We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel & location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel le Colombier

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel le Colombier to your Saves list
Hotel le Colombier
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7 rue Turenne, 68000 Colmar, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Colmar
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Perfect hotel & location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We have got a special deal for the suits room via booking (otherwise it would be too expensive). The hotel is perfect, all is new and clean. All facilities you need are in the room. Modern rooms in the old Colmar style building, amazing. We did not take the breakfast since there are 2 bakeries on the same street. Parking is for free of one side of the street, so if you arrive early, you can have the chance to have the free spot.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colombiercolmar, Directeur général at Hotel le Colombier, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Hotel Guests,


Thank you so much for your nice comments after your stay with us.

We are very happy to read that you find Le Colombier "perfect".

Concerning the prices, you can find all the year long, the best availability rate on the web site of the hotel.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcome you another time.

Sincerely yours


Anne Sophie Heitzler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    215
    54
    13
    5
See reviews for
54
310
5
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Enjoyed my recent stay at this hotel. Good location with parking outside (although difficult to park sometimes!). The room we had was fine, by clean and comfy.

Lots to do around Colmar. It is a really pretty city.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colombiercolmar, Directeur général at Hotel le Colombier, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor regarding your stay with us.

We are also pleased that you have enjoyed the great location that hotel has to offer. Le Colombier is right in the heart of the city with a lot of things to do and to see around.

Hope to have the pleasure of a return visit soon.

Your sincerely,


AS Heitzler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

My wife and I spent 4 nights at this hotel last month. The quality of the room was excellent. It was spacious, very large bed, good quality bathroom. The shower however was fixed (wouldn't move) and to get under it, I had to almost flatten myself against the wall directly below it. I assume this was deliberate to stop water getting past the fixed shower screen onto the toilet and floor right next to the bath. Far from ideal though.
Breakfast was good, but expensive for two people over a number of days. We tried it a couple of times just because it was convenient, but were able to get an adequate petite dejeunier for less than half the cost, at one of the bars within a short walk away.
Parking was probably my biggest bugbear. There is free on-street parking on the same side of the street as the hotel, but its very much a lottery as to whether you can find a space when you want it.. There is free parking slightly further out, and you can park in a restricted space immediately in front of the hotel door to enable you to load and unload your luggage. The staff were efficient, and particularly efficient with laundry. I handed in a few shirts one morning, and they were waiting for me (expertly ironed) that same evening.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colombiercolmar, Directeur général at Hotel le Colombier, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,


We thank you very much for your review after your stay with us.

We appreciate your compliments on our rooms and the efficiency of our staff.

Concerning the parking, the half of 100 places are free of charge. All our clients park here or in the close area without problem, sometimes with a few minutes of patience.

We will be very happy to have the pleasure of welcome you another time at Le Colombier.

Sincerely yours


Anne Sophie Heitzler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

This hotel has a lot going for it, it is on the edges of the historic part of the town and an easy walk to the main sites. Some nice architectural touches and interesting rooms. However, the owners expect too much of the receptionist who was doing everything when we arrived and was quite naturally a little harassed. For those who don't want the standard Hotel breakfast, the recently refurbished covered market is down the Poisonneries and does a great simple French breakfast with good coffee and croissant at half the price of the hotel breakfast.

Room Tip: Rooms are very individual - higher rooms are in the roof space, which looks good, but mind your head...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colombiercolmar, Directeur général at Hotel le Colombier, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for choosing us during your visit to Colmar.
We were happy to read your review and to know that you had a pleasant stay! Thank you for sharing your positive comments.

Actually, the staff was very busy this week, but we are working to make it easier.

You speak about the outside breakfast how is half of our price, but you said also that it is simple.
We make a buffet with a lot of fresh and tipycal products. You have a choice of juice, a choice of cheese, a choise of charcuterie...

We hope you will choose us again for your next stay in Colmar.

Sincerely yours


Anne Sophie Heitzler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Haven, New Jersey
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Stayed one night here.The location is great-right by little venice and several restaurants..The lobby was somewhat stark and modern.The staff was businesslike and not very welcoming.
The bedroom was a very nice size and very comfortable.The only down side was we were given a room on the third floor and had to carry our luggage up and down by ourselves.
The bathrooms were clean and roomy.The only down side was the toilet was in a separate cubicle and somewhat tight.
You can find parking right outside Overall I would return here but would get a room on the lower floor.We were in the annex building which I would recommend as no street noise,a courtyard overlooking the river and a separate entrance on a cobblestone street.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colombiercolmar, Directeur général at Hotel le Colombier, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Hotel Guests,


Thank you very much for your great comments and feedbacks about your stay at Le Colombier.

As you note our main asset is the position of the hotel in the town.

Perhaps it was possible to give you another room at your check in so that you don't have to carry the luggages until the third floor.

Of course the personal stay at your disposal for any questions you may have.

We will be very pleased to welcome you another time in another room. They are all different...

Sincerely yours

Anne Sophie Heitzler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Just got back from spending a couple of nights here, the hotel is right in the centre of the beautiful town of Colmar. The rooms are beautifully decorated with comfy beds and good en suite facilities but there are one or two simple things that could make this hotel better. Thicker towels and more friendly front of house staff would make a real difference, they always seemed too busy to speak. We also thought that it was rather expensive for what it offered.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colombiercolmar, Directeur général at Hotel le Colombier, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Hotel Guests,


Thank you very much for your great comments and feedbacks about your stay at Le Colombier.

As you note our main asset is the position of the hotel in the town.

Perhaps it was possible to give you another room at your check in so that you don't have to carry the luggages until the third floor.

Of course the personal stay at your disposal for any questions you may have.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcome you another time

Sincerely yours

Anne Sophie Heitzler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Excellent location for this hotel, 20m from "Little Venice".
We had a superior room which was large and facing the road. No noice problems from traffic.
The aircondition however was very noisy and produced more hot than cold air. Beds were very hard.
Simple but good breakfast but did not come included in room price. An extra €12 was charged per. person.
WiFi was free but it seems that only one device could be connected at any given time.
Not the cheapest accomodation in town.

Room Tip: Check A/C noise !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colombiercolmar, Directeur général at Hotel le Colombier, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Guests,


Thank you for sharing your experience at le Colombier in Colmar.

We are delighted that you enjoyed our quiet large rooms.

After several remarks about our conditioning, we make a check by qualified technicians.

For the wifi, you just need as much access code as device.

At any time, you can have the best price on our web site (sometimes with breakfast included).

We hope to have the pleasure of welcome you another time perhaps with your bikes in our Hotel.

Sincerely yours

Anne Sophie Heitzler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel le Colombier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel le Colombier

Address: 7 rue Turenne, 68000 Colmar, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Alsace > Haut-Rhin > Colmar
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Colmar
#2 Romantic Hotel in Colmar
#3 Family Hotel in Colmar
#4 Business Hotel in Colmar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel le Colombier 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel le Colombier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Colombier Colmar
Le Colombier Hotel Colmar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel le Colombier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.