We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Allways a good night” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sam's Chop House

Sam's Chop House
Back Pool Fold - Chapel Walks off Cross Street, Manchester M2 1HN, England
0161 834 3210
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Sam's Chop House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #176 of 1,757 Restaurants in Manchester
Price range: $30 - $72
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Allways a good night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Friendly staff with brilliant food. Atmospheric with a great sense of the history of eating and drinking in Manchester

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    166
    59
    33
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Proper home made food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

This was my third visit and I was not disappointed, I visited with my mum and we both opted for the steak and kidney pudding. Food delicious service efficient and friendly and lovely atmosphere

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Impressive Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Called in on 13/04/13 before heading to the MEN Arena, we decided to risk not booking and just turn up. The staff were amazing, even though we had not booked they managed to fit us in without any problems. The food here is impressive, good old fashioned food with a modern twist to them, such as corned beef hash cakes, they were amazing. The food was quickly served, piping hot and the service was excellent. Cannot fault anything really, had a good wine list and an extensive beer and ale choice. Its just my opinion but i think this is probably the best pub/restaurant in Manchester!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharron C, Manager at Sam's Chop House, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for your comments pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit and our corned beef hash cakes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester England
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We visited at lunch time and had a lovely meal , It is in a central location if a little off the beaten track. Nice surroundings and expert advice on wine with a great selection to choose from.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharron C, Manager at Sam's Chop House, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for your comments and its great you enjoyed your lunch, we pride outselves on our wine list and pleased to hear you had expert advice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Even the veggie enjoyed it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We went for lunch and found a great spot. Both bar staff and waiting staff were friendly and offered a great service. We both picked the chip barm which we both enjoyed to the very last bite! The place was busy yet were we not rushed in an y way and the service was prompt.
The range of drinks on offer at the bar was really good from real ale to cider. The luch time bar menu allowed lots of choice even for a veggie.
We both really enjoyed our meals and drinks and were not left with a large lunch time meal bill at the end.
For anyone going to Manchester city center this is a great place to take lunch
The facilities were clean.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharron C, Manager at Sam's Chop House, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for your comments great you both enjoyed your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sam's Chop House also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Sam's Chop House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sam's Chop House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.