We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location, very nice staff and amazing breakfast for its category” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel des Princes

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel des Princes to your Saves list
Hotel des Princes
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   33 rue Geiler | Conseil de l'Europe, 67000 Strasbourg, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 130 Hotels in Strasbourg
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“good location, very nice staff and amazing breakfast for its category”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Located in a nice residential neighbourhood, next to a good and affordable Alsatian restaurant and a supermarket and halfway between the town centre and the European neighbourhood. Not the most modern building and room furniture, but practical and spacious. Free, fast Internet, extremely nice staff and wonderful breakfast for a 3-star hotel, with fresh ingredients and wide choice of sweet and savoury food. There is also a small "terrasse" on the back where you can enjoy a drink. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    64
    13
    3
    0
See reviews for
10
51
6
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Good spot 10 mins from Orangerie; near a nice italian restaurant, good student flammkuchen place and a terrible Chinese restaurant. Perfect breakfasts and alas, toilet flushing that can wake you up at night, so hope for quiet neighbours and do close the doors to the bathroom at night.
have fun

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel from dec 23rd to 24th.

The staff lady welcomed us so kindly and helped us so much to know the town, restaurants, and etc...

Hotel was really clean.



Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metairie, LA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here while visiting our daughter who was studying at the nearby EM Strasbourg School of Management. We reserved a superior room. We arrived late in the evening and I was concerned that we would have a problem, but was very pleased as we were greeted promptly and the reservation was quickly recognized and the room was ready. Furthermore, the reservation clerk greeted us warmly and realizing we spoke little French and spoke English, quickly began to speak to us in English. The room was very clean and fairly large for a room in France. I did have trouble connecting to the wireless, but I called the front desk and received immediate and courteous help to connect. We did not use the hotel much except for sleeping, but I would definitely stay here again because of the courteous service, clean, large room and quiet location. Also this was a good deal, the price per night was less than many of the other hotels we considered.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
97 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Stayed here while visting family in the same neighbourhood. The location is in the embassy quarter, very peaceful whether you have a room at the front or the back. About a 25 minute walk into the city centre.
The room was spotlessly clean and a decent size though minimally furnished. Sound insulation with neighbouring rooms was poor, so we heard our neighbour skypeing with his family.
The bathroom was very disappointing - a bath with a hand-held shower but nowhere to hook it on to and no shower curtain or panel. I've got fed up with hotels like this that can't be bothered spending a few Euros and so the bathroom floor got flooded every morning.
Breakfast was fine, in a pleasant room overlooking the back, but I found it rather pricey (13 EUR).

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami, fl
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Other than having an incredibly hard time finding the actual street using our GPS, we thought it was a nice hotel. It is so well hidden on the street that you can hardly tell it is a hotel. It's a beautiful neighborhood. The only complaint might be that it is far from the center of the city, but we just walked on in. There is a tram, but since we were only there for one night, we didn't bother to figure out how to use it. The room was the most modern we stayed in on this trip, butt it was cozy enough. The bathroom was larger than most and the breakfast room was lovely.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

The room I was assigned was of poor quality. It smelled like dust -- I ended up with a sore throat in the morning. The walls need painting, the furniture is very old and ramshackle. The socket next to the bed is old and broken -- it does not work.
The bathroom was a bad surprise: very old wall tiles, somewhat broken, and a bath tube with no shower protection. The floor was in strong contrast to the wall, but still in old tiles.
The view from the window is a poor internal courtyard.

I let the hotel staff know that I was not happy with the room. As a consequence, I obtained a renovated room for my second night. This second room was good, although the path to the room was of poor value. They also offered me a free breakfast for the second day of my stay. I anyway expected something better for a breakfast that is normally priced 14 euros.

Room Tip: Make sure you don't end up on the 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel des Princes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Princes

Address: 33 rue Geiler | Conseil de l'Europe, 67000 Strasbourg, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Alsace > Bas-Rhin > Strasbourg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 130 Hotels in Strasbourg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Princes 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel des Princes is between the European institutions & the city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel des Princes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel des Princes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.