We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern Indian restaurant, tasty food, affordable prices” 4 of 5 stars
Review of East Z East

East Z East
Blackfriars Street, Manchester, England
+44 161 834 3500
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #616 of 1,757 Restaurants in Manchester
Price range: $23 - $47
Cuisines: Indian, Vegetarian, Pakistani, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Near MEN arena, Next to The Lowery Hotel on the Bridge of River Irwell
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Modern Indian restaurant, tasty food, affordable prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Spacious and modern indian restaurant on Blackfriars bridge in Manchester. Varied and extensive menu. Not expensive either! They give you six different dips to go with your pre-meal papadums. Huge nans served on a "hanger". Portions in general are huge. Been here several times, always satisfied, always stuffed when finished. Go only when you are really hungry.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise x, Public Relations Manager at East Z East, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Thomas

Thank you for your wonderful review! It is fantastic for us to hear you have had the amazing experience that EastzEast aims to acheive! It is very kind of you to take the time to write this fantastic review, we would love to welcome you again to one of our restaurants please do inform me at pr@eastzeast.com when you have made a reservation with us again and i shall make sure you get looked after and recieve a complimentary ice cream.
Kind Regards,
Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    128
    74
    45
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best pickle tray ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Had a fabulous meal here last Friday for hubby's birthday - there were four of us and everything we had was tasty and cooked to perfection - service was great too. We'll be back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise x, Public Relations Manager at East Z East, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear JoolsJools,

Great to hear you love our famous pickle tray!

Thank you for your wonderful review! It is fantastic for us to hear you have had the amazing experience that EastzEast aims to acheive! It is very kind of you to take the time to write this fantastic review, we would love to welcome you again to one of our restaurants please do inform me at pr@eastzeast.com when you have made a reservation with us again and i shall make sure you get looked after and recieve a complimentary ice cream.
Kind Regards,
Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

This is my second visit there, and bit disappointed this time i must say.

1. Food - curry portion is smaller than last time and the cheese nan is alot smaller than I recall! Quality wise its still tasteful.

2. service remains good and attentive waiter, can't fault this

3. Price - felt it has gone up with inflation and bit disappointed we were charged extra 10% service charge right at the end on top of the total, without telling us first! They gave us a slip of paper with the total price and when we were paying, there was extra 10% on top of that. No breakdown of our meals/drinks etc. Would be nice if they have had a full breakdown just like any other restaurants!

for that last point, sadly this will be our last visit there as a family.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise x, Public Relations Manager at East Z East, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Agho,

I am terribly sorry your experience was not as enjoyable this time, your views are very important to us and we really do appreciate you taking the time to write the review which helps us improve our services, please do email me on pr@eastzeast.com so i can try and do something for you.

Kind Regards,
Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swinton
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“very good indian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

had a meal with friends on saturday night, choice of food was very good, large menu choice atmosphere good and service very good. Recommended it to my friends , Just one point we had , papadoms,, mixed starter to share , main meal each, plus 2 drinks each, the bill worked out at £30 per person, so be prepared for this. The advert does say £15 to £20 per head.--- Not complaining about the price because the food etc was very good and it is Manchester city centre.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise x, Public Relations Manager at East Z East, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Jeffswinton,

Thank you for your wonderful review! It is fantastic for us to hear you have had the amazing experience that EastzEast aims to achieve! Your views and and opinions are very important to us, It is very kind of you to take the time to write this fantastic review we would love to welcome you again to one of our restaurants please do inform me at pr@eastzeast.com when you have made a reservation with us again and i shall make sure you get looked after and recieve a complimentary ice cream.

Kind Regards,
Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Superb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Booked for a reunion dinner for 8 , Sumptous, welcoming , fantastic customer service, attention to detail AA+++ Food, out of this world , AMAZING, everyone was impressed and from starters to main course ..divine ... Must dine there again soon!Highly recommend ..

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise x, Public Relations Manager at East Z East, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear 224ginny

Thank you for your wonderful review! It is fantastic for us to hear you have had the amazing experience that EastzEast aims to achieve! Your views and and opinions are very important to us, It is very kind of you to take the time to write this fantastic review we would love to welcome you again to one of our restaurants please do inform me at pr@eastzeast.com when you have made a reservation with us again and i shall make sure you get looked after and recieve a complimentary ice cream.

Kind Regards,
Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed East Z East also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Whitefield, Bury
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to East Z East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage East Z East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.