We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Musee d'Art Moderne et Contemporain

Musee d'Art Moderne et Contemporain
1, place Hans Jean Arp, 67000 Strasbourg, France
33 03 88 23 31 31
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 64 Attractions in Strasbourg
Type: Art Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This museum's impressive collection includes works by Rodin, Degas and others.
St. John's, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I was not too impressed with the collection of this museum. The one that was current when we visited in April 2013 was definitely not my cup of tea - things like a recreated refrigerator. I didn't find it challenging or provocative in any way. The permanent collection was a bit better, but again, did not excite. There are some big names - Henry Moore, Picasso, Kandinsky - but nothing of theirs was outstanding either. The space is lovely, bright and open. The restaurant was good value - the plat de jour was 12 euros, and large enough to completely fill up my husband's stomach! There's a small librarie with some nice books, good ones for children too.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    63
    35
    12
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Small but qualitative collection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Great building with a perfect statue of a horse on top. The permanent collection is well put together and the modern one can host some excellent collection at times

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordeaux, France
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Worth a visit!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

The building itself is impressive. The collection of modern art is quite good--especially for a regional museum--and is shown in an interesting way--by theme. The contemporary art is disappointing, but this probably says more about me than it does the art.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Uh...no”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I had this on my list because of the Kandinsky tiles. Enjoyed seeing them but all I can say about this museum is meh. Second and third tier works by contemporary masters. Some fun avant garde installations but basically just an overpriced diversion. Historical museums in Strasbourg a much better bet.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sibiu, Romania
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

It is nice to wake up in the morning with a view of this museum, separated from La Petit France by the river and Pont Couvert. There is also a nice caffe bar

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Musee d'Art Moderne et Contemporain also viewed

 
Strasbourg, Bas-Rhin
 

Been to Musee d'Art Moderne et Contemporain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Musee d'Art Moderne et Contemporain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.