We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beer & good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of knott bar

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
knott bar
castle street, Manchester, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #227 of 1,766 Restaurants in Manchester
Price range: $10 - $24
Cuisines: European, British, Fish & Chips
Good for: Outdoor seating
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great beer & good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

We have stopped a few times at the bar when visiting Manchester
Excellent choice of beers, always something different. Reasonable prices. Food pretty good too.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    19
    5
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wirral, England
1 review
“Great beer and food with professional staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Popped in for lunch after reading reviews and wanting a pub with real ales and good food. Left extremely satisfied after 3 excellent pints and some lovely food (pulled pork and the halloumi sandwiches). Was a slight mistake with our order which was quickly and professionally sorted by the staff with a couple of free drinks thrown in as an apology! Would heartily recommend a visit and we will be sure to return on our next visit to Manchester to try a few more of the well kept beers and sample some more of the appertising menu.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Beer + Burger = Heaven!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

I am a regular visitor to Knott and I've always walked in with reasonably high expectations and walked out with a satisfied smile.

Knott is located off Deansgate, kind of across the street from Beetham Towers, towards Castlefield. Easily accessible by bus, tram and train and conveniently located in the city centre.

A usual routine for me and my friends on a few saturdays over some time has been a film at AMC followed by food and drink in Knott.

Food: I've always gone for the burgers (bang bang chicken or lamb) with poato wedges. The burgers have been consistently good, despite the crowd.

Beer: They have a wide selection of regular and guest ales and very often know what they're talking about. If in doubt, ask. They also have other beers, wines and spirits.

Atmosphere: If you're looking to have a few or a lot of drinks with friends and indulge in conversation, this place is great. They have music in the background but it's in the background, not deafeningly loud so as to impede conversation.

Staff: Staff are very friendly, polite and helpful. They know what they're talking about and are passionate about it.

Tip: If you plan to eat there, get there early or ring them and reserve a table.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A personal favourite!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

The Knott is without a doubt one of my favourite pubs. It is cosy and friendly with a great atmosphere and excellent staff. My boyfriend and his friends love the beers ( and they know their beers) and we regularly attend their fantastic quiz, which starts at 8:30 on a Sunday. The food is good too, traditional pub grub which is well made a reasonably priced. I did notice last time I ate here that the food had been down graded slightly (e.g. shop bought burger buns replaced home made) but it was still very good.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“stunning beer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

I go to the Knott Bar for the beer (all real ale from micros) but the food is always good as well. Well worth getting a tram out of town for a visit.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed knott bar also viewed

Chorlton-cum-Hardy, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to knott bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage knott bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.