We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in beautiful location, reltively small rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Strasbourg Grande Ile

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Strasbourg Grande Ile to your Saves list
Sofitel Strasbourg Grande Ile
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 place St Pierre le Jeune, 67000 Strasbourg, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 128 Hotels in Strasbourg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good hotel in beautiful location, reltively small rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

This 5 star hotel is located in downtown Strasbourg, an ideal location when you want to visit the city center.

Pro's:
- ideal location
- free parking in hotel's own parking garage (with valet service), at least we did not have to pay for it when checking out.
- wonderful bed with big pillows and sft matress for a perfect night's sleep
- modern bathroom with all amenities.
- free Wifi in the room
- nice buffet breakfast with service at your table and more than enough choice in food
- well trained staff, who will attend to your needs

Cons:
- for a 5 star hotel the rooms are rather small
- no walk in shower, have to stand in the bath tub to take a shower
- hotel restaurant was closed when we arrived (on a sunday)

All in all this is a good hotel to stay in, the smallish rooms mgiht make you want to stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laetitia A, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Strasbourg Grande Ile, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Richard,

Thank you for your detailed comment, which is of utmost importance to us in order to keep improving our service.
I am happy to read that you appreciated the location, facilities, services and staff. I am sorry that the rooms might have seemed small to you and would be pleased to propose you a larger room for a future stay, please do not hesitate to indicate us your preferences.

Looking forward to welcoming you back,
Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,094 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    511
    394
    134
    41
    14
See reviews for
212
526
63
175
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Room could be a bit bigger, but just renovated 2 weeks ago so nice and new and clean. Quiet rooms, good sleep. Most impressive was the professionalism of the staff. Front desk were all good looking young people who clearly were very proud of Sofitel Strasbourg and the Sofitel brand. One of the ladies accompanied me up to the room to "explain the facilities" (even though there was nothing rocket science about how to get to the room and what was in it).

Valet/porters and cafe staff were smiley and efficient. Free wifi in the room and internet terminals in the lobby. Within walking distance to the Cathedral, Place Kleber, Bateaux. Good hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laetitia A, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Strasbourg Grande Ile, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear SinyeeKoh,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and for taking the time to pass on your feedback. I am delighted to hear that you had a nice time with us and hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you again soon.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

Reception staff were excellent and very helpful and kind. Excellent restaurant. Room was a bit on the small size but it is located in Europe after all. Great location to all of the local attractions and shopping. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betty S, Responsable réception at Sofitel Strasbourg Grande Ile, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us in the capital of Alsace. We are delighted to see that your stay was enjoyable and thank you for your positive review.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon,
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dixon, California
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The hotel has two great points: excellent location for walking around the old city and the best breakfast buffet of all. On the down side, it is fairly dated in the rooms and hallways, including a slight odor in these areas. Don't plan on having any view from your room either, nothing to see from our room but an ugly building across the way.
The service at the front desk is good, they recommended a very good Italian restaurant while we were there. The city of Strasbourg is a shoppers paradise, save space in your luggage!
The cathedral is jaw dropping amazing. You cannot capture all of it in one photo.
Enjoy!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betty S, Responsable réception at Sofitel Strasbourg Grande Ile, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for choossing to stay with us and for letting us know about your feedback. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed our service as well as the location and that you much appreciated our beautiful city of Strasbourg. However, I duly noted your comment about the need for renovation, and I would like to inform you that we are undertaking an exciting modernization program that I would be happy to present you on a future stay. Moreover, several of our rooms offer a great view on the city, feel free to as for a room with view when booking.

We hope to have the occasion to offer you an even greater stay and wish you all the best,
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

My husband and i had a very pleasant stay at Sofitel. We specially appreciated the service with valet parking, front desk and breakfast. Perfekt with wlan. The hotel was easy to find and location is perfect with good access to shopping and sightseeing.
We will comeback back.

Room Tip: We had a junior suite. Next time we ask for one closer to the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betty S, Responsable réception at Sofitel Strasbourg Grande Ile, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear Elina,

Thank you for your positive comment, which I have shared with all our Ambassadors. It is a pleasure to know that your stay with us was enjoyable and we hope that we will have the occasion to welcome you back soon.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockhampton, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

We experienced the excellent service that you come to expect from Sofitel on our recent 5 night visit. Several staff members were standouts including Justine at reception and Stella in the restaurant. Excellent room with a view of the square and a 700 year old church. Breakfasts have a wide variety but if there are conferences on you need to either get there early or order your eggs especially as they tend to clean out the buffet. Best croissants I have tasted. Location is excellent. Only about 1 block from the main shopping area and only a little further to the main tram interchange. Perfect location for exploring the Grande Ile of Strasbourg on foot or catching trams to further locations.
They are renovating at the moment so we had quite a lot of noise in our room between 9 AM and 5 PM. We mentioned this to reception and were offered a generous discount from the room rate for putting up with the noise. The renovations were understandable but their response was completely in keeping with the high Sofitel standard. Would definitely recommend this hotel for a stay Strasbourg.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betty S, Responsable réception at Sofitel Strasbourg Grande Ile, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear Guests,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to pass on your feedback. I am pleased to read that you had a great Sofitel experience and appreciated the central location as well as the courtesy of our Ambassadors.
Please accept our apologies again for the inconveniences experienced during the modernization period going on. I am happy to learn that you appreciated our reaction to this situation, and that you will still keep a good memory of your stay.

Looking forward to seeing you again,
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almaty, Kazakhstan
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

We can just confirm the high rating of Sofitel Strasbourg published on TripAdvisor. The hotel is really good . Location, service, atmosphere are at the same high level. Rooms are spacious enough, staff is helpful. We were not disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betty S, Responsable réception at Sofitel Strasbourg Grande Ile, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear Oleg,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your visit to Strasbourg, and thank you for letting us know about your satisfaction and confidence !

We hope to have the pleasure to see you again in the capital of Alsace,
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Strasbourg Grande Ile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Strasbourg Grande Ile

Address: 4 place St Pierre le Jeune, 67000 Strasbourg, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Alsace > Bas-Rhin > Strasbourg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Strasbourg
#2 Family Hotel in Strasbourg
#7 Luxury Hotel in Strasbourg
#15 Romantic Hotel in Strasbourg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Strasbourg Grande Ile 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the European capital, the Sofitel Strasbourg Grande Ile is preserved from the bustle city with an exceptional location. It has 150 rooms and suites and discreet luxury, a gym, a business center and a private garage with valet porter. The Goh restaurant and The Link bar offer fine gourmet stop and an inventive menu to delight gourmets. Finally, the hotel offers 750m² of meeting rooms fully equipped with free unlimited wi-fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sofitel Strasbourg Grande Ile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Strasbourg Hotel Strasbourg
Strasbourg Sofitel
Accor Strasbourg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Strasbourg Grande Ile, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.