We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Clairiere

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added La Clairiere to your Saves list
La Clairiere
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   63 Route D'Ingwiller, 67290 La Petite Pierre, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Pulborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Great spa in a wonderful location within the Voges mountains. The facilities are very good, the rooms spacious, staff helpful and attentive and the food was inventive. Many places will take your cases when you arrive, here they took our bikes off to a secure store and brought them out when we needed them! A lovely local village enhanced the setting and the locals are very friendly.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have a better view over the forest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    135
    63
    19
    6
See reviews for
27
227
27
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dilbeek
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We were quite disappointed by our stay at La Clairière. The Spa is excellent and their personnel very nice and professional but the stay we booked was definitely too expensive for what we received in return. The food was OK but not impressive at all when we compare it to our first bio hotel experience in Italy (Theiner's Garten). The flowers on the tables were not looking fresh at all. The welcome cocktail (a strawberry drink) was not more than two sips. The hotel advertises all kinds of activities included the "pure relaxation" program but when we arrived there was 1 yoga session planned for Sunday morning at 9 AM and the same program for Monday morning. When we left on Tuesday, the swimmingpool was closed for maintenance works...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laclairiere, Propriétaire at La Clairiere, responded to this review, March 15, 2015
Thank you very much for your feedback on your stay and are sorry that we did not fulfill your expectations. We do propose at least one activity a day, either yoga, Qi Gong, nordic walking. We are sorry the swimming was closed on your departure day. However, as we do have two swimming pools, there is always the option to use the other pool.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Thé perfect place for business as well as relax and détoxiques stay. Wonderfull location and very well equipped hôtel. Young spirit meets traditional alsacian style. I'll come again, with family or friends.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

From the beginning to the end our stay was perfect.
Friendly staff, clean comfortable room, great food and beautiful walks in the forest.
And on top of all of that an amazing spa with a heavenly treatment.
Already booked for next year!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I am a pharmacist who is passionate about other traditional healthcare systems. In my spare time I study and practice arts like Ayurveda, Yoga, Taichi, Bagua and Chi Kung. Last year I felt drained and fatigued with my hectic lifestyle in the big city and upon a friend's advice decided to pay La Clairiere a visit. Even before arriving at the hotel I was absorbed by the picturesque and breathtaking scenery and flora this hotel was located within. The freshness of the air filled my heart with contentment and calmed my mind. I knew then that I had made the right choice but still could not have expected what was to follow.
Upon arrival I was made to feel welcome and given a brief tour of the place. Later in the day I decided to receive some holistic TCM and Ayurvedic treatments the hotel had to offer. Having studied and received these treatments before in their native lands I actually expected it to be bit of a disappointment, but to my surprise the treatments were traditionally authentic, customized to the individual's needs and provided by highly skilled practitioners. High level of hygiene and cleanliness standards were maintained, which is always not the case in places like China and India. These holistic treatments really sets this hotel apart from other such places that I have visited.
The hotel also provides other large variety of activities and facilities such as hiking, trekking, biking, yoga courses, meditation, and a modern gymnasium to name a few. If you get tired from any of the activities I recommend using the heated outdoor hydrotherapy pool. After swimming in this pool all the fatigue and tiredness in my body seemed to melt away.If the weather is bad there is also an indoor swimming pool. Also try the sauna overlooking the forest of Vosges Du Nord. If you are into sightseeing their are plenty of museums, chateaux and caves in the local area to visit, which the hotel staff are more than happy to guide you to. The forests of Vosges Du Nord are themselves classified as a UNESCO Biosphere Reserve site.
Being a vegan and a keen traveller, food is often one part of my holidays that I always seem to struggle with but this was not the case at La Clairiere. This hotel believes in providing personalized care to their customers regarding not only the holistic treatments they take but also the food they eat. There is no rigidity when it comes to customer care. The staff are always willing to listen and eager to help. All the meals were organic, sumptuous and pleasing to the taste buds. I got the feeling that at this hotel everyone from the proprietor to general staff takes great pride in providing their customers with an experience of a lifetime. The rooms are spacious, clean and with free Wifi. Room service is excellent and prompt.
Although a long weekend I spent in this place was not enough to experience all the glory and pleasures of this area, or the facilities and luxuries provided by this hotel but it for sure left my mind clearer, my body healthier, and my senses heightened. I felt ready and equipped to face the stresses of life again but also a little sad to leave this place. I definitely plan to visit this hotel again and hopefully not in too distant a future. I am taking time out to write this review because of the memorable experience La Clairiere provided me with, and would like my family, friends and others who read this review to experience the same. I recommend this place to everyone, as this will be an experience to remember but definitely not one that should be missed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Only 450 km from Ghent makes this place the perfect spot for a short wellness & health break. I had the 'detox'-package of 4 days. I wanted to make a good start of the spring season, to recover from all winter excesses and to clean my head and body ! Friendly staff, excellent (bio) food (the chef himself came to ask if everything was fine and if I had special wishes), lots of healthy drinks and a very nice environment for cycling or hiking. The treatments were fine and I even had the possibility to change one of the treatments for another one. The rooms are fine but not 'wow'.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

My wife is from this part of France and we have been going to La Clairiere for years. It's definitely worth a visit if you are travelling along the border between France and Germany. We love that this is a family-run hotel where everyone really makes sure you have a good experience. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, but it's the spa and restaurant that make the place special.

Room Tip: The suites are very comfortable. Get a room with good ventilation in the summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Clairiere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Clairiere

Address: 63 Route D'Ingwiller, 67290 La Petite Pierre, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Alsace > Bas-Rhin > La Petite Pierre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in La Petite Pierre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Clairiere 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Clairière is a wellness hotel situated in the heart of the forest of La Petite Pierre (Alsace, France) that pampers its guests with holistic spa treatments and activities destined to improve their vitality in a unique, peaceful environment. The essence of La Clairière is three-fold: Nature, Energy and Inspiration. La Clairière’s mission is to provide a venue in complete harmony with nature. This atmosphere gently enables guests to leave their daily routine and stress behind so that they may renew, boost and enhance their energy. It is an inspirational place that instills new, healthier living habits. La Clairière offers: • An exceptional natural environment in the heart of the Parc Naturel des Vosges du Nord• ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Escapio and Priceline so you can book your La Clairiere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Clairiere Petite Pierre
La Clairiere Hotel Petite Pierre

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Clairiere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.