We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unfriendly and bad atmosphere” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant du Marche

Restaurant du Marche
Place de la Cathedrale, Colmar, France
Improve this listing
Ranked #87 of 203 Restaurants in Colmar
Cuisines: French
Restaurant details
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Unfriendly and bad atmosphere”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Service was awfull. There were 8 tables full and only one waitress that was an old lady (like a grandma), so you can imagine how slow the service was. When we arrived we had to wait and seat at a dirty table until the really old lady was able to clean it. The decoration is cute but not confortable at all, the lights were really powerfull! Not nice at all. Menu only in german and French. It was expensive for simple food, really not nice at all. I don't recommend this! Don't go! There are so much better options!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    21
    7
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“A gem - don't miss it if you're in or near Colmar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We visited this restaurant for lunch en route through Colmar after a stay in the mountains. The region has wonderful restaurants and this one stands out.Despite our poor French and the owner's lack of English, we made it work well by including some German where needed. The menu has a creative interpretation of the region's specialties - nothing heavy. Starters of Foie Gras and salad with shrimp were superb. Mains of Quail breasts in Pinot Noir reduction outstanding, as was a wonderful dry Alsace Pinot Gris. The wine list has a focused and excellent regional selection. They also introduced us to a wonderful Eau de Vie made from the Mirabelle plum. The space is bright and attractive, just off the Cathedral Place. Aside from the meal, it was just a pleasure to interact with the owners who take such pride in their art and service.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Fabulous and memorable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

We can't speak highly enough of our dinner at the Restaurant du Marche. All of the courses in our dinner for two were lovely. My steak was the best I've ever tasted - melt in the mouth; whilst my husband's veal was also exceptionally good. Madame was very friendly, though she spoke little Englsh and we spoke little French we had great fun trying to communicate. Every effort was made to accommodate us and by the time we got to dessert we were thrilled to find a menu had been produced in English. We can't recommend this restaurant too highly - it provided a memorable dinner for us.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Foie Gras Terrine A LA Maison”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Best Foie Gras Terrine we had! A quiet restaurant on a Sunday evening. The husband and wife team are great hosts! We felt at home and certainly enjoyed the dinner.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Very friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Small little restaurant with very friendly service. We speak little to no French and not much more German... the waitress, though she spoke no English, was very patient with us, as helpful as she could be. We had a great meal and enjoyed all of our selections. The entrees were in the 10-15 Euro each range, as were the plates. Desserts were 6-12 Euro. The bottles of wine were pricey - mostly in the 40 to 80 Euro range.

Best of the night were the "Baeckehoffe plate", which is a meat stew with carrots and potatoes, and the "Croquant Chocolat" dessert.

TIP: We found we were able to dine here when some of the other restaurants in town were full up. Keep this place in mind as a possible backup if you don't have reservations elsewhere.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant du Marche also viewed

 
Colmar, Haut-Rhin
 

Been to Restaurant du Marche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant du Marche, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.