We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Highly Recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taurus - CLOSED

Taurus
1 Canal Street, Manchester M1 3HE, England
+44 161 236 4593
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $14 - $38
Cuisines: Continental
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very Highly Recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

I visited Taurus with my wife last Friday evening. I was looking for somewhere in between Victoria Station and the Apollo. Some nice reviews on Trip Advisor and the lure of Happy Hour drinks prompted me to give it a whirl.

We arrived at around 5.30 on a nice sunny evening and as such all the outside tables were full, we ventured inside where there was plenty are free tables. A quick ask at the bar and then our waiter Joe was called to show us to a table.

The service was fabulous, my wife and I both ordered a burger each and a side of onion rings to share, when the food arrived the onion rings had been forgotten, not a major issue, however to the massive credit of Taurus, the man serving the food came and apologised that our waiter had forgotten the onion rings and that we would receive them for free. Soon after our waiter came over and also apologised, this is perfect customer service, I would have been satisfied with an apology and late onion rings, but to get them for free makes all the difference, we had barely started eating before they had been bought to our table.

The food itself was delicious, the burger was a thick 8oz burger served on delicious bread and cooked to perfection, served with skinny fries and a side salad. I would have liked some spicy sauce but didn't ask if any was available. Looking round at some of the food being served to other tables, it all looked fantastic and I can't wait to try something else.

We had a couple of bottles of the house rose wine which was drinkable and great value at £8.50 per bottle, next time we will try a cocktail or two.

The place has a lovely relaxed atmosphere and is very friendly.

Would I recommend this place to my friends? I have been doing his since Saturday?

Will I return? I'm just trying to plan my next visit now to our new favourite place to eat.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nosheel, Manager at Taurus, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely words. Wars have been started for less than those outdoor tables! Hopefully next time you can ring ahead to book, so we can save you one outside or in the window.

Really glad you both enjoyed the food. It's our pleasure re the onion rings. We all make little mistakes occasionally but we prefer to offer a little gesture with the apology.

We can always offer some sweet chilli sauce, or the devilishly lethal hot sauce we coat the buffalo wings in... Please feel free to ask as you order next time.

Will pass on the comments to Joe when he is back from his holiday.

Thanks again. See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    72
    20
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hyde, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Good food, friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

I have been coming to this bar / restaurant on and off for ten years, and it still remains well ahead of the competition on Canal Street in terms of quality and service.

On this visit, the food was very good, the staff very friendly, and there was a lovely friendly, relaxed atmosphere.

Whether you come here for drinks or food, during the day or in the evening, it is always a great place to meet friends in a laid back setting.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nosheel, Manager at Taurus, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Thanks for the comments Lee, and also your continued loyalty. We're coming up to our 13th birthday soon...scary! We feel we owe it all to our wonderful customers and team. See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A regular haunt”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Great bar, great food, very relaxing and friendly atmosphere. We always pop in for a drink if we're in the area.
Good food choice and specials. Cocktails are lovely and the staff very attentive. Hard to find a fault. Restrooms might be better placed, but that's about it.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nosheel, Manager at Taurus, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Thanks for the positive feedback Fiona. Really glad you enjoyed again. Sometimes even we feel it's a chore to go down the stairs, but when we come back, we feel it justifies another cocktail! See you soon hopefully.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Very friendly staff, lovely atmosphere, great cocktails and bloody good food. Travis was our waiter and he was great :) We will certainly be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nosheel, Manager at Taurus, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for the lovely comments. Will mention to Travis. Hope you know we have a 'Happy Hour' between 4-7pm every day, when cocktails (and other drinks) are reduced. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Food. Fantastic Atmosphere. Great Staff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Been to Taurus on several occasions for drinks but this time we went for Lunch.

We were treated by friendly, polite and helpful staff. Sat in the window on a lovely sunny day with a nice light breeze blowing was wonderful.

Ordered meals that arrived very quickly and were a whopping size. Lovely food, well presented and excellent value for money.

Attentive staff, superb food and a lovely venue make this a place to visit.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nosheel, Manager at Taurus, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Glad you got a window seat Nicholas, and really happy you enjoyed the food and service. Hours fly by people watching in those windows! And we could certainly get used to the sun...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taurus also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taurus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.