande Ile.
At Sofitel, our ambassadors are doing their best to satisfy our guest, that's why I'm sorry to read your comments about your deception with your reservation through Booking.com.
I would like to advise you, for your next reservation, to directly call our Reservation Manager. We have, indeed, other room categories, and she will do her best in order to provide you a room that totally meets your expectations.
Her email adress is : H0568-RE1@sofitel.com

Thanks again for your comments. They are very valuable to us in our constant efforts to improve our services.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

924 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    428
    339
    113
    31
    13
See reviews for
182
444
60
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

old hotel ...not that clean...bad service and bad air conditioning the rooms are really terrible I stayed there for three nights and it was a night mare...the only good thing about this hotel is the location. ...I don't recommend it at all for any body

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laetitia A, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Strasbourg Grande Ile, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for letting us know about your feedback.

I am sorry to read that you experienced inconveniences in your room and have reported them to our Housekeeping Manager, who apologizes about this situation.

Please rest assured that we will take immediate action for this inconvenience not to happen again.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back,

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

I had been few times for business at Sofitel Strasbourg. The location is very convenient as it is easy to access by car from the highway and is walking distance from the very center (2 min walk to Kleber square). The buffet for breakfast is very good with some nice local products and this is the only place in this hotel where service is efficient. Check out can take 20 minutes with one person effectively working and two or three are surrounding the desk area, welcoming you to check out but not doing much. But the worst service was when I came with my family and out of all orders for from service, not one could be delivered according to the order (and I speak French). Service for drinks at the terrace is slow and tables are not cleaned rapidly. Overall, the impression is that there is a lot of staff very polite, nice and smiling but not very effective. With rooms that are not very spacious and a gym that does not deserve such a title (very small room), the experience is at best rated average.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laetitia A, Responsable relations publiques at Sofitel Strasbourg Grande Ile, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us a feedback about your experience at Sofitel Strasbourg Grande Ile.

At Sofitel, our ambassadors are doing their best so that every moment spend with us a pleasure that's why I'm sorry to read your comments.

I'm sorry that you had to wait so much during check-out time and that you found our service at the terrace to slow.

I'm pleased, however that you enjoyed our breakfast and the local products available.

Thanks again for your feedback and see you again in Strasbourg soon!

Best regard,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

I thought I was booking the best room in town with a hefty price to match. Showed up early and our room wasn't ready. No problem, I understand check in is 2 pm. We returned at 2:15 and the room still wasn't ready so they made the decision to give us a room directly over the bar where the hotel had live music until midnight and the noise was unbearable. When I complained I was told it was a special day in France where live music is played all over the country. That's a great tradition, so happy for them but when I pay for a luxury hotel room, I expect to be able to sleep and really, not much more than that. And, most importantly, the noise was coming from the hotel, not the rest of the city. Very poor choice to put us (including my 73 yr old mother) in this room. They knew it, didn't have clean rooms at the appropriate time and did it anyway. I was offered earplugs for my trouble. This is not luxury. Not the Sofitel you'd experience in the States. I could live with the somewhat tacky purple decor but I really didn't care for the location on top of the noise issue.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laetitia A, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Strasbourg Grande Ile, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Google Translation
Cher Hôte,

Je vous remercie d'avoir pris le temps de partager vos impressions suite à votre séjour, et suis désolée que nous n'ayons su être à la hauteur de vos attentes et du service 5 étoiles que nous offrons à nos hôtes.

J'ai personnellement alerté notre Gouvernante Générale quant à vos remarques concernant le service en chambre, et elle vous présente ses plus vives excuses quant à ce manquement qui ne correspond en rien à nos prestations habituelles de service.

Je suis également désolée de lire que votre confort n'ait pu être optimal en raison de nuisances sonores multiples et espère avoir l'occasion de vous offrir une expérience plus agréable dans le futur.

J'espère avoir l'occasion de vous accueillir à nouveau dans la capitale Alsacienne et vous adresse mes sincères salutations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

Pros: Clean modern rooms. Superb location. Concierge helpful.
Cons: Poor room service. Multiple calls and personal intervention to get basic necessities. Thin walls. Can hear persons in next room. Do not accept room that is adjoining.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laetitia A, Responsable relations publiques at Sofitel Strasbourg Grande Ile, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear JRL87,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Sofitel Strasbourg Grande Ile on Tripadvisor.
I'm pleased to read your satisfaction regarding our concierge sevice, our location and our rooms.
I'm sorry however, to see that you are not satisfied with our room service and that it wasn't available when you needed it.
I'm also disturbed by your comment about the room adjoining. I can assure you that our hotel do offer adjoining rooms for our guests. Maybe there wasn't any adjoining room available when you stayed. I'm sorry that you couldn't enjoy it.

I hope to welcome you back at Sofitel Strasbourg Grande Ile in the near future and that you will have a room that totally meets your expectations.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Excellent hotel within the city centre.
It is comfortable, plush, looks good, smells good, tastes good!
Expect a modern luxurious room, superb Hermès bath amenities, excellent breakfast served very late on week ends.
We will come back!

Room Tip: If you have booked the standard room (quite small), ask at check in whether an accessible room is fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laetitia A, Responsable relations publiques at Sofitel Strasbourg Grande Ile, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your comment. Our ambassadors are doing their best so that every moment spend with us is a pleasure, that's why I'm happy to read your satisfaction.

I'm thrilled to notice that you appreciated your entire stay at Sofitel with our special offer for late breakfast during weekends.

We would love to welcome you back in our hotel.

See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Strasbourg Grande Ile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Strasbourg Grande Ile

Address: 4 place St Pierre le Jeune, 67000 Strasbourg, France
Location: France > Alsace > Bas-Rhin > Strasbourg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Strasbourg
#2 Family Hotel in Strasbourg
#7 Luxury Hotel in Strasbourg
#15 Romantic Hotel in Strasbourg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Strasbourg Grande Ile 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the European capital, the Sofitel Strasbourg Grande Ile is preserved from the bustle city with an exceptional location. It has 150 rooms and suites and discreet luxury, a gym, a business center and a private garage with valet porter. The Goh restaurant and The Link bar offer fine gourmet stop and an inventive menu to delight gourmets. Finally, the hotel offers 750m² of meeting rooms fully equipped with free unlimited wi-fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, ACCOR and Tingo so you can book your Sofitel Strasbourg Grande Ile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Strasbourg Hotel Strasbourg
Strasbourg Sofitel
Accor Strasbourg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Strasbourg Grande Ile, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.