We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Work curry night” 4 of 5 stars
Review of East Z East

East Z East
Blackfriars Street | Unit 1, Manchester M3 5BQ, England
0161 834 3500
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #648 of 1,709 Restaurants in Manchester
Price range: $23 - $45
Cuisines: Indian, Vegetarian, Wine Bar, Pakistani
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Welcome to the home of authentic Punjabi cuisine! EastZEast are a multi award winning restaurant chain with various locations across the North West.
2 reviews
“Work curry night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Food was lovely, been here a few times. Only gripe is some days they can take their time serving, otherwise one of the best curry houses in Manchester.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    144
    88
    52
    56
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“The Food is good, the Service is hit & miss...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

I went here on Friday with 6 other friends, mixed group of males & females.

We had booked for 7.30pm, half the group arrived on time, the other half arrived late, very late! East Z East accommodated this well, we waiting in the bar area and had drinks, we informed them when the rest of the group had arrived and they set about getting us a table, which on a busy Friday night must have been a little difficult.
We were seated at about 9pm, at about 5 seconds past 9 we had a waiter come over and ask us for drink orders...our bottoms had barely touched the seats & we hadn't even looked at the menu, he was rude to say the least and looked like we were wasting his time, he proceeded to tell us the drinks menu was on the back of the food menu, it wasn't, that was for soft drinks, we hadn't been provided with a drinks menu. We requested one and a single one was provided for 7 of us to look at.
He then stood there expecting seven people to order within seconds of receiving one menu, in the end we asked him to leave, as he was making us feel uncomfortable with his abrupt attitude and looks.
When he returned we ordered, he didn't understand a lager & lime, it caused much confusion, but after consultation with another is can out correctly.
The waiter who came to take our food order was much nicer, some of those who didn't regularly eat Indian food were asking several questions about dishes and he answered well.

Food is well priced for the higher end type of Indian restaurant, the drinks however are expensive, £3.95 for a small bottle of beer, no option for larger bottle or draught, cocktails priced at £8.95 were average.

Food is good, tastes great, decent portions and nice, no complaints there.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmen
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Its just so good !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

There is a 100 character minimum for this review, although I could write 1000 or just 14

Its just so good !

The service it very friendly but professional.
The waiters all have a good knowledge about the food they serve, and are very helpful if you are looking for something new. The poppadoms come with 8 !! dips, all wonderful and full of taste. The fish starter and the Main dish delicious
Cant wait to go again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“East is east baby”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Visited monday 14th with family friends. Met with freindly and prifessional service.Ordered starters, lamb chops n shami kebab, main meal fusion of chicken, lamb and keema in a curry, wife had achari lamb. Both delicious. The manager and staff were very helpful and attentive. They loved children. Would highly recommend

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorltonian123, Manager at East Z East, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Thank you for the great review and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“what a joke!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

we had booked to go to whitefield branch for a friends birthday celebration but still waited over an hour for a table - as they had not received our booking (even though someone phoned to confirm just the day before) after us asking several times when out table would be ready we got put upstairs in the banqueting section where there was a private party going on. I felt like a gate crasher. Service was slow, food was average and luke warm and towards the end our waiter was rushing us, getting the feeling he wanted us to leave asap. Was not impressed with the experience, which I had high hopes for

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorltonian123, Manager at East Z East, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Hi Rachel,

This is dreadful to hear. We would be willing to make it up to you as much as we can. Can you email us at pr@eastzeast.com and we will do all we can for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed East Z East also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Whitefield, Bury
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to East Z East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage East Z East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.