We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice folks, simple but lovely hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de l'Ill

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel de l'Ill to your Saves list
Hotel de l'Ill
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 rue des Bateliers, 67000 Strasbourg, France (Krutenau Nord Ouest)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 128 Hotels in Strasbourg
Certificate of Excellence
Paphos, Cyprus
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice folks, simple but lovely hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Stayed there for two nights in November 2013. Other than a hassle with the wifi (the signal was weak in our room at the end of the hall), which I find all too typical in French hotels, everything else about the place ranged from very good to perfectly charming. The brother/sister team who run the place are friendly, humble, accommodating, and unpretentious, as is the vibe of the whole place. The location is very convenient, very quiet at night but a short walk from the center of town or the big university and with the lively student district nearby. The room was typically small (this is France), but impeccably clean and nicely appointed, comfortable bed, renovated bathroom, AC if you're there in hot weather (we weren't), and a very good if basic breakfast service. The price is very low for the well-rounded quality of the experience. Mostly, the staff are just super nice and helpful, not an ounce snootiness (after four days in Paris, this came as a huge relief). Highly recommended for basic and inexpensive accommodations in Strasbourg.

Would definitely stay there happily again. My only recommendation is that they get a better wifi router, but I had an unusual business need for it, and they were very accommodating with a solution to the problem (loaning me an ethernet cable and not charging me to plug directly into the network with my laptop). I think it was just because our room was at the very end of the hallway and far from the wifi router.

Basic, but excellent for what it claims to be, which is a clean, friendly, safe, quiet, and inexpensive home base in Strasbourg.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    30
    11
    2
    0
See reviews for
14
21
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Just across the river from the cathedral area and tour boats. The staff was very helpful and knowledgable. Just a simple walk to all good areas like the tour boat docks and cathedral. Coin laundry very close. The breakfast was convenient and typical for the price range. There is a school behind the hotel so there will be some noise from children during school hours/days. The hotel is on the opposite side of the city from the train station but we rolled our bags in about 30 min. A taxi would do it in 5 minutes and the bus stops right at the corner. Clean, comfortable and romantic. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: There is a school behind so don't select school side if you are concerned about playground noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond,Surrey
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

I arrived to find that my booking had been "lost". The owner showed me a small room in the courtyard which I took for want of an alternative. The room (Room 1) was clean but basic with poor lighting, little natural light and a reasonably comfortable bed. The shower room was just adequate. Breakfast was OK but again the choice was limited. Location is excellent - just across the river from the Cathedral and main museums.

Room Tip: The rooms in the courtyard to be avoided.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

The room is super clean and with all comforts. The staff is really really nice and the location is perfect to visit the city center. Excellent! I want to go back soon and next time we'll try also the breakfast :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
111 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Stayed in this hotel August 2012. My family and I had not booked a place in advance so we were worried when all the budget chain hotels told us they were booked. The owner, Patrick, was awesome and showed us our room before we decided to stay! It was very cheap, the breakfast was great and was in a fantastic location. Staff also gave us great recommendations for dinner! Loved this place and have recommended to others.

Room Tip: If you ask, they show you rooms before you book to make sure you like it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, New York
Level Contributor
45 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We stayed in this small, comfortable hotel in 2012. the hotel is located on a quiet side street just across the canal,away from the hustle and bustle of the main tourist area. We took Bus 10 from the train station to a stop one block from the hotel. A tram stop also is several blocks away and the walk to the train station takes about 20 minutes.

During our five day stay, all of the staff at the front desk were pleasant and very helpful. On arrival we received a map and plenty of suggestions about places to visit in the city. We were given good suggestions for restaurants and the location of a self-service laundry.

Our reservation indicated that we had a small room, and it was. But the room was neat and clean, with open cabinets for hanging clothes and also shelves. The bed was comfortable. Our room was located at the rear of the hotel and was very quiet ( both day and night). We had a restful sleep with open windows.

The only negative we advise about is the size of the bathroom in a small room. In this small room, the bathroom is equally small and might be an uncomfortable fit for a large person. However, the bathroom was spotlessly clean, had modern facilities, and had adequate light.

Breakfast was an adequate buffet ... better than many other small inns places we have visited in France. The buffet had cereals, some fresh fruit, cheese and meats, and the usual breakfast drinks. In addition, a basket of two croissants and two bread rolls were delivered to our table with coffee and tea.

Adjacent to the breakfast area was a lounge area with a television and several comfortable chairs. The lounge area also had a computer with Internet access and posted charges for its use.

We found this hotel to be well maintained, clean, and comfortable. The hotel staff and owner are very friendly, helpful, and concerned about the comfort of their guests. We were informed in advance of the size of our room when we made our late reservation and that was not a negative for us because we primarily use it only for sleeping. We did notice the hotel has larger rooms with larger bathrooms. We would happily return to stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: We were informed in advance of the size of our room when we made our late reservation and that was n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

This hotel is easily reached by bus from the train station or a short walk from the tram. The main part of Strasbourg is a short walk away. The place is clean and comfortable and even has allergenic rooms available. Great value!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel de l'Ill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de l'Ill

Address: 8 rue des Bateliers, 67000 Strasbourg, France
Location: France > Alsace > Bas-Rhin > Strasbourg > Krutenau Nord Ouest
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 128 Hotels in Strasbourg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel de l'Ill 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small family hotel in the heart of Strasbourg with 27 rooms all equipped (TV / WiFi / private bathroom with shower and hairdryer). Some rooms have air conditioning andothers have a terrace and a bath. All guests have access to a small private courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel de l'Ill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De l Ill
De l Ill Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de l'Ill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.