We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An interesting place to stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Chateau de Pourtales

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Chateau de Pourtales to your Saves list
Hotel Chateau de Pourtales
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   161 Rue Melanie, 67000 Strasbourg, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 128 Hotels in Strasbourg
Certificate of Excellence
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
115 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“An interesting place to stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We were looking for a place that was not in downtown Strasbourg. This property is located in the middle of a park in the suburbs. It is an old, grand chateau that has had several lives, including use as a residence for the German occupiers in WWII. Today, the owners use the property as a hotel, an event locale, and they run educational programs for US college students. Our room was on the 3rd floor, large, bright and lovely. There is no elevator or air conditioning and we arrived in a hot spell. We did have nice windows and a fan! Our room included breakfast that was adequate.
As others have noted, public transportation is not close. We drove about a mile to a free parking lot and took the tram into town. Perfect!
There is a lovely restaurant on the edge of the park within easy walking distance where we had two fabulous meals!

Room Tip: There is no elevator so getting to the rooms could be difficult for those with mobility issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    33
    16
    6
    4
See reviews for
16
57
5
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
istanbul
Level Contributor
110 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I have stayed this hotel on a short trip to Strasbourg. first of all you must have a car for this hotel,it is not convenient to reach this hotel with public transport.
Hotel is in a very quiet and peaceful location within a nice and large park.
Breakfast should be improves variety is limited for the price I have paid.
Service is limited until 22.00 only.

Room Tip: I stayed at room 5 which was ok, I think they are more or less all almost the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Being in Strasbourg for a couple of days we searched for a hotel outside downtown and we found this place in the middle of a park, lovely location.
Very quiet and peaceful location. Prices were a bargain for a place like this.
European style rooms, clean and recent remodeled.
Very good breakfast, good variety of meats, cheese, fruits and so on.
About 15 minutes of driving from downtown - Place Kleber.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, MD
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We had read the reviews before booking this hotel and booked our room directly with them. It was very disappointing to be placed in one of their smallest rooms, Room 19, in the annex, not in the chateau. The hotel was mostly empty, so this was even more inexplicable. The bathroom was so small that the door wouldn't close with the bathmat on the floor. The towels were threadbare and housekeeping was haphazard. We were startled to discover one morning as we returned from the continental breakfast in the main building, that the housekeeping had thrown the dirty linens from the rooms they were cleaning down the stairway, mostly blocking our access to our second floor room. We had to step on them!

The setting and location were nice, but less impressive in winter.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Friendly and helpful reception. Stayed in room 201 on the corner of the main building and it was MASSIVE. The bathroom was even big enough to park a car in. Clean, elegant, newly refurbished. Slept like a log in the huge bed. The bed was two singles pushed together though, not a normal queen/king for 2 people. Breakfast was GREAT. The only place to have a meal within walking distance though is a restaurant at the entry to the hotel, but we found this only ok (but didn't have much choice!). We were the only ones in there and there was zero ambience (not even background music?!). Food was ok and the waiter was friendly, price was reasonable. Menu only in french.
The park where this Château is located is well worth a stroll through - there are about a dozen art pieces dotted throughout the walkways and an info-book describing each piece in your room.
Note: the hotel often hosts younger guests from overseas studying business and/or catering etc. Mainly from Canada and USA. Sometimes they can be a little loud (apparently), but we didn't hear them during our 2 night stay.

We highly recommend this Château and will be back again in the future.

PS: Make sure to take the Wine Route down from Strasbourg to Colmar (in Autumn if you can!).

PPS: To get to the city, walk 10mins to the roundabout, get on bus 15 in bound, and less than 10mins later get off at the Tram "E" where this tram will take you into the eastern edge of town. We walked all the way to the tram stop through some parks (30mins from the hotel in total) and saved the 1,60€ bus fee. From the tram stop, get a 6€ "Trios" card (for up to 3 people all day long on all buses and trams).

Room Tip: Room 201 in the "main building" (corner room) was bloody huge, and recently refurbished...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We came to the chateau by chance when our original B&B double booked. What a lucky break it turned out to be. The Chateau is in a large park in the northern suburbs. A park and ride is a few minutes away to get to the city centre. Our room was spacious and comfortable. Breakfast the next morning was a buffet continental. The hotel staff were welcoming and helpful and spoke good English. Normally you pay a premium for such a place but at 80 Euro this was a bargain.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is built inside a mension, a beutiful old mension. It consists of several buildings and is sorroumded by a lovely green natural park.we stayed in one of the chalet buildings in a room overlooking the park. The room itself was of nice size, clean and had twin beds joined to form one big bed. We didn't have a.c. but the fan provided was more then enough. The hotel offers free parking if you arrive by car and is also serviced by a bus that comes every 15 minutes. You can accses the city by taking either thebus or by using the park and ride system which lets you leave your car in a parking lot and ride the tram to the city center, all for 3.5 euros per car. It is a 10 minutes commute, so very close with the tram.
The hotel is great, the staff is welcoming and nice and it is not far from the city center. What's not to like?

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Strasbourg hotels
Hotel des Princes
#18 of 128 in Strasbourg
4.0 of 5 stars 151 reviews
Chateau de L'ile
#1 of 6 in Ostwald
4.0 of 5 stars 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Petite France Nord Est
Hotel Le Bouclier d'Or
Hotel Le Bouclier d'Or
#4 of 128 in Strasbourg
4.5 of 5 stars 228 reviews
Hotel Villa d'Est
#17 of 128 in Strasbourg
4.0 of 5 stars 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chateau de Pourtales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chateau de Pourtales

Address: 161 Rue Melanie, 67000 Strasbourg, France
Location: France > Alsace > Bas-Rhin > Strasbourg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 128 Hotels in Strasbourg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Chateau de Pourtales 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly opened Hotel Château de Pourtalés is nestled gracefully in a lush and peaceful park setting just 5 kilometers from the center of one of Europe’s most dynamic and multi-cultural cities, Strasbourg (public bus to the city center close-by). The hotel has a 3-star standard and is located in the chalet-style building next to the main building. It offers 18 charming and tastefully decorated rooms with all modern conveniences and free internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel Chateau de Pourtales reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Chateau de Pourtales, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.