We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taurus

Taurus
1 Canal Street, Manchester M1 3HE, England
+44 161 236 4593
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #57 of 1,764 Restaurants in Manchester
Price range: $14 - $39
Cuisines: Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Taurus is always worth a visit, whether you want a drink with friends, or a meal, it is always consistently good with friendly and attentive staff - please keep it up!!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    72
    20
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Nice but that's it.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Read some other reviews as I was here on business one night. Menu sounds nice but I don't think it delivered when put in the table.

I had the chicken and leek pie. Under seasoned and not that big. Mash was a bit dry. Onion rings were hit & miss.

Nice service and relaxed place.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ric B, Manager at Taurus, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Firstly, I would like to thank you for taking the time to post a review and for your positive comments.
I regret that you did not find your meal to be of a high standard. All of our meals are made in house by our chefs and I apologise that in this instance you were not completely satisfied.
I hope you would consider visiting us again on your next visit to the city.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good, solid place.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I went in for a drink and early tea. The food was cooked too quickly to be fresh, but it was tasty with good deals and good variety. The service and atmosphere were markedly relaxed and friendly, and I'd easily go back based on that alone. The place was a little dark, but it seems to be designed for an intimate setting: there's plenty of segregated seating, from the privacy of a near-complete room to a semi-mezzanine level by the front windows, to a couch near the bar... Overall, a very good experience.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“One of the best bars in Manchester”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I thought recently reading all the great comments about Taurus that I had never commented myself. Taurus is classed as a Gay Bar and is on Canal Street, but it is far from that as many of my straight friends and colleagues can testify when they go there, and also actually being in the bar seeing people with family and couples together for a drink or food.

What makes Taurus a great place to go to is firstly the atmosphere, and closely followed by the great reasonably priced food.

I go in many bars in Manchester and the difference with Taurus is that it is the same faces always greeting you, which is extremely rare for a bar, and even though going in there for around 11 years, you are always greeted like it is your first visit and they are trying to make that extra effort, well they are not they do that with every single customer, and not just me I see it time and time again.

If you walk down Canal Street on a quiet night, you see other bars offering anything to get people in, then you come to Taurus and it is really busy, sometimes even difficult to get a seat, with groups of varying people and varying sizes all talking to each other. This is another great feature, yes Taurus do play music, but it is not in your face or so loud your ears bleed, it is set at the right level so it is in the background and you are able to have a conversation.

Great Management, Great Staff, Great Food, Great Atmosphere = A smile on your face every time you visit, and long may it be the case.

Vincent.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great food and chillout atmosphere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Hi, i booked a table for 2 at taurus for the 12 th jan at 8pm, we arrived about 7 45 ish and bought drinks and then told our table was ready, once again i plumped for the fish n chips with peas my friend have steak and we both agreed the meal was fabulous, my fish was done to perfection and my friends steak was bang on right. The service from the staff was first class and attentive too.Taurus is a great bar at the top of canal st in the gay village and caters for all sexes and is a very chilled relaxing bar and believe it or not you can actually even chat without shouting in your friends ear .

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taurus also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Taurus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taurus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.