We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good 4 star hotel in historic centre” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Regent Petite France & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Save
You added Regent Petite France & Spa to your Saves list
Regent Petite France & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 rue des Moulins, 67000 Strasbourg, France (Petite France Centre)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 130 Hotels in Strasbourg
London, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Good 4 star hotel in historic centre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is well located in the old town, a short walk to the Musée d'Art Moderne et Contemporaine, but not so near the main attractions of the cathedral and the Palais de Rohan. It is situated on a canal, which makes for a pleasant setting as do the surrounding, quaint buildings. The hotel has had a modern fit out and a new wellness centre is due in December 2013 (we missed it). The rooms are spacious and modern. The wifi is free and of reasonable reliability. If you are having breakfast in the room, then I recommend going down to the buffet. We had breakfast in the room one day (which we generally prefer) and in the dining room the other. In the room, for €46, we got two small bread rolls each, a miniature croissant and a miniature vienoisserie, a small glass of orange juice and a hot drink. Apparently to have fruit would have been an extra €5 each. The buffet had more on offer and the quality was good. The front desk staff were very good to us and went above and beyond the call of duty by calling lots of restaurants when we were struggling to make bookings. Their restaurant recommendations were good. Book ahead if you want one of the better-rated Strasbourg restaurants on Saturday night and be prepared for most places to be closed on Sunday night.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    176
    37
    12
    7
See reviews for
87
267
11
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

If you find yourselves in Strasbourg, definitely try to book a room at the Regent Petite-France. It is spectacularly located alongside the canals, and it is a historic mill beautifully renovated to the most modern standards. The staff is exceptionally helpful and friendly. Just a perfect way to enjoy Europe!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We had a superb modern room with excellent bathroom facilities and were very comfortable the young men in the entrance were helpful in every way but but the reception was frequently too busy and one staff member did not have very good English comprehension. We stayed 4 nights and the lovely hotel restaurant was closed on two of those nights. We felt this was not good enough. It was often quite a walk to the recommended restaurants and some were hard to find.however despite all this Strasbourg is a fantastic place to visit and we did love the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

The fact that the hotel is a converted mill may put some off, but it has been tastefully decorated in a minimalist design, with excellent modern bathroom fittings.
Location is ideal as some excellent buildings and restaurants are found within a hundred meter radius. But the highlight is the friendly and attractive receptionist/concierge. Marian, if you're reading this, thanks so much for your excellent recommendations. They all worked out fine, merci beau coup!

Room Tip: Rooms 405 and 406 are on the fourth floor and require a flight of stairs up from the third floor, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I loved the old city of Strasbourg, and one could not get a better location than this modernist hotel perched over a canal in the old city. Strasbourg was hit hard in WII, but the old city survived, and you're in the middle of it here. My single room (why do we always get shortchanged?) was pretty small, but overlooked a canal and the view was very pretty. My favorite moment was the recommendation by the concierge of a canal tour and a dinner in an local Alsace bistro. Superb. It's not easy to find a family restaurant that is comfortable with the singe traveler, and this was special.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mo i Rana, Norway
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

The hotel is perfectly located in the old Petite France district of Strasbourg, on the banks of the river Ill and close to the locks. Lots of restaurants in the neighbourhood and walking distance to most of the attractions.
My wife and I traveled with our grown-up daughter and had booked a Junior Suite for 3 nights. We got a spacious duplex on the top floor with an extra bed in an open, loft-type room above the main room. Great views, but it was a bit ruined by construction work on both sides of the hotel.
Good first impression with a friendly reception. The luggage were brought to our room, which was good because the lift didn’t go all the way up and we had to use the stairs from the floor below.
The room had a rustic style with exposed beams from the original building. It seemed a bit worn and poorly maintained, with loose sockets and crooked cabinet doors.
In a suite you expect to find more than just two small armchairs, and a coffee / tea maker is also common. Lovely bathroom and a large separate toilet room, but unfortunately no wash basin in the toilet room. Large bath tub, but no glass wall or shower curtain, and there were no place on the wall to hang the shower head. Impossible to take a shower without flooding the bathroom floor or soaking the towels. Annoying and stupid. The A/C had acceptable capacity, but the bedroom upstairs became quite hot at night, even though there was a fan in the ceiling. Free Wi-Fi was unstable and slow in our room, and you had to get one access code for each computer or smartphone. The last day of our stay the lift was out of order. OK breakfast room with a nice terrace by the locks, but the breakfast is not worth 23 euro.
We got our room at a reduced price, but even then it was quite expensive in relation to the quality. The hotel is good, and the location is perfect and very special, but in my opinion the normal price is way too high.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We were fortunate to be upgraded to a junior suite. It was really very very nice. The room was very nicely done and so was the WC and the bath. The breakfast was lovely and so was the setting right on the river. The service was very good and the hotel is beautifully set in the lovely petit France area. The centre is a little distance away but not that far.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Regent Petite France & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regent Petite France & Spa

Address: 5 rue des Moulins, 67000 Strasbourg, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Alsace > Bas-Rhin > Strasbourg > Petite France Centre
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Spa
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Strasbourg
#6 Luxury Hotel in Strasbourg
#7 Family Hotel in Strasbourg
#8 Romantic Hotel in Strasbourg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Regent Petite France & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline, Splendia, getaroom.com, Escapio, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Otel, Fastbooking, Hotel.de and Tingo so you can book your Regent Petite France & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Petite France
Regent Hotel Petite France
Regent Strasbourg
Strasbourg Regent

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Regent Petite France & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.