We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No warning” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Turenne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Turenne to your Saves list
Hotel Turenne
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10, route de Bale, 68000 Colmar, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 39 Hotels in Colmar
Concord, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“No warning”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Staff was nice. Hotel was decently clean. Upon arrival we discovered the air conditioning was not working. We had no warning and a miserable night. Hotel is on a busy street and the outside noise was constant throughout the night. It was especially bad because we had to leave the window open. Our room was extremely small even though it was listed as a triple. Would choose another hotel next time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
turennesa, Directeur général at Hotel Turenne, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Margar3t,
Thank you for your comments.
After a storm our air conditioning burned. We took 15 days to find a rental air conditioning put in place during the repair work. Air conditioning hire in place since 11 July 2013.
This disaster has been very difficult to manage and once again I offer our apologies.
Your room (208) is 18 square meters and totaly new and modern.
I'm really sorry for the problem and once again present our apologies.
We do our best for our customers and the quality (your room was totaly new and modern), but we can do nothing against storms, despite good maintenance.
Accept our apologies.
I personnaly stay at your disposal.
Olivier Glé
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    257
    70
    18
    7
See reviews for
94
231
14
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This hotel was a great value for the money. We opted not to pay for the breakfast, and instead bought croissants and sandwiches at a pâtissière in the downtown area for a little cheaper. The hotel was newly remodeled and was really cute, but did not have a fridge to chill our new wine and the walls were really thin. We woke up several times after 630am to people coming and going from their rooms. The location and price definitely made up for the disturbed sleep, though.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hastings
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Turenne on our first visit to Alsace and found it to be the perfect location to explore both the town itself and the wider region. Although on a main(ish) road into town, the hotel was in fact quiet by day and night and the fact that the Petite Venise area was just around the corner meant we could forget about driving and leave the car safely locked up in the hotel's covered car park. ( It would probably have been just as safe on the neighbouring streets I suspect but I have learned to be a little more cautious after having our car vandalised in Brittany several years ago.) Inside the hotel the staff were both welcoming and efficient and our room clean and comfortable. Breakfast we thought a little expensive until we tried seeking an alternative in the town itself and discovered that high breakfast prices were endemic. But curiously enough only at this time of day- during the evening restaurants offered excellent choice and value and a welcome chance to dine outside to live music and dancing. A further tip :
Strasbourg is only about thirty minutes by frequent train from Colmar - so we were able to explore this most enchanting of cities without having to drive - and come home to the Turenne and its nearby restaurants for supper!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spangdahlem, Germany
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

My family of four spent one night in a family room at Hotel Turenne. The room was very large, and easily could have slept one additional person. Staff were welcoming and friendly, and the location was an easy 5 minute walk to Petite Venise and 10 minutes to the pedestrian zone. However, despite the fact that our room was non-smoking, it smelled as if it was formerly a smoking room that they converted - and not entirely successfully. My husband found the bed extremely uncomfortable, and while the pull-out couch was satisfactory for our young children, I would not recommend it for adults. As with most two-star hotels, the walls were thin, and we could hear our neighbors easily. Breakfast was your standard European continental fare, although it was not included in our room rate of €150/night. Given the cost of other hotels in Colmar, this was not a bad choice, but next time, I think I might splurge a bit and stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darien, Connecticut
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I picked this hotel for the location. It is very clean, very well located for walking to the old town. Great value for the money. Not the most up scale of hotels but I am not sure something in the 4 star range exists in Colmar. That being said we enjoyed our stay and the people at the hotel were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: We asked about parking and even though they had parking the clerk told us where we could get free sa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is not easy to locate if you are coming from the train station, so take a cab there if possible. The front desk staff are friendly and nice, the rooms are clean and newly renovated. Old town is just around the corner. A good choice if visiting Colmar.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NATALBRAZIL
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

The hotel is located 10 minutes walking to the old city, it has a kindly staff, room small but very confortable bed, and it's modern and clean. The bathroom is also small and modern, I think this part of the hotel were renovated recently. The lobby has a classic style and,that is different from the room, but has its charm. I prefered to have breakfast outside, so i don't know if it's good or not, The hotel has a garage that is charged but, near the hotel You will find many free parking lot, so if you don't mind to let the car at the Street as me, that's a good idea to save money. I gave the maximum classification to this hotel because it worth what you pay for it. And it was for me more that i could expect of a 2 star.

Room Tip: As i don't know if all rooms were renovated, when booking, ask for one of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Turenne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Turenne

Address: 10, route de Bale, 68000 Colmar, France
Location: France > Alsace > Haut-Rhin > Colmar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 39 Hotels in Colmar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Turenne 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the center of Colmar and close to the historic district of town called "Little Venice", near the charming and picturesque villages of the region (Kaysersberg, Riquewihr, Eguisheim Turckheim ...), the Hotel Turenne offers a warm and friendly welcome.Our entire team is at your disposal 24/24 and offers 83 air-conditioned rooms tastefully decorated, and a careful and personalized service.Feel free to leave advice from our receptionists to find the restaurant that suits you. The former are located within 2 minutes walk from the hotel, in the "Little Venice".In our lobby, you will discover various tourist brochures and an Internet Point.Our bar is open 7 / 7 until 1am and offers a full menu including the wines of Alsace (glass bottle) of beer and other Alsatian specialties in a cosy atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Turenne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turenne Hotel Colmar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Turenne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.