We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very authentic!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Happy Seasons

Happy Seasons
59-61 Faulkner Street, Manchester M1 4FF, England
01612367189
Improve this listing
Ranked #120 of 1,825 Restaurants in Manchester
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Doing business
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very authentic!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Went for a meal with 3 great friends and we were not disappointed! This small little restaurant serves fantastic authentic food for all to enjoy. Minor gripes were that char siu and roast belly pork were sold out quite early and that the menu itself isnt too expansive. Overall, very good!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    109
    36
    13
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester England
Top Contributor
277 reviews 277 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
“Made Me Happy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Located in China Town just off Princess Street.You know you're in a real Chinese restaurant when you're one of only two white people! Don't come here for the decor. Don't come for the wide selection of wines and spirits. Don't come for the ambience.

Just come for some of the best Chinese food in Manchester. You can pay twice the price for smarter surroundings within 100 yards but I guarantee you won't get better food. Arguably one of the most authentic restaurants in China Town. And the service is swift and attentive.

Twelve months or more since I last visited and the food was every bit as good. Recommended.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Don't bother! Poor service, not worth the money!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

The food was ok but not worth the price. There are nicer restaurants in the area!

We came inside and the waiter dropped the menus on the table knocking over the soya sauce. Instead if showing us to a different/clean table, he left us to mop it up.

Normally we'd be ask what type of tea we'd like. But a waitress just wordlessly plonked a pot down. When asked for a different tea the waitress rolled her eyes and looked generally disgruntled to provide any sort if decent service.

What I noticed is that the treatment to those who appear to be regular customers, is very different. It's shameful service- how does this restaurant expect to attract new customers!?!

I'll never come back again!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Awesome find in Manchester”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Not having a clue where to eat in Manchester let alone in China town, we came across Happy Seasons. Looking through the window, the place looked busy with happy eaters so we decided to try it. Chose a banquet for 3 and added an extra dish of chicken satay. Excellent value for money at £17.50 per head and we got soup, ribs, prawn toast, duck and excellent beef/fish dishes. This was at about 7.30pm on a Saturday night. Yes the decor is a little dated but don't let that put you off. The food is amazing and the service is excellent. Will definitely be going back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malvern, UK
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Great chinese food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This restaurant serves some great food in a lively atmosphere. The place is not that big, and tables are fairly close together. If you want a relaxed, quiet, romantic dinner this may not be your best bet, but if you want informal dining with great food in a lively atmosphere, give it a go.

Roughly half of the customers were asian and chinese groups, always a good sign. Some groups were clearly regulars as they came, ordered, ate and were gone in about the same time as we had eaten our starters! Starters: peking ribs and shredded chicken and vegetables in lettuce wrap, all good. Having heard good things about the roast meats we chose half a roast cantonese duck (on the bone), with rice and some chinese green vegetables. All really delicious, duck very tasty, great crispy skin, vegetables also excellent.

Waiters are sometimes a bit hasty to clear your plates and dishes from the table. They would always ask if you're done with the dishes first, but in one case I was nibbling the last from a rib with other dishes finished. I expected they would clear everything and leave me my plate, but everything was cleared and I was left holding the rib bone and all plates gone! Not a big deal, but something to be aware of.

Overall, good value, tasty and good fun.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Happy Seasons also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Happy Seasons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Happy Seasons, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.