We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Don Giovanni's

Don Giovanni's
Oxford Street, Manchester, England
0161-228-2482
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #389 of 1,643 restaurants in Manchester
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Don Giovannis established in 1984, is adjacent to St Peter’s Square in the heart of Manchester city centre. The 150 cover restaurant boasts floor to ceiling windows, sumptuous furnishings, and a 50-seated private dining room. Be it intimate or celebratory dining, the restaurant is perfect for all occasions.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Visited restaurant 2 times. Very convenient location to the Palace theater and car park. Busy place. Therefore it is better book a table. Delicious. Nice for everybody (even for children). Will come back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

64% Recommend
    154
    141
    58
    43
    58
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A wonderful meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

My husband and I had a lovely meal before heading to see a show. The food and service was excellent. Will be booking a meal again soon, but next time will skip the show !

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Went in by chabce , glad we did!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I had a lovely time at this restaurant. The food was good, the hostess was attentive and professional, Sam behind the bar was fab, atmosphere good ect. Only quibble would be our waiter who was a bit rushed and wasn't of the same quality as the other staff members.

We will definitely return when we visit Manchester again!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Reasonable but?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Food reasonable but prices add up to an over the top bill.
10% service charge added automatically so watch the additions.
I object to auto tips as I prefer to leave what I consider is a reasonable tip for service received.
This light lunch ended up costing £100+ for 4, so watch the £9.99 menu, which gives 2 courses with a beer grow to a dinner menu price.
NOT IMPRESSED!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management148, Owner at Don Giovanni's, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Hi Mike, The 10% service charge is only automatically added during the month of December. Throughout the rest of the year, our customers are left to their own discression in regards to leaving tips. We apologize that it disgruntled you and hope that it has not put you off visiting us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Pre Theatre Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Six of us went for pre theatre lunch mainly because of the lunchtime deal of £9.95 for two courses plus a drink. Must say it was delicious, excellent value for money and will definitely visit again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don Giovanni's also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Don Giovanni's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Don Giovanni's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.