We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and cheerful” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Number 1 Chinese Buffet

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Number 1 Chinese Buffet
Portland Street, Manchester, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #979 of 1,757 Restaurants in Manchester
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Buffet
Restaurant details
Dining options: Buffet
Durham
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Cheap and cheerful”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

As all you can eat Chinese buffets go this isn't bad, I'm not a big fan of Chinese buffets but it was clean and the food wasn't pretty good, you can even get a reasonable well priced bottle of wine too. The service is quick, the waiters clear the tables quickly and keep the food area clean so not too bad of an experience!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    5
    6
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Value, Cheap and Cheerful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

As said Excellent Value, do not expect full on Chinese Restaurant Meals, but if on a budget and looking for something for the kids that are fussy you cannot go far wrong with this Buffet Restaurant. Our family have been coming here for 15 years regular for 5 to 6 times a year. On average for the Three of us our spend is no more than £40.00 with a bottle of wine and drinks for our son.

The staff and owners are excellent and very welcoming. My general gauge for a good Chinese restaurant is whether or not the Local Chinese community eat their, believe me they do. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, Galway, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“nice food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

very affordable and lovely food. good location. The location is very central and attracts a lot of tourists.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Unsatisfactory”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

I have to say it looked lovely from the outside! But the food was very disappointing... It wasnt great and we only had one plate of food as there wasnt as much in the way of choice... Loads of chips noodle and rice but only sweet and sour chicken/pork, curry, Peking ribs and salt and pepper wings and ribs. In my experience of buffet is there is a whole lot of choice! Not the case for us :(

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“China Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

A little scruffy, needs updating but excellent value for money. Eat as much as you like.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Number 1 Chinese Buffet also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Number 1 Chinese Buffet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Number 1 Chinese Buffet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.