We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable place to stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Strasbourg Palais des Congres

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Strasbourg Palais des Congres to your Saves list
Mercure Strasbourg Palais des Congres
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20, Place de Bordeaux, 67000 Strasbourg, France (Formerly Holiday Inn Strasbourg City Centre)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 128 Hotels in Strasbourg
Port Washington, New York
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Reasonable place to stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We need a place to sleep and could not get in anywhere in the city. This hotel was just fine, but nothing special. Room clean breakfast good, staff helpful. But the hotel is nether near the airport or the city, so,the location is not good. I think one could do better, but surely one could do worse.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina F, Responsable réception at Mercure Strasbourg Palais des Congres, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Thank you for the time you have taken to share your experience of your stay in our hotel.

My team and I are very grateful for your remarks. They will encourage us to maintain our efforts so that the services we provide for you fully meet your expectations.

However we took note of your remark regarding the hotel location. You are right we are not into the city centre but the nearest tram station is in front of the hotel and you can reach the centre in 5mns. Otherwise you can also walk 15mns to the city

We hope that you had a pleasant stay in Strasbourg and we are looking forward to welcoming you again.

Sincerely yours,

Christina FELIX
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    209
    87
    17
    6
See reviews for
129
128
14
91
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lewes, Delaware
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Very good business hotel in Strasbourg. Rooms dated, but clean. Restaurant food average. WiFi connection strong. No gaps. Convenient to A4 motorway. Tram stop directly across from hotel entrance. Easy 15 min walk to Town Center and Petite France. Plenty of parking. Would definitely stay again if in Strasbourg for business.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina F, Responsable réception at Mercure Strasbourg Palais des Congres, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Thank you for the time you have taken to share your experience of your stay in our hotel.

My team and I are very grateful for your remarks. They will encourage us to maintain our efforts so that the services we provide for you fully meet your expectations.

However we took note of your remark regarding the room. Be advised that a large program of renovation is in progress. 60% of the rooms are renovated; the others are planned in the coming 2 years.

Also we do apologies for the restaurant food quality. The necessary corrective measures have already been taken to ensure that the quality level meets your expectations and earns your trust when you next stay with us.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in Strasbourg.

Sincerely yours,

Christina FELIX
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Nice hotel, good efficient check in service and the room was lovely...massive bed. Coffee and tea making facilities in room, T.V. menu ok but not very good films available...could improve those a bit...but hey, I'm scraping the bottom if I call that a complaint. Nice hotel....breakfast tasty but pricey if not included so make sure you check before you eat!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina F, Responsable réception at Mercure Strasbourg Palais des Congres, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
My team and I are very grateful for your remarks. They will encourage us to maintain our efforts so that the services we provide for you fully meet your expectations.

However we took note of your remark regarding the breakfast price. This is why to give the largest choice to the guests, we propose 2 types of breakfast: a buffet breakfast at 20 Euros and an express breakfast at 8.50 Euros.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in Strasbourg.

Sincerely yours,

Christina FELIX
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khobar
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Comfortable beds, spacious (EU standards!), near bus/tram station. City center less than 10 min away by tram, free parking.

Nothing interesting nearby, can be cleaner, really noisy; walls are so thin all sounds from other rooms/bathrooms are in your room. Staff are not that friendly. View from room is terrible

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina F, Responsable réception at Mercure Strasbourg Palais des Congres, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Sir, Dear Madam,

Thank you for the time you have taken to share your experience of your stay in our hotel.

We are sorry to read that the room did not totally meet your expectations. The hotel proposes two views: one on a greenery side and one of the Cathedral according to the floor.

Regarding the service lacks, please accept all our apologies and be assured that the necessary corrective measures have already been taken to ensure that the quality level meets your expectations and earns your trust when you next stay with us.

Anyway we hope that you had a pleasant stay in Strasbourg and we are looking forward to welcoming you again in our hotel.

Yours sincerely,

Christina FELIX
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We use this hotel 2 or 3 times a year on our way to and from Italy, it is always a pleasure, the staff are good on reception and the rooms are spacious, I tend to relax in a hot bath from where I can see the only faults, the bathrooms are a little dated and dark, I find the lighting too low and I cannot even read my book in the bath, if they updated the bathroom it would be perfect.

Room Tip: The rooms to the front have the best views towards the city centre, the rear overlooks the congress...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina F, Responsable réception at Mercure Strasbourg Palais des Congres, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Thank you for your loyalty and thank you for the time you have taken to share your experience of your stay in our hotel.

My team and I are very grateful for your remarks. They will encourage us to maintain our efforts so that the services we provide for you fully meet your expectations.

However we took note of your remark regarding the bathroom. A wide program of renovation is in progress and the lighting of the bathroom is a part of it.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in Strasbourg.

Sincerely yours,

Christina FELIX
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mercure Strasbourg Palais des Congres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Strasbourg Palais des Congres

Address: 20, Place de Bordeaux, 67000 Strasbourg, France (Formerly Holiday Inn Strasbourg City Centre)
Location: France > Alsace > Bas-Rhin > Strasbourg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Strasbourg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Strasbourg Palais des Congres 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the capital of Alsace, a short walk from the headquarters of the European Institutions, the Concert Hall and Conference Centre, the Mercure Strasbourg Palais des Congrès is the ideal place to stay whether visiting on business or for pleasure. This historic city is very attractive: pedestrianized centre, the Palais de Rohan, Notre-Dame cathedral and “winstubs alsaciennes”.The hotel, renovated in 2010, offers 174 spacious rooms including 26 “Privilege” rooms.Our new restaurant “La Table du 20” offers a light cooking which emphasizes the flavours and the seasonal produce.The Lounge Bar offers an inviting and totally modern setting. A restful and Zen atmosphere, jazz style music in the evening, cocktails and interesting food throughout the day.Free admission to the Health Club will help you relax. Fitness facilities include a sauna, Turkish bath and large indoor pool.A Business Point, open 24 hours a day, provides services for business: Internet access, scanner, photocopies, fax, printer, etc. A Wi-Fi system is installed throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Mercure Strasbourg Palais des Congres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Strasbourg City Centre Hotel Strasbourg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Strasbourg Palais des Congres, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.