We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hostellerie le Marechal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hostellerie le Marechal to your Saves list
Hostellerie le Marechal
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4/6 Place des Six Montagnes Noires | Petite Venise, 68000 Colmar, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 39 Hotels in Colmar
Cologne, Germany
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

despite some negative comments, we actually had a really beautiful small room in this hotel with everything we needed. the only thing that scared us was the duck on the small river going crazy in the middle of the night as we like to keep windows open...maybe the duck had an nightmare of getting transformed to colmars famous pate...haha...really, we did really like it and it is just in the medival city center...a good stay...!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    91
    47
    37
    8
See reviews for
42
128
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

Our room was large and comfortable. The jacuzzi tub was wonderful for feet and legs sore from walking. Diner overlooking the canal was a romantic evening to remember. We arrived on the weekend and found parking across the street. Check on paid parking before your stay. There was a beautiful park near Rapp plaza great for walking the dog. Coffee and pastry in the park or on the plaza across from the hotel made a great start to the day.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

This was a great experience in the best location in town. We had the well furnished "Liszt" room, large & airy,with a large modern bathroom. (Pity about the hand shower set which just lay in the bath. Why don't European Hotels have a decent overhead shower?) There is an excellent restaurant on site with very good staff. Easy parking available in the public carpark opposite.
Colmar is a very pretty town & a great base to explore the nearby Alsace wine route.

Room Tip: It seems the best rooms overlook petit venice below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We stayed here for two nights and the location is excellent - right on the edge of the old town and backing onto one of the canals. Having travelled for several days, it was good to be able to park the car up and walk everywhere. There is no parking on site but we managed to get a place on the public parking opposite, this could be a problem in busy times. They requested that we have dinner one evening in their restaurant and it is very picturesque facing out over the canal. We chose one of the fixed price menus which was good, though not outstanding. The wine though was superb. Breakfast on the terrace is excellent with a wide range of choice and good coffee. The rooms are not large, being in an old building but it did have a fridge - unfortunately packed with unwanted mini bottles. There is air conditioning which was very quiet and free wifi is provided the TV package is basic with CNN being the only English channel. The staff were all very attentive, polite and helpful.This is really a restaurant with rooms, there are not many customer facilities so you are paying for the location.

Room Tip: Some are very small, our classic double was OK with a good sized bed. We felt that the two large roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kawasaki, Japan
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

I have booked for three nights through Hotels. Com, as we stayed there two times in 1992 and 1993 with very positive impression. I came back with my wife, but with a bit disappointment for the following two reasons:
They did not reply to my mail regarding our late arrival, which I think impolite.
The breakfast is insufficiently served as "four star hotel".
Some young staff speaks french only.
Hence, I personally would not recommend Le Marechal.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

Our room was on the third floor without the lift. The corridor and staircase were narrow like they usually are in old buildings. But the room was cosy with a view to the canal. The bathroom was large and clean.The hotel is located in Petit Venice and in the old city. We ate set dinner in the restaurant in hotel and it was very tasty and delicious. The service was a little stiff.

Room Tip: Some rooms don't have access by lift. Size of bathroom may vary a lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

This is one of the typical French hotels that looks attractive on the web site or on the brochure, but which does not have much to offer. Yes, it looks nice from outside, yes the city is beautiful, but that is it. The service is average. The rooms are small and old (and they dont look like what they show on the web site). The corridors are so narrow that two persons cannot stand next to each other. Inside the hotel is like a labyrinth and I don;t think there are enough emergency exits. Next to the elevator, there is a weird warning which says "do not use when the weather is stormy", which proves that the small elevator is not in very good state. The restaurant is a bit pricy and there is nothing special with the food they provide. If you want to impress your partner, you can stay here one night. Longer would be painful.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostellerie le Marechal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostellerie le Marechal

Address: 4/6 Place des Six Montagnes Noires | Petite Venise, 68000 Colmar, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Alsace > Haut-Rhin > Colmar
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Colmar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hostellerie le Marechal 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hostellerie le Marechal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostellerie Le Marechal Colmar
Hostellerie Le Marechal Hotel Colmar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostellerie le Marechal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.