We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice patisserie” 4 of 5 stars
Review of patisserie Gilg

patisserie Gilg
60 Grand-Rue, Colmar, France
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 204 Restaurants in Colmar
Cuisines: Dessert
Restaurant details
Accra, Ghana
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Nice patisserie”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Located on the older Colmar main street, Gilg is the best patisserie in Colmar. Their speciality is "Macaron" they make the best macaron. They have them in 3 different sizes of packs and flavours; you even get to make a choice for each one in whichever pack you choose. They are quite expensive too but worth the treat. A friend from USA bought 2 packs for his wife as a gift from his stay in Colmar. The staff speaks very well English.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    20
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“AMAZING desserts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

This place is amazing. I came because I wanted to get some inspiration for my macaroons and so I tried their salted caramel (#1 recommendation from the woman working there) and a raspberry vanilla which was so fresh and light. I loved them both and the texture was exactly perfect - crisp outside, but light and delicate that it melts when you bite into it. The fillings were creamy and a nice contrast with flavors still strong enough to pull through and taste really fresh. I was really pleased at the 1.12 euro/macaroon - such a steal!

The patisserie counter is filled with the most gorgeous array of lemon tarts, chocolate mousses, fanciers, eclairs, chocolates, and more. The quality is fantastic and completely worth a stop.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkwall, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Sweet NYE celebrations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We spent New Year's Eve in Colmar, and we had dinner at home. For dessert we bought delicious cakes here. INstead of getting a big cake, we decided to buy different ones of the little ones for one person and then mix and match. They looked and tasted wonderful! Quality/price ratio also definitely ok!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Love this place!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

As a frequent visitor to the wonderful city of Colmar, the Patisserie Gilg is always one stop I’m sure to make.

From wonderful macaroons to indulgent cakes and patisseries it’s a treat to stop in on your way out of the city and to fill up a little blue and brown box with all manner of treats for when you get home.

When visitors come to stay, Colmar is a very popular stop and this shop is gathering quite a reputation with friends and family who always ask to go back to ‘….that cake shop’

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best patisserie in Colmar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We went to this patisserie every morning when in Colmar. We tried few types of pastries and macaron from the patisserie, all of them are really good.. Highly recommended!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed patisserie Gilg also viewed

 
Colmar, Haut-Rhin
 

Been to patisserie Gilg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage patisserie Gilg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.