We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a first-timer to Strasbourg” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vendome

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Vendome to your Saves list
Hotel Vendome
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9, place de la Gare, 67000 Strasbourg, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 128 Hotels in Strasbourg
Certificate of Excellence
NY
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect for a first-timer to Strasbourg”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

All the reviews are spot on. Very nice clean budget hotel located 100 yards from the train station. Very nice staff. Luggage storage for free. Nice beds and larger than expected room. Quiet even with the windows wide open. Lot of food options nearby.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    57
    9
    1
    4
See reviews for
13
39
16
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Stayed on this hotel for 2 nights after long drive from Switzerland. Located close to railway station and cathedral area. Greeted by friendly receptionist who spoke very good English. We were given map for local area and ticket for nearby car park which gave good reduction on parking fee. Room spacious with large comfortable bed. Bathroom with toiletries. No tea making facilities. Opted for breakfast which was very basic continental. Waitress very pleasant. I would compare this hotel to a Travelodge with a more personal atmosphere. Excellent if on a budget and a great location to explore the beautiful city of Strasbourg. Would use again

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

I stayed at the Hotel Vendome for two nights during May, and I really liked it! The lady at the desk gave me a map and solid directions once I'd checked in, so I was able to find my way to the city square quite easily. It's a budget hotel, but I found everything very satisfying; the room was quite large, and had a nice view of the station. Speaking of which, it's literally a one minute walk from it! Very handy if you have an early/late train.

It's about a 10-15 minute walk to the cathedral from the hotel, but I like to walk so it didn't bother me. There are closer options, yes, but if you want a quality place to stay then I would definitely recommend Hotel Vendome. Very good!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, UK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

This hotel is in an excellent location just 2 minutes walk from Strasbourg station. It was perfect for our one day family stopover to see the sights in Strasbourg. The room was a little basic but certainly comfortable and very clean, and the bathroom and toilet were a good size and had been recently refurbished to a high standard. The free wifi was very useful and we found the hotel to be very quiet despite its location near the station. The reception staff were friendly and helpful and are on hand 24 hours a day, which was helpful as we had to leave very early. The only downsides to this hotel is the need to climb some steps to enter - not the easiest situation with luggage and children in buggies. The lift is also the smallest I've ever been in - it will take 3 at a push but if you've a lot of luggage you may find you are making quite a few journeys to move everything! And it isn't much fun if you're claustrophobic.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bulkington Warks
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

This hotel is just across the square and just 2mins walk away from the station. The staff speak perfect English, the rooms are very cleans and are of a reasonable size with very good Wi-Fi access. A good 2star budget hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms to the rear are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

We were looking for a hotel that wasn't cheap and nasty but that was convenient and good value for money. We were only staying one night as we passed through so couldn't care for frills and all that Jazz. The recommendations for Hotel Vendome on TA were reasonably positive and we felt it was good enough for what we needed.

We were pleasantly surprised, it was a cute little local hotel, that we felt was excellent value. It is in a very good location, a short walk to La Petit France, close to restaurants and for those travelling via train, it is conveniently over the road.

We were welcomed by a very friendly staff member who checked us in with no fuss, assisted us with internet and provided us with a map to see the sights.

Our room was very spacious, comfortable, clean and had a tiny balcony which allowed for some fresh air, sun light and a great way to see whats happening around the place. Ideal for what we paid for and highly recommended as it catered to all our needs.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn, Germany
Level Contributor
140 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

This hotel is one of a string of hotels surrounding the station. Thus, if you travel by train, finding this hotel at whatever time of day should not be a problem, as will see the sign as soon as you leave the station. If you decide to drive to Strasbourg, you can park at a 24/7 multi-level parking facility that's a few hundred meters from the hotel. Before you pay for parking, don't forget to ask the people at reception for a discount card that lets you park at the facility for only EUR 7,40 per day.

The area around a train station tends not to be very pretty in most cases, and Strasbourg is no exception. Nevertheless, the neighborhood seemed quite safe and convenient, with shops and major sites (such as La Petite France) being within walking distance from the hotel. Just watch out for the road work, as there seems to be a lot of this going on in Strasbourg right now, including on the street where the hotel is located.

Most rooms face the street, but if you keep your windows shut during the night, the noise should be tolerable. The lights on the street (e.g., from the McDonalds near the hotel) can disrupt sleep, so don't forget to draw the curtains before you go to bed.

The room is spacious for a two-star hotel, and while the decor and furnishings were simple, they were not cheap looking. What I liked best about the room was its functional design. There were enough corners where you could put your stuff down and power outlets were very smartly located (e.g., there was one by the headboard, near the light switch).

Breakfast is not included in the room rate, but you're in France, so enjoy and explore the innumerable cafés and boulangeries around town!

Room Tip: If you're sensitive to noise, choose a room that does not face the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Strasbourg hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Monopole Metropole
0.1 mi away
Ibis Strasbourg Centre Gare
Ibis Strasbourg Centre Gare
#42 of 128 in Strasbourg
4.0 of 5 stars 567 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Strasbourg Centre Ponts Couverts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Cour du Corbeau Strasbourg - MGallery Collection
0.1 mi away
Mercure Strasbourg Centre Petite France
0.0 mi away
Le Grand Hotel
Le Grand Hotel
#68 of 128 in Strasbourg
3.5 of 5 stars 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vendome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vendome

Address: 9, place de la Gare, 67000 Strasbourg, France
Location: France > Alsace > Bas-Rhin > Strasbourg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 128 Hotels in Strasbourg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vendome 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Vendome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Vendome, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.