We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good spacious rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Bristol

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Bristol to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Bristol
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7 Place De La Gare, FR-68000 Colmar, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
50% less on 2nd night !*
Ranked #8 of 37 Hotels in Colmar
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Good spacious rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We arrived without any reservation from Strasbourg, and we were given room 20, quite spacious,cozy, and quite side of the street. The toilet and bathroom are separated, bathroom with 2 lavabo, (sink) which comes handy for couples like us. The shower head is located facing the movable glass partition in the bath tub, can cause accident if not careful. The hotel may wish to have a look at this shower head, as it is indeed difficult to explain if your not using this shower! Otherwise, the bed is ok, mattress is good, and clean. Internet is working very well. It's and easy walk of 10 minutes to the old town, and right next to the train station.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    177
    68
    13
    3
See reviews for
55
189
19
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for one night on our way from Switzerland back up through France. It was easy to find, being signposted and directly opposite the train station which is architecturally interesting in itself. We had a room on the first floor opposite the station with a little balcony prettily covered with geraniums. The room was very clean and nicely furnished with a smart modern bathroom and despite being opposite the station, we did not hear any noise from trains or traffic. We were able to park in the underground garage which is easily accessible from the hotel. The man on reception when we arrived was very welcoming, friendly and helpful. He gave us a map of Colmar and showed us the way to walk to the historic centre...an easy 10 minute walk on the level to the old 'little venice' area.
We ate in the brasserie restaurant for convenience and the food was very good - though barely any choice for vegetarians - the menus in the Alsace region are very meat oriented and offal based. I had the salmon with a cream sauce and it was extremely good. Service in the restaurant was quite slow and I had to ask a couple of times to get a glass of wine, but overall, the brasserie was a good choice.
We did not have breakfast at the hotel - 16 euros seemed a bit steep to pay - so we opted to pop to the station and get some yummy fresh pain au chocolats from the kiosk just inside the main entrance.
Would definitely use this hotel as a base again if travelling in the area. And Colmar is a beautiful town with timber framed houses, lots of gift shops, bistros and fantastic ice cream!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidmouth
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Stayed here for 6 nights as part of a rail holiday.We were on the fourth floor with a well presented and quiet room with air conditioning.The only problem was that the only lift was extremely busy and slow which was annoying on occasions.Whilst the Hotel is very convenient for the rail station it is a 25 minute walk into the Town with its attractions and restaurants which meant using a taxi on a number of occasions. The breakfasts are good but the food generally is only average and the separate Michelin starred Restaurant is a total rip off.The staff are helpful but limited English and only at Reception. Overall the area is not very well frequented by the Brits and there is a very strong German influence to everything.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors at the back away from the station appear to be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

If you arrive by train this is perfect, it was a pleasure not to struggle with luggage on public transport. We visited other towns, which also makes the location close to the train station a benefit. PLUS one can rent bicyles from across the street, right next to the station. Perfect for a day exploring the beautiful village of Equisheim close by.

The walk to the old town was not too bad for us.

The room itself was perfect.

One of the highlights of our holiday was our dinner in the 1star Michelin restaurant of the hotel. It was really memorable!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

My husband, son (11) and I stayed here recently as part of our holiday trip.
I would like to say upfront that this was a very nice hotel - the staff were very friendly, the beds very comfortable and the rooms clean and well decorated. The breakfast was also very good.

On the first night we arrived, we ate in the brasserie which was very nice.

My biggest disappointment was the location of the hotel - whilst the area it is in is nice, I was expecting to be closer to the old town - but I guess my fault for not checking the map. That said it is not a long drive to get there but you then have the issue of parking which is a bit stressful. I would also recommend booking parking at the hotel as we didn't and had to park in the street and set alarms to ensure we fed the meter - which you don't really want to do on holiday!

Overall, a good hotel - if I was going to stay in Colmar again though I would probably look to find a hotel nearer the town.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamont-Achel
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Stayed here one night when returning by car from Italy to Belgium. Friendly staff, clean rooms, great (but pricey) breakfast. We haven't tried the (Michelin star) restaurant or the brasserie.

The rooms in the older part of the hotel are not really according our taste, but the bed's good. The bathroom has been refurbished not too long ago. Good & quiet airco. WiFi available in the room (3rd floor).

The clerk advised us for a short visit to the historical city center, including a map (German, English and French version available). It's a 10 minutes walk to that city center.

The hotel is a bit of a maze. Getting from the (paid) parking garage to our room required two different elevators. When going for breakfast, we had to go through the restaurant. We didn't find the bar, but got our drinks in the lounge bar near the reception.

Other visitors arriving the same evening complained about their room (double/twin bed) and was relocated to a different room swiftly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Being opposite the train station it's very handy for travelling. It's also a very comfortable hotel, clean, spaceous room (we were on 4th floor),soft but supportive beds. Looked refurbished. Bathroom fitments excellent and room a good size. Shower adjustable in power.
Breakfast was fantastic. Fresh fruits (in separate bowls so you make up your bowl of fruit salad), and pastries like only the French cook.

Room Tip: Our room looked away from the station, which on a very hot day was good as we didn't face the su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Bristol

Address: 7 Place De La Gare, FR-68000 Colmar, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Alsace > Haut-Rhin > Colmar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Colmar
#3 Business Hotel in Colmar
#3 Luxury Hotel in Colmar
#8 Romantic Hotel in Colmar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Bristol 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Colmar
Colmar Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Bristol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.