We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Informative and Interesting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Musee Alsacien

Musee Alsacien
23 - 25 quai St-Nicolas, 67076 Strasbourg, France
+33 3 88 52 50 01
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 64 Attractions in Strasbourg
Type: History Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This museum explores the historic culture of Strasbourg and the rest of Alsace through exhibits of clothing and other household artifacts.
Massillon, Ohio
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Informative and Interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This museum is spread across a large house (actually made up of four houses), and teaches about the Alsacian culture. Everything from dress to work to architecture is addressed in an informative and interesting way. The audio guides are great, and you really learn a lot.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    133
    28
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Otterbach, Germany
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Favorite museum in Strasbourg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

This was a great museum. There are audio and written guides. The audio guides are very extensive. Many of the items on display are included in the audio guide. But my husband and I stuck mainly to the explanations for each room and felt like we were still getting a lot of information. The museum is thoughtfully laid out. It is as much like walking back in time to an actual person's house as can be expected. It was quite interesting, and since the exhibits are shown in their actual environments (houses instead of a sterile museum), there was no need to imagine what it would have been like. You can actually see and experience it. Well worth the time and money.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Go go go”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I will be honest! I am not fan of museums! When I visit a place, I prefer to walk around and not to visit the museums of the city! BUT this museum is worthing a visit. First of all the building of the museum is amazing and the visitor has the time to go around and see how the people in Alsace were living. Visitors can see and read many interesting things of the Alsatian life. I found that museum very interesting and a good introduction for someone interested in history and folklore!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, CA
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
49 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Great place to learn about Alsatians”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Cute and unimposing museum about the Alsatians, their folk art, way of life and clothing...kind of reminded me of the costumes from a scene in "The Others" movie.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vero beach, FL
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Fun way to learn about the area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

This is an enjoyable museum. There are English audio guides and a written guide as well. Many historical samples of life in the Alsace region, furnishings, costumes, toys, actual rooms from houses were on display. I would have liked more historical information, but this museum was a fun presentation of what living conditions and traditions were.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Musee Alsacien also viewed

 

Been to Musee Alsacien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Musee Alsacien, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.