We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very very good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Swadesh

Swadesh
98 Portland Street, Manchester M1 4GX, England
1612361313
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #232 of 1,757 Restaurants in Manchester
Price range: $29 - $37
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very very good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

Really nice food cooked with obvious care and attention. Waiters were a little jumpy when we visited last October, but it really did nothing to detract from a fantastic meal and a warm vibrant atmosphere.
We went to the one on Portland street and I wouldn't hesitate to go again. I am always on the look out for a good curry and long ago gave up on Manchester's curry mile.
This is really good and not pricey at all. Restaurant itself is very ambient, clean and inviting too

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    99
    32
    23
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
denia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Swadesh restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

It looked splendid, but the food wasn't anything to write home about. It was all perfectly OK, but a bit disappointing. The best thing was the poppadums - they were excellent. The service started pretty slowly, though speeded up once they got going.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent service and ambience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I had an excellent meal at this restaurant on the 15th February 2013 when on a short business trip to Manchester. The service was very good and the menu impressive: I enjoyed the emphasis on Punjabi cooking, which is less well-known in the Uk than its Bengali rival, but just as delicious, with subtle flavours.

There was great value for money, generous servings and a good ambience, too. Highly recommended.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“The BEST Indian restaurant. Fabulous Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Wow. Just at the edge of China Town in Manchester is this wonderful restaurant.Beautiful and clean and very friendly staff. They offer a lunch buffet which has the freshest, finest food I have eaten at any Indian restaurant. The food is exceptional and incredibly tasty and all for a ludicrously low £6.90!
I'm happy to drive an hour to eat here - it's that good. High quality food.
If you are in Manchester - you must try this place.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and value.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We visited the restaurant on Sunday 10th Feb as we had come into Manchester to see the Chinese New Year celebrations and for a family birthday meal.
Having read reviews on the restaurant I can now see why it has done so well.
The staff were exceedingly friendly and helpful, the food was delicious with the heat being exactly as described.
We plumped for the happy hour deal of 3 courses for £10:90 plus a child meal and could not have been happier with the value for money.
They also served one of the best garlic naans I have ever tasted.
A great restaurant in a super location with brilliant food ... can't wait to eat there again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Swadesh also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Swadesh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swadesh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.