We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vendome

Hotel Vendome
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Vendome to your Saves list
Hotel Vendome
9, place de la Gare, 67000 Strasbourg, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 130 Hotels in Strasbourg
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Stayed on this hotel for 2 nights after long drive from Switzerland. Located close to railway station and cathedral area. Greeted by friendly receptionist who spoke very good English. We were given map for local area and ticket for nearby car park which gave good reduction on parking fee. Room spacious with large comfortable bed. Bathroom with toiletries. No tea making facilities. Opted for breakfast which was very basic continental. Waitress very pleasant. I would compare this hotel to a Travelodge with a more personal atmosphere. Excellent if on a budget and a great location to explore the beautiful city of Strasbourg. Would use again

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    48
    6
    0
    2
See reviews for
11
30
14
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

I stayed at the Hotel Vendome for two nights during May, and I really liked it! The lady at the desk gave me a map and solid directions once I'd checked in, so I was able to find my way to the city square quite easily. It's a budget hotel, but I found everything very satisfying; the room was quite large, and had a nice view of the station. Speaking of which, it's literally a one minute walk from it! Very handy if you have an early/late train.

It's about a 10-15 minute walk to the cathedral from the hotel, but I like to walk so it didn't bother me. There are closer options, yes, but if you want a quality place to stay then I would definitely recommend Hotel Vendome. Very good!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, UK
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

This hotel is in an excellent location just 2 minutes walk from Strasbourg station. It was perfect for our one day family stopover to see the sights in Strasbourg. The room was a little basic but certainly comfortable and very clean, and the bathroom and toilet were a good size and had been recently refurbished to a high standard. The free wifi was very useful and we found the hotel to be very quiet despite its location near the station. The reception staff were friendly and helpful and are on hand 24 hours a day, which was helpful as we had to leave very early. The only downsides to this hotel is the need to climb some steps to enter - not the easiest situation with luggage and children in buggies. The lift is also the smallest I've ever been in - it will take 3 at a push but if you've a lot of luggage you may find you are making quite a few journeys to move everything! And it isn't much fun if you're claustrophobic.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bulkington Warks
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

This hotel is just across the square and just 2mins walk away from the station. The staff speak perfect English, the rooms are very cleans and are of a reasonable size with very good Wi-Fi access. A good 2star budget hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms to the rear are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

We were looking for a hotel that wasn't cheap and nasty but that was convenient and good value for money. We were only staying one night as we passed through so couldn't care for frills and all that Jazz. The recommendations for Hotel Vendome on TA were reasonably positive and we felt it was good enough for what we needed.

We were pleasantly surprised, it was a cute little local hotel, that we felt was excellent value. It is in a very good location, a short walk to La Petit France, close to restaurants and for those travelling via train, it is conveniently over the road.

We were welcomed by a very friendly staff member who checked us in with no fuss, assisted us with internet and provided us with a map to see the sights.

Our room was very spacious, comfortable, clean and had a tiny balcony which allowed for some fresh air, sun light and a great way to see whats happening around the place. Ideal for what we paid for and highly recommended as it catered to all our needs.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn, Germany
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

This hotel is one of a string of hotels surrounding the station. Thus, if you travel by train, finding this hotel at whatever time of day should not be a problem, as will see the sign as soon as you leave the station. If you decide to drive to Strasbourg, you can park at a 24/7 multi-level parking facility that's a few hundred meters from the hotel. Before you pay for parking, don't forget to ask the people at reception for a discount card that lets you park at the facility for only EUR 7,40 per day.

The area around a train station tends not to be very pretty in most cases, and Strasbourg is no exception. Nevertheless, the neighborhood seemed quite safe and convenient, with shops and major sites (such as La Petite France) being within walking distance from the hotel. Just watch out for the road work, as there seems to be a lot of this going on in Strasbourg right now, including on the street where the hotel is located.

Most rooms face the street, but if you keep your windows shut during the night, the noise should be tolerable. The lights on the street (e.g., from the McDonalds near the hotel) can disrupt sleep, so don't forget to draw the curtains before you go to bed.

The room is spacious for a two-star hotel, and while the decor and furnishings were simple, they were not cheap looking. What I liked best about the room was its functional design. There were enough corners where you could put your stuff down and power outlets were very smartly located (e.g., there was one by the headboard, near the light switch).

Breakfast is not included in the room rate, but you're in France, so enjoy and explore the innumerable cafés and boulangeries around town!

Room Tip: If you're sensitive to noise, choose a room that does not face the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Stayed here for one night at the end of August 2013. Great location right opposite the train station, very friendly and helpful staff, good wifi. Our room faced the train station and the main road yet we heard absolutely no noise as the windows are of superior quality. Beds were comfortable and the bathroom modern and clean. Booked online and saved 10 euros off published price. Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a very reasonably priced centrally located hotel. Will stay there again if we return to Strasbourg.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Vendome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vendome

Address: 9, place de la Gare, 67000 Strasbourg, France
Location: France > Alsace > Bas-Rhin > Strasbourg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 130 Hotels in Strasbourg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Vendome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Vendome, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.