We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rammy!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sam's Chop House

Sam's Chop House
Back Pool Fold - Chapel Walks off Cross Street, Manchester M2 1HN, England
0161 834 3210
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Sam's Chop House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #177 of 1,764 Restaurants in Manchester
Price range: $30 - $72
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Newcastle upon Tyne
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Rammy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Delicious stake and kidney pudding with chips and gravy. Very attentive and kind service from Emma. Good atmosphere. Go hungry as portions are large. Great British food done well.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharron C, Manager at Sam's Chop House, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for your review on your visit to Sam's and great advice when eating our Steak & Kidney Pudding it is one of most popular dishes and also it is one of the main dishes that we are famous for along with our Corned Beef Hash.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    166
    59
    33
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Visited on a sunday in march, quite busy but didnt hav to wait for a table and service pleasant. Ordered corned beef hash cakes for starter (me and my partner) arrived and poached eggcold - no waiter to tell amd not asked hald way thru if everything ok?when collected plates told waiter as we had left a lot of it as not nice. he said he would tell the chef and that was it..no refund no apology, mains- roast beef tough and chewy mostly unedible but roast pot and gravy lovely. Good atmosphere but terrible food- did write this on report card and tell waiter at the end again no apology. May hav just been too busy and service was not bad or rude just not bothered!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharron C, Manager at Sam's Chop House, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you for your feedback following your lunch at Sam's in March. It will be difficult to investigate these issues given the lapse in time and unfortunately the comment card did not end up where it was supposed to go - but rest assured the issues of both service and food quality are far from what we would expect of the team at Sam's and we sincerely hope you will return in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Excellent quality food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

Had a Christmas lunch here mid December. Was very busy but the service was top notch. Food was beautiful and excellent quality. Not a cheap option for Xmas lunch but worth every penny. Does get Very busy but there is a good atmosphere. Great British food at its best!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Allways a good night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Friendly staff with brilliant food. Atmospheric with a great sense of the history of eating and drinking in Manchester

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Proper home made food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

This was my third visit and I was not disappointed, I visited with my mum and we both opted for the steak and kidney pudding. Food delicious service efficient and friendly and lovely atmosphere

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sam's Chop House also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Sam's Chop House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sam's Chop House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.