We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Europe zig zag travel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of ETC Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added ETC Hotel to your Saves list
ETC Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7 rue de la chaine, 67000 Strasbourg, France (Petite France Nord Est)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #65 of 130 Hotels in Strasbourg
Lisbon, Portugal
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Europe zig zag travel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

Definitely one of the best small hotels where i stay until know. Staff very friendly, nice room, nice food, there are a parking in Gutenberg square at about 3 min walking from the hotel.
The hotel its located next to the cathedral and the Petit-France.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    47
    25
    10
    6
See reviews for
20
32
14
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Retford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

A very stylish hotel in the reception and breakfast area that would never have guessed from the outside. It is clear that this hotel has just been finished. Rooms small and cheaply furnished but OK. Shower curtain was so long that you were standing on it in the shower and was still wet from the night before. Breakfast was very good. All in all, good for a one night stay. Price very reasonable and brilliantly located near teh cathedral.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2010

Just in the center of everything. A nice, small hotel, it is worth the stay because of its location. It has free internet. We didn't have breakfast in the hotel because just outside you can find bakeries and cafes. We had a very small room, with a comfortable bed, but the sound isolation is not the best so we could hear our neighbors come in and out all night. Nice decoration, each room has its own name. We booked here because we had already stayed at the Kleber hotel, great hotel, but because of the Christmas market it was full, so they recommended Etc. Same idea but not exactly the same thing. Personnel was, in general, nice and helpful. Small communication problem as we had already paid the night before leaving and the next morning the person at the reception did not know and we had to show him the receipt. But overall not bad.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2009

The hotel itself isn't too fancy, and a little bit 'compressed'. But for the price you pay you get a nice stylish hotel, very close to the center, and for a very cheap price.
The only thing that can be a problem is the parking. The hotel doesn't have any parking place, and we had to park outside the old city in order to avoid the outrageous prices in the old city parking places.

Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2008

After looking at many hotels in the city of Strasbourg this one came up as one of the better choices price-quality wise.

The location is excellent, directly in the center of the city at just 5 minutes away from the Cathedral and Petite France.
With a very kind staff and a good breakfast this hotel could be a winner, sadly several items were disappointing.

- during our 4 nights the room was cleaned but the sheets were never changed
- the electrical plugs were hanging out of the wall which is very dangerous, especially to small children
- the bedside table was lying on the ground while it should have been attached to the wall
- our room was very small, a bit too small for 2 people. Even though we asked for a larger one, considering we would be staying there 4 nights, this request was ignored
- parking space is a nightmare, the only option is to use an underground nearby. You get a discount but adding this cost to the charge per night and the complementary breakfast (8 euro pp) the total becomes excessive considering the quality you get.

Next time, we would elect to stay in a hotel on the outskirts of the city as the towncentre is easy to reach on foot or by public transport.

All in all it looked like a winner but never reached our expectations.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Room size and comfort
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baton rouge, la
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2006

Nestled in the tiny rue de la cheine 2-3 blocks from the city center nightlife and the catherdral. Room was spacoius enough- had to climb lots of stairs but it was fun. Price was right and loved the area architecture - Good memories! Strasbourg is a must visit !

[----------------------------]

  • Liked — Location, Price
  • Tips/Secrets — They have parking which is a premium in Europe!
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to ETC Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ETC Hotel

Address: 7 rue de la chaine, 67000 Strasbourg, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Alsace > Bas-Rhin > Strasbourg > Petite France Nord Est
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 130 Hotels in Strasbourg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — ETC Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your ETC Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ETC Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.