We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of East Z East

East Z East
Blackfriars Street, Manchester, England
+44 161 834 3500
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #607 of 1,764 Restaurants in Manchester
Price range: $23 - $47
Cuisines: Indian, Vegetarian, Pakistani, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Near MEN arena, Next to The Lowery Hotel on the Bridge of River Irwell
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

We were planning to go to a similar Indian restaurant one night which happened to be closed so we were recommended this place by a family member as an alternative.
I have to say we were pleasantly surprised. The food is exceptional and excellent value for money.
The staff are tentative and polite and are very friendly and welcoming.
The atmosphere is great - you don't get that 'rushed' feeling that you do at other restaurants...not naming any names!
This is now our Indian of choice, I book online now which is quick and convenient and never had any issues with the reservation. In fact not too long ago I must have booked a table for 1 by mistake and they were kind enough to call me and check that it was for one person and not two.
Will keep returning here!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise x, Public Relations Manager at East Z East, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
This is great to hear you felt you wasn't being rushed, we feel this is very important :)
Thank you for your fantastic review! Your views and opinions are very important to us and we appreciate you taking the time to write this review. We would love you to come and visit us again soon, please do inform me directly on pr@eastzeast.com when you do so and i will make sure you get looked after and given a complimentary dessert or glass of wine.

Kind Regards,
Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    129
    74
    45
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“EastzEast Whitefield”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

There is no separate tripadvisor page for the whitefield branch, so here is my review.
The location is great, and the car park is sufficient during a week night, not sure how it would cope on a weekend, although there is a car park opposite for the co-op and mcds.

The entrance and décor is nice and the greeting by the staff was friendly. We were shown to our table within a couple of minutes and it was a table in the corner away from the crowds. By crowds, I mean the restaurant was packed both in terms of too many tables and correspondingly too many people, so it was also a bit too noisy.

The menu is large, and luckily I had read it on the website before I arrived, as the lighting in the restaurant is too dark for my old tired eyes!

The waiter service and delivery of our drinks and poppadoms was quick and the chutney tray is excellent, given its volume of chutneys, although the amount of onions was low, and the cost relatively high.

The draught beer was kingfisher or some other india beer I never quite got the name of, but it was ok. Whilst we were waiting for our starters the waiter asked us if we wanted our main course, we said we prefer our starters first!

The starters were amazing. I had the chicken livers and the quality and volume was great. After the table was cleared, the waiter then brought the bill, we declined and requested our main course first!

The main course results in the above score, because I have been to the Manchester branch of EastzEast a number of times and so I was comparing the food to that as well as other local establishments. I ordered a mixed tandoori grill sizzler. It wasn't sizzling more lukewarm and the meat tasted low grade, the chicken more of a mince and the lamb tasting like rubber fish, the lamb chops were a bit too fatty. The rice was bland and not only was it a relatively small portion it was plonked on the plate like the chef was in a rush to go home. The accompanying jalfrezi sauce was more of a mild chickpea sauce. My friend had some sort of rice dish with prawns. I think he counted about 10 small ones in the mound of rice. The Manchester branch and other local curry houses do a lot better for a similar price.

I won't rush back but will at some point give it another chance, given the good service and food up to the main course, (although I won't order the same dish!).

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise x, Public Relations Manager at East Z East, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Thank you for your very thorough review, we do really appreciate you taking the time to write this review, although we are very pleased to hear you enjoyed our service, we are disappointed to hear you felt it was too crowded,busy/noisy and the waiter got mixed up, it is no excuse but Whitefield has been extremely busy since it opened, being fully booked most nights and i feel, and i can only suggest this contributed to the reason, we do hope you dine with us again and if you do so please inform us directly on pr@eastzeast.com and we will make sure you are looked after and recieve a complimentary drink or dessert.

Kind Regards,

Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Yum!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Food was great, waiting staff friendly, helpful, made recommendations and went out of their way to give excellent service. Fantastic meal!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise x, Public Relations Manager at East Z East, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Thank you for your fantastic review! Your views and opinions are very important to us and we appreciate you taking the time to write this review. We would love you to come and visit us again soon, please do inform me directly on pr@eastzeast.com when you do so and i will make sure you get looked after and given a complimentary dessert or glass of wine.

Kind Regards,
Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“EastzEast Whitefield”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Not a good experience. Tried to book, they would not take the booking, told to come along and wait. Food was poor. Starter, onion bhaji and samosa was cooked in oil that was way to hot, so came out burnt. Chicken dish I had was from the Punjabi special so you would think the meat would be good quality and not brown meat and poached leaving an unpleasant texture. Then to cap it all the had a folder with the bill saying they accept american express but they have a bunch of excuses why they could not take it.

I will not be going back and would not recommend it.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise x, Public Relations Manager at East Z East, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Firstly we would like to thank you for writing your review as our customers views are very important to us. However i must clarify that there would have been a reason why we wouldnt take your booking which we would have explained is because we were at our full capacity for bookings, however if you wish to come into the restaurant and wait to see if a table becomes available then that is upto you but we cannot promise anything. This is what we say to all customers who try to book when we are fully booked. Regarding the American express , i cannot comment without you explaining the reasons the staff gave, i am sure there would have been a valid reason as to why we were not accepting American express that evening. Regarding your burnt food, i am very surprised to hear that as we are a 5 star restaurant/brand with A list celebritys coming to dine at our restaurants from all over the world, however mistakes can happen, can you inform me if you pointed this out to a member of staff as im certain if you did they would apologise and change it for you. Please do respond at pr@eastzeast.com.

Kind Regards
Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Overall lovely with slight glitch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

Food was amazing however was really put off our food when the waitress picked her nose as she was walking by our table. The staff also start leaning over our table removing plates while we were still eating other than that can't fault it and would return because food was really nice

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise x, Public Relations Manager at East Z East, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Firstly, thank you for taking the time to write this review, we really do appreciate it. Whilst it is great to hear you loved our food, we are very disappointed to hear about the waitress incident. This is not something EastzEast stands for, as we pride ourselves in our excellent customer service. We take this very seriously and i will be speaking with the branch Manager about this. We do appologise you had to witness this and would like you to inform us on your next visit on pr@eastzeast.com and i will sort something out for you and make sure you are looked after.

Kind Regards,

Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed East Z East also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Whitefield, Bury
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to East Z East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage East Z East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.