We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect hotel for a stay in Colmar!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Maison des Tetes

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added La Maison des Tetes to your Saves list
La Maison des Tetes
19, Rue des Tetes, 68000 Colmar, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 37 Hotels in Colmar
New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“The perfect hotel for a stay in Colmar!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

La Maison des Tetes in Colmar was the base for our Alsace vacation. We explored the Alsace Wine Road, took a day trip to Strasbourg, and explored the old inner city of Colmar. The service in the hotel is impeccable and the management multilingual and helpful in every way. We enjoyed a hearty breakfast every day and a wonderful evening meal with the local specialties. Be certain to look at the heads on the facade.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    82
    24
    9
    5
See reviews for
32
140
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Terrigal, Australia
Top Contributor
311 reviews 311 reviews
99 hotel reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
225 helpful votes 225 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Ideal location, very comfortable.


This hotel is in an ideal location for exploring beautiful Colmar on foot.

Combined with free off-street parking, the hotel is actually featured in the tourist walking tour of the city ( No.2 on map).

Family run hotel with friendly and efficient check in/out, really good restaurant recommendations and tourist advice.

Room 109, ( 3 nights) - extremely comfortable with flat screen TV, sofa, desk and chairs - very comfortable bed and 2 pillows (not a big deal unless you are used to sleeping with some sort of support) Bathroom,is very modern with quality toiletries and fluffy towels, excellent water pressure.

The Wi Fi reception - is at best - could be described as inconsistent - (signal not strong enough to allow e-mail communication) we found a more satisfactory and consistent signal at a nearby cafe. Important to us in keeping touch with family and friends.

As other reviewer's have commented the breakfast @ E 15.00 per person - is overpriced. We ate breakfast - once - at the hotel, very pleasant experience -served at table by a very dignified and polite gentleman - freshly squeezed orange juice, yoghurt and selection of croissants/bread and cheese. We are not used to eating - quantity of quality cheeses - at breakfast (the cheese board presented at breakfast is amazing - many varieties) - just couldn't bring ourselves to have breakfast a second time. (breakfast is readily available at nearby Boulangeries at a fraction of the price with a greater choice).

We ate at the Hotel's restaurant one evening, 5 course degustion with accompanying wine. Excellent food quality, brilliant presentation, however, the restaurant was very busy with a large table of customers - unfortunately, the service that was good - was also slow.

In summary, we would recommend MDT because of the exceptionally convenient location and the friendliness and efficiency of staff - would advise avoiding breakfast ( maybe once - for the very pleasant - and elegant experience - Of course all reviews are subjective based upon personal experience -

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Stayed one night at this hotel on way to Italy. Very comfortable and large 3rd floor dual aspect room overlooking the Rue des Tetes and the ancient courtyard. Town centre location with secure private parking to the rear.
Colmar is a very pretty town and this hotel is probably one of the best and well worth choosing for a Colmar experience. Staff were very friendly and helpful.
Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

The location is fantastic- The owners are kind, very helpful, and speak great English. This hotel was the highlight of our trip to Colmar. Colmar itself is nice but, not as charming as the smaller wine villages right down the road. However, this hotel was fantastic--Beautiful architecture, lovely courtyard, and fantastic restaurant on site. The restaurant is owned by the same family and is an upscale French experience. We both enjoyed the tasting menu (5 courses) so we could try several new things. The presentation and service were both great. Parking at the hotel is easy if you know what you're looking for- The parking entrance is the same side of the hotel front entrance, just down a bit with a mall sign directing. How wonderful to have parking at a hotel smack dab in the middle of downtown. Rooms are comfortable with Juliette balconies and shutters opening to the courtyard filled with flowers and vines. Just beautiful! Enjoy!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in the lovely town of Colmar. As we drove into town, all I saw was fairly modern and anonymous -- until we made a turn and found ourselves in the old city, directly in front of Maison des Tetes. It's an amazing, historic structure (I'm told that it's more than 400 years old) that's striking enough for almost every passing tourist to take a photo of it. After finding the free parking lot in the rear, a very friendly reception clerk helped us take our bags in and showed us to our room -- a lovely, beautifully furnished and (almost) fully equipped unit, with copious amounts of wood, as well as a very roomy bathroom, quite large by French standards.

The only thing missing in the room was a teapot with free coffee and tea, such as those often found in more modest hotels. Other than that, everything was fine, though the signal of the free WiFi was a bit weak.

The breakfast (not included in the room rate, much to our chagrin) was scrumptious, featuring large quantities of cheeses, meats and fresh bread along with very good coffee.

All in all, a very pleasant hotel and quite a nice place to spend some time between excursions to neighboring villages along the Alsace Wine Route.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
israel
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

This hotel is in a historic building in the old town of Colmar, with its own free parking, and a wonderful restaurant. It doesn't get much better than this.

Every morning, there were tour groups outside taking pictures of the historic facade, and nearby was a wide selection of stores, restaurants, patisseries, and a giant supermarket. The room was good sized, and quiet as it faces an inner courtyard, and the staff was very helpful. In fact this was the only hotel I remember in France (3 or 4 stars), where someone actually volunteered to help us take our bags to our room.

There were a few negatives - the shower is inconvenient, the breakfast was not worth 15 Euros, and our toilet room was not only seperated from the bathroom, but was completely on the other side of the room and had no sink.

However, on the whole, a very enjoyable stay, and Colmar is a lovely town.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole UK
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

This is one of the best hotels we have stayed in, even better than my expectations. It is historic, elegant, in wonderful condition and our bedroom, room 106, in the newer part of the building was superb with an excellent bathroom. I really cannot fault anything about the hotel.
The only disappointment was breakfast which, compared with the copious buffets we had enjoyed on the journey down at Mercure hotels, was a very meagre affair, unchanged every morning with no choice. At €15 this was not good value.
The hotel location, in the heart of the beautiful old town, was perfect and Colmar is sensationally pretty.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Maison des Tetes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison des Tetes

Address: 19, Rue des Tetes, 68000 Colmar, France
Location: France > Alsace > Haut-Rhin > Colmar
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Colmar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your La Maison des Tetes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Maison Des Tetes Hotel Colmar
La Maison Des Tetes Colmar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Maison des Tetes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.