We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect evening” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wistub Brenner

Wistub Brenner
1 rue de Turenne | Colmar, France, 68000 Colmar, France
03 89 41 42 33
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Wistub Brenner is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #42 of 204 Restaurants in Colmar
Price range: $25 - $33
Cuisines: Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Middletown, Delaware
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Perfect evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I wisely made a reservation for Wistub Brenner for the first night of our visit to Colmar. The restaurant is small but we were fortunate to have a terrace table and ate under the stars. The service was slow because of the limited staff but all of the girls were so hospitable that we didn't mind. The food is excellent and beautifully presented. A wonderful evening.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    108
    43
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Martinez, California
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Great spot for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

This restaurant is located in the ‘little Venice’ area of Colmar. It’s a pretty little place with maybe a dozen tables. My husband and I split escargot and they provided lots of bread to dip in the garlic butter. We then had their onion tart and creamy pumpkin soup that came in a mason jar. Along with lunch we a local dry Riesling and house beer. Everything was really tasty and lunch was about $58.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Bring your appetite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

We thought the meals in Croatia were big but our meals at Wistub Brenner were equally as big. We had a great meal but didn't order dessert because we had already eaten too much delicious food. We had 6 oysters fin claire, the choucroute garni with five meats, and the pork cheeks braised in Pinot Noir. We also had a bottle of very good Wolfberger 2010 Pinot Noir (a local organic wine). I would have liked to try the creme brûlée but common sense prevailed, unfortunately. If we come here again I will order a starter (maybe two) and a dessert. The bill was a very reasonable €62 (approx $80).

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Tx
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Good food Alsacian style”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

If you want to taste the variety of flavors of Alsace food, this is the place for you. Very tiny inside but worth the wait. Staff was friendly and helpful with our limited French. There was a group of business people in the restaurant with us and we wanted to join them as they were having so much fun! Great food & service.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A Taste of Alcase”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Lovely location; lovely food; lovely wine; & lovely staff - but take your phrase-book! Try the local Sylvaner or Riesling; not what you might have expected from Alsace wines some years ago - well balanced with a fragrant palate and a long finish. Excellent value too!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wistub Brenner also viewed

 

Been to Wistub Brenner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wistub Brenner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.