We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel le Colombier

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel le Colombier to your Saves list
Hotel le Colombier
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7 rue Turenne, 68000 Colmar, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Colmar
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

I made reservation through booking.com.
It was 20 mins walk from the train station.
Check-in was fast with information on the breakfast and check-out time.

I got the room at the ground floor facing the courtyard.
The room was size was alright for me with minibar, complimentary Wi-Fi, and air conditioning.
Love the huge and comfy bed, separate toilet and the bath tub. Bath robe, slippers and toiletries are provided as well. It was a perfect stay.

Location was convenient with plenty of parking space and just 2 minutes walk from Little Venice.
Colmar is an amazing town and I don't mind staying at Le Colombier again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colombiercolmar, Responsable réception at Hotel le Colombier, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our establishment our service and our design as well as its location.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the Hotel Colombier Colmar.

Best regards,

Laurent Willmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    181
    46
    13
    3
See reviews for
43
253
5
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tennessee
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We stayed at the le Colombier for one night in June. I booked their internet special rate for the room and I was pleasantly surprized. It was just lovely. Though a small-sized room, it had everything we needed and a huge bathroom (the largest I have ever seen in Europe). Our room faced the main strreet on floor 1, but the room is well insulated and we heard no street noise. The hotel is conveniently located and the area is a delight to explore. Though the special rate did not include breakfast, we added breakfast to the room and ate at the hotel in the courtyard and enjoyed a fabulous buffet breakfast. The wi-fi and air conditioning both worked beautifully, and there is an elevator (though the spiral staircase is worth a look).

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colombiercolmar, Responsable réception at Hotel le Colombier, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay in our hotel.

It is a pleasure to read that you was surprized about your room and bathroom size. It is always nice for our team to know that you had a pleasant stay with us.

We confirm you that the wi-fi and air conditioning are working perfectly.

We are pleased to know that the breakfast was at your convenience and that you appreciate to take it on our courtyard.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in Colmar in a near future.

Best wishes,

Laurent Willmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We really enjoyed our three nights stay in the suite of Le Colombier very much. As we didn't know Colmar at all before, we were very happy to find out the location of the hotel was so perfect - all the best restaurants were VERY close to the hotel, beautiful old town was right there and yet the hotel was on the edge of the area so that it was easy to drive in there and find a parking place close by. Some people here at Tripadvisor have given negative feedback about the service but I couldn't disagree more - service was excellent! We had an incident of a air conditioner dripping water to our luggage and they did such a great job fixing this. The A/C was fixed quickly and our stained clothes were cleaned fast - just the kind of service I appreciate.

Breakfast was paid separately but then again it almost always is in France. We didn't love the fact that the shower booth didn't have a door so the floor got wet and the thing that you could hear the toilet sounds to the sleeping area but again, small thing that didn't affect our stay in any way.

Loved to walk back to hotel in the evening after amazing dinner in JY'S (amazing Michelin Star restaurant just about 100 m's from the hotel) to the hotel that was so lovely lit in the evening. Charming.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colombiercolmar, Responsable réception at Hotel le Colombier, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this nice comment on Tripadvisor.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.

We are glad to read that you appreciate the location of our hotel, near all the good restaurants of Colmar.

It is a pleasure to receive your feedback concerning our excellent service. We thank you for sharing with us your nice experience with our personal. Our goal is your comfort, that is the reason why our reactivity concerning your A/C problem was a priority.

It will be with a big pleasure to welcome you during your next stay in Colmar.

Best regards,

Laurent Willmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Stayed one night here on a weekend break. The hotel is easy to find but the free parking spaces outside are snapped up quickly. We were directed to a car park about 5 min walk away which was also free of charge, although it was a game of musical chairs there as well!

Our room was located on the 1st floor with a view to the courtyard and reception area. The historic building has been tastefully renovated and really is something special. The room was all white, which some might find too sterile but it was clean and modern. Seperate toilet and a nicely designed bathroom.

Breakfast was taken near reception and the buffet was a good spread with local produce, a real delight.

Colmar is a beautiful town, there is so much to explore that it's worth staying at least a night and not trying to cram it all into one day. i wouldn't hesitate in returning to le Colombier again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colombiercolmar, Directeur général at Hotel le Colombier, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your lovely comment on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to know that you had such an enjoyable stay in our hotel.

As le Colombier is right in the city center it can be difficult to find a parking spot. In the street where the hotel is , there are 100 public places ( 1/2 free of charge), but the free places are always popular. Otherwise our reception team give you with pleasure the indication for other places.

We are happy that you enjoyed our establishment, its comfort, its location and its Design as far as the town of Colmar and its various centers of interests.

We will be very happy to welcome you another time in our hotel.

Best regards

AS Heitzler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwood, UK
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We had booked a standard double room for 2 nights. The room turned out to be on the top floor, facing a busy street, was extremely small and had a tiny double bed. The weather was extremely hot and the air conditioning did not work properly. The receptionist was unhelpful and we spent an extremely uncomfortable night.
The next morning, the manager, who had been off duty the previous day, apologised and moved us to a superior room, which was larger, quieter and had working air conditioning.
Breakfast was good and cabe taken inside or in a pleasant courtyard.
The position of the hotel is good, close to the attractions of Colmar, and there excellent restaurants very close by.

Room Tip: There are only 3 standard rooms in the hotel and they are equally small. Spend a little more and go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colombiercolmar, Directeur général at Hotel le Colombier, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Hotel Guests,


We thank you very much for taking time to give your impression after your stay at le Colombier.

We are very sorry that your first night was not your expectations, the hotel was fully booked so we can only find the solution the next day.

Do not hesitate to inform us about your wishes at the reservation, so our team will do the best to make your stay more enjoyable.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our breakfast which can be taken in our new salon or in our cozy courtyard.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcome you on your next trip to Colmar.


Sincerely yours


AS Heitzler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

A really great hotel in the heart of Colmar. This is the second time that I've had a short stay at this hotel. It's staff are very friendly and professional. Rooms are modern, but retain some of the character of the beautiful historic building they are in. Comfortable beds, well soundproofed rooms, effective air-con and clean.
Breakfast isn't included, but the selection is great and worth the extra €13 pp. And if you want breakfast away from the hotel, it's a very quick stroll to cafés/ restaurants nearby. The hotel also has a nice courtyard if you want a drink/ breakfast outside of your room.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colombiercolmar, Directeur général at Hotel le Colombier, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Guests,


We thank you very much for your comment on Tripadvisor and for your second stay with us.

We are very happy to read that you had an wonderfull stay in our hotel, that you enjoy the comfort of the rooms (the beds, the air conditionning, the sounfproffed,...) combined with the historic building .

Thank you also for your compliments concerning the buffet Breakfast with the local products and the special mention to your staff.

We really hope to see you again in our nice Colombier.

Sincerely yours


AS Heitzler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

A little perturbed initially at facing more stairs with luggage after going up 4 stories in a lift. The Loft suite was "different" but had all the necessary facilities which were in very good order. Breakfasts were of good quality and Receptionists were friendly & helpful. Parking was free outside the hotel as the car would be a hindrance discovering Little Venice. Walking is essential.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colombiercolmar, Directeur général at Hotel le Colombier, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you very much for your comment on Tripadvisor, regarding your stays at Le Colombier in Colmar.

We are delighted to read that you enjoy our establishment, its comfort, its efficient equipment and its location.

We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again soon.

Kindest regards,


AS Heitzler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel le Colombier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel le Colombier

Address: 7 rue Turenne, 68000 Colmar, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Alsace > Haut-Rhin > Colmar
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Colmar
#3 Romantic Hotel in Colmar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel le Colombier 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel le Colombier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Colombier Colmar
Le Colombier Hotel Colmar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel le Colombier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.