We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Efes Taverna

Efes Taverna
46 Princess St, Manchester M1 6HR, England
0161 236 1824
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #286 of 1,709 Restaurants in Manchester
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: As the most established Turkish Taverna in Manchester, Efes offers tremendous value for money.The atmosphere in Efes Taverna is second to none on our weekend evenings! We offer everything for a full night out all under one roof. Commence your evening with a delicious feast of authentic Mediterranean dishes as you take in the live music from our very own resident musicians. Then immerse yourself in traditional Turkish dancing, performed by our own waiters and a captivating belly dancing act. You can sit back and absorb the sights, sounds and atmosphere, or if that’s not your style, feel free to get up and join in. We actively encourage audience participation here at Efes! As the Metiderranean music fade out the disco beat starts around midnight until 2.00am. Efes Taverna is an ideal place for birthdays, hen-nights or any other celebration you care to mention with a capacity of 130 people. Once you reserve a table it is yours for the evening. We are licensed until 2.00am.Sunday through to Friday afternoon we offer an all you can eat Mediterranean buffet. 12pm - 10pm (Friday 5pm). With over 60 dishes to choose from, The food is cooked from fresh everyday and offers a vast choice of Turkish and Mediterranean favourites.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

Had a fantastic time at Rozafa. went with a friend on whim and was completely won over. The food was great and the atmosphere was fantastic. At about 9pm the clapping started and people began to dance to the live traditional music, it was brilliant, there was even a bit of plate smashing at one point. there were couples, friends, Christmas dos and people dining alone, purely because the food was also smashing! would definitely return, the best restaurant i've been to in Manchester in a long time.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    79
    33
    27
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester England
Top Contributor
278 reviews 278 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
179 helpful votes 179 helpful votes
“The true taste of Greece in central Manchester”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

Well, to be honest, the dishes offered reflect both Hellenic and Cypriot cuisine but it's all discernibly Greek fare. Arguably now Manchester's most authentic city-centre Greek taverna. And so easy to find, nestling in the shadow of Manchester Town Hall on Princess Street.

Portions are generous and there's an extensive selection of dishes to choose from. A good range of Greek and Cypriot wines and beers are available and even ouzo and mind-bending raki occasionally appear! The house wines represent good value for money and are perfectly acceptable.

I've eaten here several times and decided it would make a fine location for a birthday celebration. Catering for a party that included carnivores, vegetarians and vegans, the tiny kitchen coped well and the food was as well presented as it was appetizing.

I deliberately picked a Friday evening for the live bouzouki music but had not bargained with the impromptu display of traditional dancing which the staff suddenly produced. In minutes, many of the diners were joining in! There is live music every Friday and Saturday evening but the dancing doesn't always happen. I think the staff gauge the probable response of that evening's diners before launching into "audience participation" mode.

Prices are reasonable and the waiting staff are friendly and attentive. It's always impressive when you are greeted with a welcoming hand-shake and by your first name as you step through the door of any restaurant.

This is a small restaurant - no more than sixty covers in reasonably intimate surroundings. But it's really not somewhere to come for fast-food or dining on a time-line. The Greeks make a social event of eating and it's no different here. And it's a welcome change not to be hurried to depart! In terms of experiencing the true taste of Greece, for me this is certainly the place.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“The food was very poor and not very good value for money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

I visited efes taverna with my friend before going to the theatre - we opted for the Xmas menu. I had the meatballs for starters, this was not a good choice because they tasted as though they had just come out of a can! Also, they were luke warm. The main dish was salmon - nice but only a small portion served with three potato wedges and a spoonful of veg. This was followed by 4 profitoroles - at £15 for the meal I was very dissappointed to say the least.....I was also still hungry!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Definitely a Night to Remember”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

We went to Efes for our Christmas Party and had a wonderful time. It was so much fun with everyone up dancing and joining in with the entertainment. The food was delicious and the staff were so friendly! Highly recommend this place, I'm even going to convince my sister to have her hen party here!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Great night out with lots of good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

Food excellent value, lots of it and great & authentic tastes. very good atmosphere much helped by the Balalaiki and guitar players at weekends. Possibly a little noisy for some wanting a secluded night, but great fun.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Efes Taverna also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Efes Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Efes Taverna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.