We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location in Colmar” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Saint Martin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Saint Martin to your Saves list
Hotel Saint Martin
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   38, Grand 'Rue, 68000 Colmar, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Colmar
Prague, Czech Republic
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Best location in Colmar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Perfect locotion for wandering around Colmar. Everything in the center is close. The hotel itself is a bit worn out and dated, however good enough for a night or two. Good breakfast. Rather small rooms in need of refurbishment as well as dated bathrooms. Nice lobby. AC. Parking not far away.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    129
    40
    10
    3
See reviews for
44
159
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

This a lovely hotel is in the heart of Colmar in the Petite Venise region which is full of half timbered houses.
It is located in a small square were parking although nearby can be tricky to find. The receptionist was I believe the owner and she was absolutely charming and helpful She arranged help for us with our luggage we had the cheapest room which was therefore very small. However it was perfectly equipped it was really charming although one would not want to stay there more than one or two nights because of the lack of space. There was free Wi-Fi in the bedroom
We did not stay for breakfast
It is very easy to recommend this charming hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

I found Colmar to be a perfect little town, and perhaps that fact unfairly colors this review. I can (and did) spend many perfectly contented hours wandering the streets around this hotel right smack in the middle of Colmar. Hotel perfectly fits in with the colorfully painted timbered buildings in this area.

Stayed in the suite above the hotel's sign. It was a large room with views out of multiple windows. We'd often look out the window to decide which restaurant to eat dinner at. I don't recall any noise at night, but I am a very heavy sleeper. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom was clean and spacious. Heated towel rack was a nice amenity, but a bit wasted on me.

The hotel seemed to me to be a maze of connected buildings. I suppose each room is pretty distinct, so I'd be careful in ferreting out the details of what you are actually booking. Lots of stairs. Didn't bother me and shouldn't be a surprise to anyone staying in a very old building in the middle of a historic area.

I found the breakfast acceptable but not memorable. But nice ambiance in the breakfast nook. Because of the central location of the hotel there are many other choices. And I do remember cooling my heels one AM (must have been Sunday) waiting for a local cafe to open so I could get my cup of joe. So if you are an early riser or otherwise impatient the breakfast at the hotel might be for you.

Hotel does not have onsite parking. Finding the place was a bit of an adventure for me. I found it implausible that people drove autos on what (to me) clearly seemed like pedestrian walkways. Once I got over that mental block, I dropped off my crew and gear and parked in a public lot several hundred yards away. Inconvenient, I suppose. But until I departed, I had no inclination whatsoever to use my car. So this minor inconvenience was a non-issue for me. If you, however, are planning to explore the country around Colmar by car, you might factor that in.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chagrin Falls, OH
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Hotel Saint Martin is an attractive hotel in a great location. There are many restaurants nearby, and other attractions are a short walk. It's close to both venues for the Colmar International Music Festival, as well as the Unterlinden museum. Beautiful half-timbered buildings line the streets of the entire area. Our "Traditional" double room was rather small, so if size is important you might want to spring for a "Superior" room. The rooms have been nicely renovated, and there is an elevator--but it is still necessary to go up several steps to get to most (if not all) of the rooms. Our room also included a tiny mini-bar with space to keep a few of our own things cold. The air conditioning in our room was rather wimpy, but it did keep the room at a comfortable temperature, given enough time.

Down sides: Parking is a big issue. You can drop off your luggage at the front door, and there is a free city parking lot, about 1/4 mile away, but it is hard to find a space at any hour. The breakfast buffet is exceptional for France, but it is rather expensive--12 Euro per person.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reuver, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

The location is terrific, spot on in the town center. Also the staff at the frontdeskdo everything possible to help you making you feel at home.

The decoration is really "old country style" wich is great in this old hotel.

My only point of critic is that the breakfast is not worth its price of €12,00. However, if you go to Colmar than this is the hotel to book!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

This hotel is right in the middle of Colmar, and it's even got parking within 100 meters. It's ideal, as you can walk to everything in the old center from the hotel. Remember to book as the hotel is popular and it gets booked up quickly. Rooms were quiet looking out to the back courtyard, clean and the shower was a way above standard ! Breakfast was good and the service was friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Can't stress this enough, this is the best location in town. We really enjoyed Riquewihr and Colmar. This hotel is located in the old town section of Colmar. Directly across the street became our local pub spot for beers after a long day of sight seeing and dinner. Beautiful rooms, great staff with some English speaking skills, warm reception. This a rave review. Small hotel with only about a dozen rooms but not small, hotel feels much grander.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the street. Our room number, 304, faced the roof and gave us beautiful vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Saint Martin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saint Martin

Address: 38, Grand 'Rue, 68000 Colmar, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Alsace > Haut-Rhin > Colmar
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Colmar
#5 Romantic Hotel in Colmar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Saint Martin 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Saint Martin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Martin Hotel
Saint Martin Colmar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Saint Martin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.