We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent service good food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of l'Arpege

l'Arpege
24 Rue Marchands, 68000 Colmar, France
0389242964
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 204 Restaurants in Colmar
Price range: $18 - $38
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean, Organic
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Reading, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“excellent service good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We were very glad to get a table at this small but busy restaurant although we hadn't booked. The menu wasn't as wide as some of the other restaurants in the area but what we had was very good and the wine too. The service was prompt friendly and helpful.The wine we had was good too. A charming location in a little courtyard off the main street. In winter when it's too cold to eat outside it has a small eating area, quite cosy, so I would advise booking.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    57
    8
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
eltham
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Enjoyable evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Intimate and informal restaurant with obliging staff. Our evening was accompanied by a 'world' music player, their website gives information about other entertainment booked, so it was a fun outing too. The food was all well cooked, chosen from an interesting menu, well recommended for a holiday evening meal as it felt a 'special' outing.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Very pleasant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

We (Swiss) went to Colmar as a Daytrip and had our lunch here - a whole menu for 14.50€, beer for 3€
The service was really good, they always checked if we're okay in a discrete way and helped translating and the ambiance in the garden was just sweet and nice!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Lombardia, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Favorite spot in Colmar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

We visited Arpege last weekend on our first trip to Colmar. What a wonderful experience! We dined outside in the garden where there was a good mix of people -- both young & old, families, couples, locals, visitors -- and a warm, inviting atmosphere. The service was impeccable! The owners are friendly, extremely hardworking, and passionate about what they do. They went out of their way to explain & translate the menu for us and to make us feel at home. They are committed to sourcing all of their ingredients from local farms and producers. The vegetables were the highlight of the meal -- fresh and creatively prepared. The wines were excellent as well. I look forward to returning some day!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godalming
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Vegetarian Emphasis”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

The new owners have a vegetarian philosophy (some meat/fish is on the menu) and their passion shows in the food. Very pleasant ambience and very charming people - not for carnivores though. Good wines.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed l'Arpege also viewed

 

Been to l'Arpege? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage l'Arpege, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.